We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic outside, updated inside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #26 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Livermore, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Historic outside, updated inside”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a night out without our one year old daughter. The Brown Palace Hotel was a great choice for our night in the city. We checked in and asked the concierge where to eat dinner. He gave a few options. The one we chose was great. The staff was friendly, and the rooms were beautiful. Overall, I think it was a better experience than the Denver Ritz.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoFigment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We are delighted to know that your overnight getaway in the city was both relaxing and memorable.

We're also pleased to read that you enjoyed one of the restaurants recommended by our Concierge and had received friendly and attentive service throughout your stay.

We truly hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,088
    335
    140
    96
    56
See reviews for
262
619
132
473
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I spent a Saturday night at the end of September at the Brown Palace in Denver and found our stay to be fun-filled and relaxing.

My wife enjoyed an hour and a half 'facial' spa treatment which was very over-priced compared to similar spa treatments she has had, and in fact ran more than 'twice' the regular room rate! :(

We had a room on the seventh floor room which overlooked 17th street and provided a nice view of downtown Denver although all rooms have exterior windows it appears as the hotel is triangular shaped with the rooms along the outer sides and an atrium in the center.

The room we had was on the 17th street side on the seventh floor. It was spacious and tastefully decorated with a King sized bed (one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in, let alone a 'hotel bed')

The bathroom was roomy although its mini-french bathroom doors were a bit inconvenient as you had to ensure they were closed before the room door would fully open...easy to overlook in a 120 year old hotel that had been remodeled to use newer features.

The hotel lobby and restaurants/bar have a classic feel and were luxuriously decorated. Afternoon teas was being served when we checked in, and the service staff was very courteous and accommodating.

The hotel is one block from Denver's 16th street pedestrian mall which has a lot to explore in its own right....restaurants/bars/stores/movie theaters/etc.

Valet parking was very affordable and convenient as you really don't need a car for a downtown Denver stay when you are this close to the mall and its free shuttle service.

I was surprised that this was a Marriott property which allowed me to use my Rewards points which made it all the more affordable. I would stay here again but skip the spa next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brookhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay with us at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa.

We are very glad to know your visit was enjoyable and that you appreciated our luxurious and comfortable accommodations along with our convenient location in downtown Denver. I was disheartened to read, however, that you and your wife were both disappointed with the pricing of her facial. Please be assured that the pricing for our Spa services is consistent and comparable to other luxury hotel Spas in the area. If your wife would like to offer more details regarding her experience, please have her contact our Spa Director, Erin Johnston, at ejohnston@brownpalace.com at her convenience. Her feedback will help us to ensure we continue to provide our guests services that they feel are worth the value.

Again, we appreciate your time and generous remarks concerning your stay. It would be a true pleasure to welcome you both back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
2 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Brown Palace is a place in time, a different time. Upon arrival guests are encouraged to step back to time in history when civility and service were expected and delivered. The beautiful decor and ambiance of the lobby sets the stage for a personal experience enjoyed by former generations. From the moment of arrival to check-out the staff promptly and pleasantly takes care of your every need or desire. The rooms are comfortable and well-appointed, especially the eigth floor suites. The three restaurants and room service offer wide selection of menu choices even the most discriminating guests will enjoy.

In addition to the many services the hotel provides, the world-class spa is a must do. Be it a day at the spa or a special treatment, the experience is first-class. I recently scheduled a facial with Shai Albright and it was one of the finest spa treatments I've ever experienced. Shai is knowledgeable, talented, and knows how to pamper you. I can't wait to schedule another visit with her.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonaHagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We are very pleased to read that your recent respite with us was truly pampering and that the elegant ambience and attentive service from our staff had transported you to a much simpler time.

We are grateful for your generous remarks, and look forward to sharing them with Shai in particular.

Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
495 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

What a nice hotel. It feels like stepping back in time. The atmosphere feels like London in the 20-s. High tea, a pianist playing. The setting is great. The staff is very helpfull. There was a minor ict problem and they could not activate the roomkeys. They showed us the room and brought the keys afterwards. The room is clean, modern and luxurious. Yhe bathroom was big with a very good shower. Extra service was the late checkout. We could stay in the room until 16.00. Very nice on a warm day with a late flight back home.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michieldekoning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We are truly delighted to read that your recent stay with us was highlighted by the ambience of the hotel, the attentive service from our staff and your comfortable room accommodations.

I am sorry to learn that you encountered an issue with your room key, however, I'm glad to know our staff resolved this concern for you rather quickly.

We hope we will see you again on your next trip to the States!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The service at the hotel was excellent, but the Concierge, Abigail Jones, was beyond outstanding! We booked a 3 night stay as a short second honeymoon. Our first night we were too tired to explore and eat out so we asked Abigail for the name of a good pizza joint that delivered to the hotel. Instead of directing us to some local chain or other unextraordinary place as so many Concierges do when I ask for recommendations, she recommended a restaurant that was spot-on excellent. She also recommended we get a bottle of wine at a nice wine store nearby. When the pizza arrived, she noticed that they had given us paper plates, and set off immediately to get us china and wine glasses. The personal attention to detail and to us made our stay. The car Valets were also wonderful. We'd call down for our car and it was always outside waiting for us no matter how little time we gave them. The rest of the staff was equally as responsive. It is my new favorite hotel in Denver, and a place we will return to over and over again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenda a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
We want to thank you for taking the time to highlight the exceptional service you received from Abigail Jones during your recent stay. She will be very pleased to know that her intuitive service and attention to detail had ensured a most memorable visit for you.

We're also happy to know that the service you received from the rest of our staff was equally impressive and we are honored to be your hotel of choice in Denver. We will be anticipating your return in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We decided to stay our wedding night at the Brown Palace and my husband made a room reservation months in advance. Although our room was clean and spacious, we were disappointed in the customer service upon entering the hotel and throughout our stay. We had to walk around the lobby of the hotel (in our bride/groom attire of course) just trying to find the elevators to get to our room without a single staff member offering a hello or guidance. We finally had to ask another couple if they could help us out. Although the hotel knew it was our wedding night, there was nothing special about our room. Just a bottle of cheap champagne would have been a fabulous gesture towards newlyweds. We were told we would be 'taken care of' and I feel like we just stayed a night at the Marriott. Also, the shower in our room was extrememly clogged up and you couldnt be in the shower for more than a minute before the water was up to your ankles. I was just expecting more from the well known Brown Palace.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
We are honored you chose The Brown Palace to celebrate your wedding night and would like to extend our warmest congratulations to you!

I do regret, however, that we failed to recognize your very special occasion during your stay. Significant events, such as weddings, honeymoons, birthdays and anniversaries are very important to us and we strive to ensure all of these occassions are made truly memorable for our guests. We are truly sorry for the missed opportunity, the difficutly in locating the elevator and the issue you encountered with the drain in your guest room. I will be reviewing your comments with our management team so we may be able to take the necessary corrective actions.

Please contact Ryan Pratt, Rooms Manager, at rpratt@brownpalace.com when you are considering a return visit so we may personally assist you with your arrangements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was here for two nights for a conference. I needed a small eyeglass screwdriver early one morning and the front desk person got someone from engineering to bring one up in less than 5 minutes. It doesn't sound like much but plenty of other hotels would have blown the request off or simply said "We don't have one, sorry." Rooms are also well done and wifi was good. I would definitely stay here again if I were in Denver.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
It gave us great pleasure to learn that members of our staff had exceeded your expectations during your recent stay. We have recognized the individuals involved and appreciate you bringing their exemplary service to our attention.

We hope we will see you again soon at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Hotel Teatro
#20 of 157 in Denver
1,206 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#1 of 157 in Denver
819 reviews
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Property: The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Address: 321 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#13 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#31 Business Hotel in Denver
#31 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing