We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel in Denver” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Ranked #26 of 154 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in Denver”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

It is an historical hotel located in a very good area in Denver. You can walk to downtown easily, or take the public transportation as well.

The only problem that I found it was that the staff told me there were shuttles available from the hotel to the airport every 15 minutes. However, I was waiting there for 45 minutes and nobody could give an answer about this issue. Finally, the shuttle arrived very late.

Otherwise, the hotel is very enjoyable and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dewsita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
We are very pleased to hear that you had a memorable stay with us recently, although I am sorry to learn of the delay you encountered with the shuttle service. Although this service is provided by an outside company, we are grateful for the feedback so we can ensure we are offering our guests the best options for transportation.

We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,025
    311
    131
    94
    51
See reviews for
241
589
127
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
194 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

The Brown Palace is a wonderful hotel, full of history, and as elegant as ever. Sunday Brunch at Ellyingtons is a special treat. A burger or quick lunch in the Tavern is very good. The Brown Palace is one of the most beautiful places in Denver when it is decked out for the Christmas holidays. Go for brunch on a Sunday in December. The Palace Arms is the high-end restaurant, which is also a special treat. Denver ladies enjoy high tea in the lobby. Pick up a brochure and take the self-guided tour.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beach80126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
We appreciate your taking the time to share your personal experience and your wonderful insight on the many ways to fully enjoy The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa.

I am glad to know you were also able to experience The Brown Palace during the holiday season, which is a very special time at the hotel. Our guests are awed by the elegant decor of the atrium lobby and enjoy the long-standing traditions and memorable events, such as Monster Brunch, the Champagne Cascade and Breakfast with Santa.

We hope you will be able to join us again this year for some of the festivities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

The Brown Palace was great. Historical yet renovated bathrooms. Rain showers were great. There was a small noise issue with our first room, so they moved us quickly. Nice rate given that the city was almost sold out. This was our second time staying and will again.

Convenient to 16th street mall and Lodo, etc.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BryanDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
We are grateful for your loyal patronage and pleased to know you had an enjoyable stay with us once again.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, CO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

This was our second stay at the Brown Palace and as was the first, this was an exceptional time and most pleasant stay. The staff was always welcoming and helpful, meeting all of our requests and needs with a smile. The room accommodations (we had a Top of the Brown room on the 8th floor) were as expected, spacious, comfortable, elegant and top notch. We stayed three days/two nights and spent time in the Atrium for cocktails and Ellyngton's for sunday brunch...highly recommend the best brunch in Colorado! We had a party of 10 and several tried the spa services and were highly satisfied. Upon venturing out into the city, we found the staff very knowledgeable, recommending places along the 16th mall as well as others throughout the city.
The Brown Palace is a wonderful, charming, and elegant 100 plus year old treasure to be experienced. We loved every minute of it and will go again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank strassjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

This is an amazing hotel. I have high standards for service and quality of product, and this property exceeded all of my expectations. The staff is polite, professional, and accommodating. The accommodations are first-rate; upscale, well-appointed, and maintained impeccably. My first night was spent in the Reagan Suite, followed by a two-night stay in a standard room. Both room types were clean, comfortable, peaceful, and luxurious. There is nothing pretentious about this property, but everything about it is sophisticated and upscale. I am a hospitality professional and was overwhelmingly thrilled with my stay at the Brown.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BWAbq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience...

We're humbled by your comments and very happy to know that we had exceeded your high expectations; which is especially appreciated coming from a fellow hospitality professional.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

The Brown Palace is a must stay! The staff is extremely knowledgeable, friendly and professional. When traveling, my boyfriend and I always try to stay in smaller boutique style hotels. This is one not to be missed. It has a beautiful atrium ceiling that is absolutely gorgeous. So even if you don't stay here you should go check it out. The hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Denver and it shows it well. There is a lot of history and tradition in this place. Take time to wander through the hotel as well(it is encouraged)! One thing I really enjoyed seeing was the afternoon tea time. It was nice to see people taking a moment out of their hectic lives to set back and relax.The rooms are clean and comfortable and the linens are as soft as clouds. Take time also to get a cocktail and enjoy the Ship Tavern. We sat down just to enjoy a glass of wine and stayed for much longer due to the fact of their live entertainment. It was a piano player who was playing show tunes. People from the audience were able to participate. It was pretty amazing! We saw a few gems that night! All in all I highly recommend staying here. Its pleasant, well located, and simply beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Thank you for staying with us recently and we're delighted to know you had a memorable visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

Stayed two nights, and was treated to impeccable service on most every occasion. Room was small but adequate and thoughtfully appointed. The coffee and tapwater are absolutely fabulous since the hotel has its own artesian well. Thoroughly enjoyed hanging out in the lobby in the evening with the folks I traveled with, and also enjoyed seeing all the grandmothers, granddaughters, girlfriends and good friends having high tea during the afternoon on Saturday. The nautical-themed bar was packed and pretty wild on Friday night, but in an old fashioned, classy kind of way, with an old upright piano and somebody belting out show tunes with lots of people singing along. Passed on the $50 brunch on Sunday, but really enjoyed the trout back in the bar. Particularly impressed with the history of the hotel, and the fact that the prize winning livestock from the local rodeo are paraded through the lobby on an annual basis.

Room Tip: Rooms vary widely in layout because of remodels to historic structure. If you need closet and bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stldrvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
We truly appreciate your patronage and are grateful for your taking the time to share your recent experience at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa.

You mentioned several of the unique and enjoyable attributes of our historical hotel and we are glad you were able to enjoy the diverse ambience - from elegantly-dressed ladies at our Afternoon Tea to our lively Ship Tavern!

And yes, it is true that it is a long stanging tradition for the Grand Champion steer from the National Western Stock Show to be given a royal welcome to our Afternoon Tea every January. This event is truly a sight to behold!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
Hotel Teatro
#20 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection

Property: The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection
Address: 321 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Spa Hotel in Denver
#13 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#19 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#31 Family Hotel in Denver
#31 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presidents, rock stars, executives, and discerning travelers all choose the one-of-a-kind ambiance of the historically luxurious Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Denver's only four-star, four-diamond hotel. Guests are treated to grand architecture, 6 unique dining venues, a full service spa and salon, and distinctive accommodations. Experience Tradition With a Twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Palace Denver
Hotel Brown Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing