We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Experience Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Denver Marriott City Center
Ranked #40 of 159 Hotels in Denver
Reviewed April 5, 2009

I stayed here for a 4 day long conference and I have never had a worse experience ever at a hotel. The wireless internet was $13.95 PER DAY, the staff was incredibly rude every time I spoke with them, and when the elevators stopped working, I rode the service elevator only to get stuck in it for 20 minutes while no one came to help us. The phone in the elevator was not working and the hotel staffer in there with us could not get a signal from his cell phone (none of us could) so he resorted banging on the door and ringing the bell. Later that evening when the elevators were still not working and we heard the bell ringing in the elevator shaft, the staff at the hotel still would not help the people inside. Additionally, we got no apology from the hotel and received no compensation.
I would NEVER recommend staying in this hotel to anyone. Totally overpriced, the beds were very small, and the worst part is that the staff was just awful and dismissive of everything. I spoke with many different people, many times and each and every one was rude to me and my colleagues. Awful experience.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank S_LWash_D_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (982)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

892 - 898 of 982 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2009

I came to Denver to attend a conference and stayed at Marriot the weekend before I moved to the conference hotel because it had better rates for the weekend. The rooms were clean and the location was good (walking distance to 16th street mall). The biggest beef I had with this hotel was them charging $12.95/day for internet service. In this day and age, this is uncalled for. Even a rinky dink $40/night motel gives you free broadband access these days. I had to wait until I moved to the conference hotel to catch up with email. No way I was going to pay $12.95/day for internet.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bolsetsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

This was conference hotel for a meeting I attended and because I didn't know Denver downtown, I just paid the $159 conference rate ($10 more than federal per diem) and hoped it was good. Nice King room layout. Good outlets for charging phones and computers. VERY comfortable bed. Shower didn't have a lot of pressure, but it was ok. Internet was $11.95 per 24 hours - which irks me. It's hard to find that out. You can print out boarding passes for free in lobby, so at least that's free. You can get your coffee - Starbucks inside the hotel and across the street. It's a long ways from airport to downtown, so Super Shuttle is convenient and has regular stops here. The hotel is just a few blocks away from the 16th St. mall with shopping and restaurants. Helpful front desk staff. The ding ding of the trolley (12th floor) was a little irritating, but I turned on the fan and drowned it out. Get a room away from the elevators - The elevators announce floors all night.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise97408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

If you're looking for a nice hotel to stay at in Denver, CO, check out the Marriott Denver City Center. The hotel was nice. The rooms were clean. The hotel staff was great. If you're a Starbucks fan, you'll be happy to know there's a Starbucks right in the lobby. The hotel is very close to the 16th Street Mall where you'll find all kinds of restaurants, shops, and entertainment. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2009

The fact that this hotel is rated as four stars is a joke. In a four star hotel,
the walls are not paper thin and you can't hear your neighbors talking and watching
TV as if you were in the same room. In a four star hotel, you would not need to wear a wool sweater because the temperature of the room does not rise above 65 degrees no matter how high you turn up the fake thermostat. In a four star hotel, they don't charge you $12.95 per day to use the internet when their own guest services directory says "$9.95, no surprises" (and no, the internet is not even free in the business center)
A four star hotel might have a place to dine for dinner on the premises, not down the block. And as you can imagine, don't expect a free shuttle service from the airport.
Spend your hard earned dollars elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KansasCityBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

This hotel is for business travelers not vacationers or couples. The hotel is very nice, but not anything real unique.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank davidnhollyminor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2008

It has been at least 5 years since I've stayed here. The hotel has not changed a bit, with clean and good facilities.

Check-in areas is quite small but nicely designed, with no counters but more like standing stations, which makes the interaction between Front Desk personnel and the guests more personal. There is a Starbucks Coffee counter located in the lobby and below, in the basement, there is a full bar as well as a restaurant. The check-in process was fast, yet friendly. Newspapers, a guide to Denver as well as coupons for a free drink at Rock Bottoms Bar (review available) are available at the Concierge's Desk.

The rooms are quite nice, comfortable and clean. The décor is quite good with a reading chair, desk, coffee maker and regular amenities such as Bath and Body Works shampoo, conditioner, soap and body lotion. The bed, typical of the Marriott chain, is quite good and comfortable. Our view was the office building across the mall (just a few feet away from the hotel). We did not have much of sunlight to start with. In addition, we had to keep the curtains closed most of the time for privacy, which made the room even darker.

Television is LG digital with great clear HD pictures and a good selection of channels. However, the television is very low in the entertainment unit, which makes it very hard to watch if you are laying down in the bed or seated in the reading chair at the end of the room. The Management of this hotel should order the engineers to move the television to the top of the entertainment unit and/or hang in the wall, where it will be much easier to watch.

And for those of you who follow my reviews (or become a 'fan' today), do know that I hate when wireless is charged when most business or upper class hotels offer this amenity for free. A $9.95 charge is quite ridiculous.

The fitness facilities are quite nice with plenty of treadmills and life cycle machines in the "inside" portion of the gym. Most of the machines do have televisions and even a docking station for your Ipod. If you do have a movie or video on the Ipod, you can watch it on the machine's television screen. However, I did follow the instructions to use mine and it did not connect.

The weight lifting machines are located in the pool "outside" area so be weary of children running and splashing water while you are trying to get a workout. The pool is quite small to do any kind of laps; seems to be more for show. There is a whirlpool and unisex steam-room and sauna located in this area. Professional massages are available as well as showers and a dressing room area.

The checkout process was done via the television access so we did not have to deal with the front desk. The entire bill is available for you to see, check all the charges and, if there are no discrepancies, the bill is charged to your credit card and mailed to the address provided when checked-in.

We had a rental car and the cost of valet parking is $27.00. However, the cost of park yourself is $20.00. Think of the $7.00 as a convenience charge. Or go down a few blocks to another cheaper parking garage.

Final Verdict:

Location: 5.0 out of 5.0

Lobby/Reception Area: 4.0 out of 5.0

Staff friendliness/responsiveness: 4.5 / 5.0

Room Decor/Ambiance: 4.5 / 5.0

Room cleanliness: 5.0 / 5.0

Room Amenities: 4.5 / 5.0

Bed Comfort: 5.0 / 5.0

Check-in/out Speed: 5.0 out of 5.0

Room Price Value: 3.5 out of 5.0

Total Score: 41 / 45 ( 91 out of 100% or A Grade)

Final Comment: A nice hotel just a block away from the 16th Street Mall. Clean, well-decorated and comfortable beds make the room quite nice, as it is expected from a Marriott Hotel. Nice facilities, amenities and friendly staff. Just take quite a few points for television being too close to the floor and wireless charges... argh!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Flyairhost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Central Business District
Residence Inn Denver City Center
Downtown
Courtyard Denver Downtown
Courtyard Denver Downtown
#59 of 159 in Denver
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Denver
Magnolia Hotel Denver
#43 of 159 in Denver
2,778 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Denver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denver Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denver Marriott City Center

Address: 1701 California St., Denver, CO 80202-3402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#39 Business Hotel in Denver
#48 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range: $148 - $537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Denver Marriott City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 613
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our AAA 4-Diamond downtown Denver hotel, committed to providing the best in hospitality and service. Towering above the Mile High City, the Denver Marriott City Center offers guests a unique downtown location, featuring panoramic views of Colorado's Rocky Mountains and the gorgeous Denver skyline, plus convenience to the city's most vibrant business, shopping and entertainment districts, including LoDo, Larimer Square and the 16th Street Mall, as well as top attractions including Elitch Gardens, Coors Field, Sports Authority Field at Mile High, Pepsi Center, and the Colorado Convention Center. With 24 conference rooms and 27,000 sq ft of meeting space, our downtown Denver hotel offers an ideal setting for any business or social event. For business travelers, we offer high-speed Internet access in all our Denver hotel rooms and an array of convenient business-friendly amenities. When you travel to Denver, stay at the Denver Marriott City Center hotel and tap into the energy of downtown Denver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Denver Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denver Marriott City Hotel Denver
Marriott Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing