We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #22 of 160 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Ah, THe Brown Palace...still a real classic beauty.....we've been going there for 20 years. Truly an icon!!....Leroy, at the door is one of the greatest assets, who greats with warmth and his skills. From there, it's spotty, Regular rooms are a bit on the small side, we like to stay on the top 2 floors, but the size of room and bathrooms vary greatly and it seems the front desk doesn't know their differences...Yeah, i love my separate bath tub and my husband loves a real shower, not the shower over tub...there are many rooms on those floors that have that set up and with space. we specifically requested it this time and lo and behold you go to the room and it's has bathroom with shower over tub. they then had to have a bellman check on other rooms to see what their setups were and moved us to a much much smaller room, ....disappointed to say the least......we used to specifically request a room # as the only way to get what you want so i guess we have to go back to that....Another real anoyance is for a fine hotel not to have free access for computers.
That being said we will always return.....a cocktail in the lobby is a must for us as is breakfast at Ellingtons-- we share the Creamed chipped beef...heavenly...Palace Arms is a bit stuffy, The Ships Tavern casual and good.....Nothing quite like the Brown, just wish the details of the service met the beauty of the building.

Room Tip: ask for the larger rooms up on the top 2 floors if you can spring for them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank montrosefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

First and foremost, we are truly grateful for your loyal patronage through the years and are pleased to know that the warm service delivered by LeRoy and the varied ambience of our restaurants brings you back.

I was rather concerned, however, to learn of the difficulties you encountered with finding the room accommodation that best met your preferences. Due to the various layouts and configurations within each of our room categories, we are able to offer several rooming options to meet the varying needs of our guests. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience caused and will be following up with our Front Office and Reservations team to avoid a similar occurrence in the future.

We would be happy to update your profile preferences to ensure you receive your preferred room style for all of your future stays with us. Please feel free to contact Ryan Pratt, Rooms Division Manager, and he would be happy to assist you.

We look forward to providing you with a much more seamless arrival in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,789)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,036 - 1,042 of 1,789 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

From the moment the valet greeted us to take our car to the bellman who took our bags and the front desk clerk who checked us in we knew we were in for a treat. Sitting in the atrium, listening to a fantastic pianist and enjoying afternoon drinks and tea, one feels like they are stepping back in time. The spa services were delightful. We were sad to leave but we know that it won't be long before we return to this magnificent spot.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

We are very happy to know that your visit with us was a truly delightful experience commencing with your arrival and on through to your Spa services.

It gives us great pleasure to know that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This used to be an annual staple for me and my girlfriends. We'd rent several rooms, spend way too much money in the spa, restaurants and bars located within the Hotel, enjoy the shopping that was right out of its door. We would genuinely have a wonderful girls weekend full of luxury and love every extravagant second. The service was hands down the best I have received from any hotel in the country, from the moment the bellman greeted you until the valet returned your vehicle for departure. The Brown palace also had a wonderful program for Colorado residents that offered rewards for choosing the Palace for our stay-cations. The Brown Palace has now been taking over by the Marriot, and it is obvious. Everything from the tone of the employee when you first call to make your reservation to the shine on the brass, or the rain-head showers shooting in every direction but down, the Brown Palace used to be one giant step above all others with it came to service. Now, it’s not bad, but the prices have gone way up and everything else has gone down, well it’s a Marriott not a palace.

I gave it 2 based on what it used to be to what it is now. If you just compare it to other Marriot properties and had never been there before, it is probably a 4.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoriG387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

We are grateful for your time in expressing your concerns with your most recent stay with us. We are truly sorry to learn that you did not receive the same genuine service as you had in the past when making your reservation and for the issue you encountered with the shower head in your guest room.

After extensive consideration, The Brown Palace Hotel joined Marriott's collection of independent, upscale hotels, which has allowed us the opportunity to provide more benefits for our guests through their Rewards program. Rest assured that our focus remains and will always be on providing our guests with a luxurious and memorable experience in a historic yet modern setting.

We would love the opportunity to discuss the details of your stay with you further and provide you with a flawless experience in the future. Please contact Ryan Pratt, Rooms Division Manager, at rpratt@brownpalace.com at your convenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed many times at the Brown Palace, both for business (several weeks at a time) and for pleasure. I have never failed to enjoy myself - and my wife loves it too. There is an excellent array of dining options, and spending an hour or two in Churchill's cigar bar is a wonderful way of relaxing at the end of a hectic day.

The rooms are spacious and well-appointed, the service is second to none, and the history behind the hotel is well worth exploring. Christmas time is the best time to visit as the lobby is so beautifully decked out with a massive Colorado fir, mounds of poinsettias and sparkling lights everwhere. Have tea or brunch in the lobby if you can - it's magical.

The only thing that stops me from staying more often at the Brown Palace is that it doesn't participate in a major awards program like Hyatt, Hilton HHonors or Starwood. If it did, I'd never stay anywhere else. But I can see why they don't: every time I go, the place is busy, so obviously they don't need to give away rooms to make up occupancy.

Room Tip: Try to get one in the hallways away from the lobby light well - the sound of the piano travels up th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

It was such a delight to receive your generous comments regarding your many experiences at The Brown. We're very happy to know that whether you have stayed with us for business or pleasure, that you have always enjoyed your time with us.

We concur that the holiday season is a very magical time to experience The Brown and are pleased to read that you have had the opportunity to take in the festive decor and ambience of the Atrium Lobby.

We understand from your remarks that the lack of an awards program has deterred you from staying more frequently in the past. I am pleased to inform you that The Brown Palace Hotel has recently teamed up with Marriott and joined their collection of independent, luxury hotels known as The Autograph Collection. Therefore, our guests can now earn and redeem Marriott Rewards points when they stay with us. Please let us know if we may be able to provide you with any additional information on the Marriott Rewards program.

We are truly grateful for your loyal patronage and will be anticipating your return in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Excellent service from the valet, to the front desk, to the bellman to housekeeping. Friendly, helpful and simply outstanding. A beautiful, comfortable venue with superb staff. My go to hotel whenever I'm in Denver.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

It is a privilege to be your preferred hotel in Denver and we will strive to remain so by continuing to provide you with the exceptional service and royal treatment you have come to appreciate.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

For your finest quality stay in Denver, this is the place to be. It is especially beautiful at Christmas, so elegantly decorated. To complete the experience, make reservations for the afternoon tea--a priceless experience. The hotel rooms are a perfect combination of history and modern amenities. Our only complaint was the pillows were rather uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanlon555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

We're very happy to know your experiences with us here at The Brown Palace are a perfect blend of modern luxury and historical touches.

We are sorry to read, however, that you found the pillows to be uncomfortable. We would be happy to review alternative pillow options with you during your next stay to ensure your utmost comfort.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

For 5 star, ocean-going, quality dining this place goes 100 percent.
From the concierge welcome to the attentive waiters in an historic setting everything is 'right'
The menu is clear and easy to read. I had the four course tasting selection - including a perfect Lyonnaise salad, a totally succulent medallion of bison in a 'plate-licking-good' sauce which must have taken a whole day in reduction and a fabulous choc brownie with cardamom ice cream.
My host chose wines from a muscle-building huge book-list.
As might be expected each course brought fresh silverware and different plate styles.
Although courses were small and beautifully presented I felt full at the end of the dinner and unable to mange the petit fours which were nicely boxed for me to take away.
This is somewhere to experience. It is the opposite end of the spectrum from fast food and pricing is consistent with that.
Adjacent is a late lounge to enjoy a single malt from a wide range and, uniquely these days, a cigar.

Room Tip: Didn't stay in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David82605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share the detailed account of your recent dining experience at The Brown Palace.

It gave us great pleasure to know that the cuisine you experienced was perfectly prepared, beautifully presented and exceeded your expecations with every course. We truly strive to provide an exquisite culinary experience for our guests when they visit Palace Arms. We hope you will join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 160 in Denver
929 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#5 of 160 in Denver
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 160 in Denver
669 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Address: 321 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#14 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#31 Business Hotel in Denver
#31 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range: $211 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing