We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you're in Denver, this is the place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #26 of 154 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If you're in Denver, this is the place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

A hotel with tons of history (just about every president has stayed here, and so did the beetles), and amazing rooms to match. My wife and I live in Denver and went here for a staycation. The spa is amazing, the rooms are large, and kept in immaculate condition. The staff is overly friendly and will go to great lengths to make your stay perfect.

Ask the concierge to give you a tour of the many famous rooms. It is free and worth it.

My only complaint was that my wife called to ask for a couple wine glasses to be delivered to our room. After 45 minutes we had to call back a second time. After another 15 minute wait we gave up since they never arrived. However, at checkout when we mentioned this problem, the front desk staff took $20 off our total bill to make up for it. Again, I'll say that they go to great lengths to ensure you are happy with your stay.

The price of the hotel can be very expensive depending on when you are staying, but if you can even afford one night in the place, I definitely recommend doing so. I can't wait to go back for another staycation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler_david81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
It gave us great pleasure to read that your stay with us was highlighted by the tremendous service you received from our staff. We are also pleased to know that you appreciated the spacious room accommodation and pampering Spa while also taking in some of our colorful history.

I am truly sorry, however, that we failed to fulfill your simple request for wine glasses. I am glad our Front Desk team was able to make amends for this inconvenience, and regret that this incident had put a damper on your overall experience with us.

We are delighted to know you are looking forward to another staycation in the near future and we will be awaiting your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,025
    311
    131
    94
    51
See reviews for
241
589
127
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This downtown hotel is absolutely gorgeous, charming and in a great location. Very spacious and beautiful rooms. CLose to the 16th Street Mall which is a walking outdoor mall for pedestrians and shuttle buses only.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind remarks regarding your stay wtih us - we hope to provide you with another exceptional experience in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

To start off I need to say that I used one of the bidding sites to book a 2 night stay at the Brown Palace. The last 2 times we have spent a weekend in Denver we have stayed at The Teatro, in a corner room, which is amazing! But, we have always wanted to stay at The Brown Palace and were trying to keep our expenses down on this trip. Our room was tiny, which from what we knew about the hotel was normal, and what I expected from not booking directly with the hotel. It was clean and well equipped. The walls are paper thin, which isn't that uncommon for an old building, but most sounds came right through. We could hear the phone ringing next door and the person answering it, conversations in the hallway, alarms going off, toilets flushing, etc.... I am really glad we didn't pay full price. Staff was O.K., nothing great. We had dinner in the Tavern, good, not fantastic, there was a piano player who was wonderful! Great asset to the atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa.

We are grateful for your comments and delighted to know you enjoyed your visit with us overall. I was sorry to learn, however, that you did encounter some noise disturbance while in your guest room and am truly sorry for any inconvenience this had caused you. We do have rooms available in more quieter locations of the hotel and would be happy to provide you with several options during your next stay to ensure you receive the accommodation that best meets your preferences.

We would be most appreciative of the opportunity to exceed your expectations during your next stay and hope you will visit us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a beautiful historic hotel that is located centrally and we had a wonderful weekend there.
The room was big and the bed was so comfortable. The bathroom was updated and shower had a great rain showerhead. The hotel has a very nice spa and many restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamafeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We are delighted to know that our comfortable furnishings, grand bathroom and pampering amenities had enhanced your experience with us.

Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arrowhead, California, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I love evrything about this place and stay at the Brown Palace - in the original part- everytime we are in Denver. Fine rooms, artesian water, beautiful lobby that the 10th Mountain Division repelled down into from the top to the bottom. Great authentic -because its really really real - bar and a fine restaurant in the lobby centrum area. '

Located right in the middle of Denver. Wonderful location. Enjoy a piece of history stay in a memorable place. enjoy yourselves immersed into reality instead of artifice.

Room Tip: stay in the original part of the Brown Palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We are very pleased to read that you were able to immerse yourself into our colorful history during your recent stay, while also appreciating our modern and luxurious accommodations.

It is true that the 10th Mountain Division practiced rapelling from The Brown Palace's roof during World War II. And our Historian recently learned from a veteran of this division that they also had held onto the end of toilet paper rolls while tossing them down into the Lobby from the 7th floor balcony. Although a fun anecdote, we really would not condone this activity at the hotel today.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to soak up more of our unforgettable past in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

For a historical hotel that has kept its charm and elegance the Brown Palace can't be beat. The price was less than similar hotels (Marriott, Ritz, Hilton etc.). Our large king room overlooked the stain glassed atrium and was furnished nicely. The bathroom was up-to-date with wonderful soft towels, and the shower included a rain shower head. Turn down service with ice was discretely done. The atrium hosts afternoon tea, and later in the evening cocktails are served. Fabulous piano playing can be found in the atrium or the Ship's Tavern restaurant on a daily basis. Ellington's serves a fabulous breakfast. In fact the Ship's Tavern restaurant must still be the place to have a great lunch. A steady stream of people filled the tables. This hotel is also very close to downtown/LoDo restaurants, museums, the convention center, and business offices. Furthermore, we easily rented an Avis car which was only 1 block from the hotel. If you need to be in downtown Denver, this hotel has ambiance, history, and location for the traveler. Take time to enjoy the Brown Palace.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelfan527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
It gave us great pleasure to read how our comfortable rooms, modern amenities and variety of top-rated dining venues had all contributed to a most memorable stay for you.

We do hope you will enjoy another visit at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

What a great place! Beautiful room, super comfy bed, only thing i wish i had was a mini fridge? Afternoon tea in the lobby is a must have!
Great gym included, right next door, for those who like to keep up with their work-outs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellenc69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your kind remarks - it was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the comfortable bed and several of the amenities we have to offer.

And yes, we do have mini fridges available upon request. Please let us know when you are planning to return and we'd be happy to have one ready for your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Hotel Teatro
#20 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Property: The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Address: 321 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#13 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#31 Business Hotel in Denver
#31 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, Agoda, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing