We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Brown Palace Hotel - A historic Landmark.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #26 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Brown Palace Hotel - A historic Landmark.”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The Brown Palace Hotel in Denver, Colorado is a historic landmark. The Brown Palace was built around 1890 during the Victorian period.

Overall - the hotel is fantastic - a great place to stay while in Denver, Colorado.

* The rooms in the historic section of the hotel are beautiful. Beautifully appointed.

* The newer rooms are also beautifully appointed ( I stayed in the original part of the hotel in one of the historic rooms during my last visit - April 2012 ).

* The guest rooms were immaculate - spotless - perfect.

* The customer service was excellent - exceptional - from check in to check out.

* The restaurants are great. My preference was the Ship Tavern - a wonderful place to relax over superb food. Excellent service. Nautical flavor.

Summary - check out the various specials - there are numerous special packages that offer some very competitive rates, including weekend packages. Please be sure to check out the various online sites to explore the special packages & promotions.

This is a wonderful historic hotel from the Victorian era -- highly recommend.

Room Tip: Do some research & ask about the special promotions. Check out the online websites for the spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,071
    324
    138
    96
    54
See reviews for
252
611
129
464
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

As a surprise for our 41st Anniversary, my husband surprised me with a night at the Brown Palace, that in itself was enough, but upon check-in we were upgraded to a suite. It was amazing, from the amount of space to all the windowed views of Denver. The furnishings were all very elegant and high quality. We loved the Ship's Tavern for lunch, and a high tea was being held in the Atrium (Reminded us of The Pump House in Bath, England). We were going to go out for dinner, but our suite was so beautiful, that we chose to get late room service, and it was not only beautifully presented, but DELICIOUS! I would highly recommend this hotel for a special occasion!

ion

Room Tip: We were in Room 915 and it was AMAZING
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDCami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Congratulations on your recent 41st wedding anniversary!

We are delighted to know that our team had provided you with an experience fit for royalty. We truly appreciate your kind words regarding several aspects of your celebration with us, which I will be sure to pass on to our staff. We are also pleased to read that you enjoyed your room accommodation so much that you decided to stay in for a delicious dinner served up by Room Service!

We hope to see you again in the near future for some more royal pampering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Was truly an awesome, unforgettable experience. The friendliness and caring of the staff, the exceptional food and service in the Palace Arms, the extraordinary history tour, and of course the building itself and the history behind it. The live music in the lobby really adds to the ambiance. This is worth a stopover to truly experience the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhoda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, MD
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I did not stay there, but was there for High Tea and a tour. The lobby and the inside is breathtaking!! They even had an old time gift shop with full size toiletries, magazines, newspapers, candy, sodas, and the like. It is Turn of the Century and you could almost imagine the ladies and gentlemen dressed up in their finest, instead of like today, with people in jeans and tee shirts!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank missjeepgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Was at the Palace this past weekend and had an Awesome time , Abigail at the concierge Desk was instrumental in our dinner plans that evening , her attention to detail and smile have ensured our patronage to the hotel , amazing service !

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBBusby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
It was such a pleasure to read your generous comments regarding the service you received from Abigail at our Concierge recently. I know she will be delighted to learn that her genuine care and insightful recommendations provided you with a most memorable experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

What a fabulous hotel! Jawdropping turn-of-the-century decor + customer service galore, what a place! We were informed on check-in that we'd be receiving a complimentary room upgrade and ended up in the most impressive suite I've ever seen. My family and I were fresh off the road of a two week road trip out west and we looked the part. Everyone at the hotel was super friendly and accommodating. This hotel is simply gorgeous! I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PattyVoje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
161 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our room was quiet, beautifully furnished, with comfortable beds, luxurious bedding and a huge bathroom (see specifics below). We did not eat any meals at the hotel, but the reception desk staff were immensely helpful with restaurant suggestions and they were spot on -- we really enjoyed their suggestions. It was a bit expensive to park the car overnight ($30 per night), but the car valet would retrieve the car in about two minutes. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. The one downside had to do with housekeeping: we left the hotel very early one morning (at 4:30 am) to go hot air ballooning. When we returned to our room at 3:00 pm, our room still had not been cleaned. We called down to the front desk and they immediately sent someone up to clean it. The hotel apologized and said they had been very busy that holiday weekend. The upside to staying here on a holiday weekend is that we had a great room rate.

Despite the housekeeping snafu, we would go back again. The Brown Palace is in a great location downtown, yet it is an island of quiet elegance in a bustling city. If you love grand old historic hotels, you really can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: We recommend room 314. It has two queen beds and an enormous modern bathroom with two marble sinks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandrasmom817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Hotel Teatro
#20 of 157 in Denver
1,197 reviews
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#1 of 157 in Denver
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Property: The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Address: 321 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#13 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#31 Family Hotel in Denver
#31 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing