We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a quick getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #26 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for a quick getaway”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

To celebrate our anniversary, my wife and I didn't want to stray to far from our home. We've stayed at other high-end hotels in the Denver area, and we weren't as impressed with those as we were with The Brown Palace.
From the valet service to the concierge staff to the responsive front desk, the entire staff impressed us. Our questions were quickly answered, and while we didn’t have any issues during our stay, I’m confident in saying that they would’ve been addressed professionally.
I had mentioned in our reservation request that we were celebrating our anniversary there, and much to our surprise (and pleasure) four chocolate-dipped strawberries were waiting for us! Thank you, staff!
All-in-all next time we’re looking for a quick weekend getaway, we’re going to The Brown Palace Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to upgrade to the Top of the Brown suites, gets you far from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,088
    334
    140
    96
    56
See reviews for
262
619
132
473
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aspen, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Took our family from Bozeman, MT, for an overnight stay and we all departed with wonderful memories and experiences, most of all of the Brown Palace! Classy, VERY service oriented while not being intrusive. I'd highly recommend the hotel and we can't wait to stay there our next trip to Denver!

Room Tip: I doubt there's any bad rooms in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marblehead1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Barriles, Baja California Sur, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

There are a lot of great reviews on here and I suppose if you have money and look the part then you recieve exellent service. My husband's parents planned to celebrate their anniversary with a brunch and spa services. As a surprise their children wanted to pre pay for that. My husband and his two younger brothers went in to arrange that and spent an hour being shuffled from one person to another who either didn't know what to do or were too rude to want to help them. Yes, they didn't look the part. They were in shorts and t-shirts. They didnt realize how fancy a place it is. The hotel doesn't know what the spa is doing, the spa doesn't know what the restaurant is doing, etc. No one could figure out who needed to do what or how to do it. On top of that, they felt as if the staff were looking down on them as if they didn't belong and at one point even a security guard questioned them. I have never been to the Brown Palace, and I've always wanted to go but after how my husband was treated today, I'm not sure I will. It shouldn't take an hour and being treated like dirt to get a simple gift certificate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
I am truly sorry to learn of the difficulties you and your family encountered when trying to purchase a gift card for our outlets to surprise your parents with for their special anniversary.

Gift cards are available for purchase at our Front Desk, Spa and through our Accounting department. They can be made for any monetary value desired and used at any of our dining outlets, for Spa services or towards accommodations. I apologize if any member of our staff was not aware of how to handle a gift card request or if they were not accommodating. We will be sure to revisit this with our team to ensure seamless delivery and service for all requests.

I am also disheartened to read that our staff gave you the impression that their service was not as forthcoming due to your family's attire while at the Hotel. We strive to create a welcoming environment for all of our guests who visit us from all over the world and all for various reasons. On any given day, you can see businessmen in suits at Ellyngton's for breakfast seated next to a family in casual clothing anticipating an afternoon of sightseeing in the city.

I appreciate you taking the time to share about your recent experience and we hope we will be able to demonstrate the true Brown Palace experience to you and your family in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact our Rooms Division Manager, Ryan Pratt, at rpratt@borwnpalace.com if we may be of any assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This hotel was in a great location, and absolutely gorgeous. The rooms were slightly on the smaller side, I'm assuming because the hotel was built a long time ago. Wonderful service, the staff was welcoming and very helpful. This was a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingBrainDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had some time in Denver this past week and heard great things about the Brown Palace to check out and have a drink. The lobby is very interesting and beautiful. We decided upon a drink in the pub, which was fashioned in a nautical theme (we still have no idea as to the connection of a sea-fairing boat theme in Denver). Anyway, the bartender noted our arrival and dropped some menus in front of us at the bar. When he finally returned, my wife asked a question about the pinot noir, which seemed to upset the bartender. He made a reference to how busy he was, and left. About five minutes later, he came back and asked if we finally made up our minds.
There are a lot of bar/restaurants in downtown Denver, they just seemed to be a bit off. However, if you're not into service, perhaps this is not the best job for this bartender.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
We are truly disheartened to learn that your recent experience at Ship Tavern was tarnished by the inconsiderate service provided by a member of our staff.

We deeply regret the adverse impact this had upon your dining experience with us and are grateful for you bringing this matter to our attention. We prive ourselves on our service delivery and attention to detail, which our guests have come to expect and appreciate here at The Brown Palace. Rest assured that this is not the level of service we wish to provide and that we have addressed this concern with the team member involved.

We also understand that you, and many others, are curious why The Brown Palace would have a nautical-themed restaurant in the heart of Denver, Colorado. In 1934, hotel owner C.K. Boettcher, an avid collector, returned from a trip to Cape Cod with 15 magnificent large scale model sailing ships, which he presented as a surprise gift to his wife Edna. Less than keen on the prospect of decorating her entire mansion in big toy boats, Edna suggested a nautical theme for the new hotel tavern C.K. was opening to celebrate the end of Prohibition. He wisely warmed to the idea, and she gladly donated her ship collection to display in the new venue.
The Ship Tavern has changed little since its inauguratiuon more than 75 years ago.

We hope we will have the honor of serving you again in the near future and the opportunity to share more of our diverse history.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My parents visited me in Cheyenne from North Dakota this week and before they flew home from DIA I wanted them to have a real treat. As my father has always loved older architecture and my Mom any kind of history, I arranged to have them put up in a suite at The Brown Palace for the evening before their flight. They LOVED it. They raved about the interior, the exterior, the cigar lounge, high tea, the glass ceiling, the neighborhood and the proximity to downtown. They really appreciated the complimentary town car that took them to dinner at The Capital Grill and were thrilled with the concierge who arranged to have them picked up and taken on a tour in a horse drawn carriage by Alan with Featherfoot. The only draw back I can see with their stay at The Brown Palace is that I'll probably be looking at pictures sent from my Mom for the next three months... she must have taken hundreds!

This was a wonderful treat, I'm looking forward to going back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jennifer, a VERY happy customer

Room Tip: The higher up you are the more amazing the view! Next time we go we're doing the "Top of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Jennifer,

Thank you for choosing The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa for your parents' accommodations during their brief stay in Denver.

We are grateful for your generous review and are delighted to know they had a memorable experience with us. We are also glad to read that the trip was well-documented by your mother.

We hope the pictures will serve as pleasant reminders of their stay until we have the opportunity to welcome them back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The hotel lobby is second to none. Churchills pub is and old-school cigar bar that serves great food. Just sitting in the Atrium soaking up the ambaince is worth the visit. Incredible service, the whole works you'd expect from a historic hotel with world-class service. Now some of the rooms are a bit small, but if you love old hotels its just part of the charm. A/C can struglle to keep up on a hot day (use the ceiling fans liberally) etc. But that's part of the deal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Hotel Teatro
#21 of 157 in Denver
1,206 reviews
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#1 of 157 in Denver
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Property: The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Address: 321 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#13 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#31 Family Hotel in Denver
#31 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing