We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Denver Marriott City Center
Ranked #40 of 158 Hotels in Denver
Reviewed July 20, 2008

ok i stayed here on the last night of my holiday as i thought id have a treat on my last night !
that was a shock !!
the car parking was very expensive and the information received when i booked on the phone was wrong !

for what i payed compared to the other hotels i stayed in this one was bad as i had a room on the conciege floor and it was tiny compared to the other hotels as was the bathroom.

the room was clean and tidy enough but as i said very very small and not worth the money.
also i had asked for a nice view of denver but ended up looking into an office building.

i would NOT stay here again, although it is a nice hotel and is 1 block from the 16th st mall.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheUKBandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (980)
There are newer reviews for Denver Marriott City Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

900 - 906 of 980 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2008

I stayed here for 5 days as part of a business trip. I normally stay at the Marriott Park Meadows, but wanted a change of scenery on this trip. This hotel may be well suited for huge conferences but I didn't enjoy my stay. Even the executive lounge breakfast area was not up to snuff, with huge crowds every morning and always running out of juice, etc. You were lucky to get a bowl of cereal and a place to sit.

The hotel room was dark, and I suspect their air ducts haven't been cleaned in awhile thanks to a very sore throat I had while staying here.

The location is good if you need the city center, and the valet is prompt as well. But if you are staying downtown, there are other options better and cheaper than this one. I'd give this one a miss.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank TCP-GDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2008

This is a nice hotel, and conveniently located. We had a room on one of the concierge floors. Unfortunately, the concierge lounge on the 17th floor was closed (we arrived at 6:30 pm), and it was closed for the entire weekend! (So much for the benefits of a higher rate room.)

Lobby was quite nice, with a Starbucks that was never open when we were passing through. Downstairs restaurant was quite nice--excellent service and a very nice breakfast. Hotel desk staff were wonderful. The valets out front were excellent. Did not have time to explore the rest of the hotel.

The room was well appointed, but small and crowded. Never did figure out how to use the alarm clock. Only 2 facecloths (washcloth) in the bathroom, but plenty of large towels and hand towels.

It cost $1 to make a local call--highway robbery, pathetic, if you ask me!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWRetiredTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2007

I stayed here for a business meeting on 11/7 - 11/9. My request to be upgraded to the concierge floor was granted, despite being on a group rate. The room was what you would expect for a Marriott, with comfy beds and pleasing decor, but this one had a partial view of the mountains. The concierge lounge was one of the better ones that I have experienced, in terms of the quality of meals and snacks and service (Shari was genuinely friendly and helpful). The hotel is just a block from 16th Street and within walking distance of most of the major downtown attractions, restaurants, shops and the free downtown shuttle. I bypassed the parking for garage parking one block over and payed only $4 overnight on Friday. I would very much stay here again.

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank WillaRosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2007

I travel every week to Denver for business, and have stayed at this hotel almost every week for the last three months. When I first arrived, it was great--the rooms are well done and comfortable, and the service was great. However, there has recently been a management change, and service has gone sharply downhill in the last two months. I've had rude and inept service for the last two months, and the frequent conferences at the hotel mean the hotel is frequently noisy, without hot water, and that one must wait up to 10 minutes for an elevator. Myself and the four other consultants that travel with me every week are now switching to another hotel. The accommodations are still nice, but for the price they are asking, the service had better be as well, and it has become sorely lacking. It's unfortunate as it used to be a very good hotel--now, it's not even mediocre.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sailor420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2007

We stayed here while attending a conference in October. For conferences it is very convenient, close to everything downtown, as well as the free 16th St shuttle, and the rooms spacious and accomodating. I liked it better than the conference we attended at the Adam's Mark. The food is very so-so...but I only ate the food supplied at the conference so maybe the restaurant was good. The pool is small but every clean; the steam room and jacuzzi in the health center were great - no one was ever in them. That was really a bonus feature of this hotel. The only down side to the hotel is the ridiculously expensive parking rate of 25.00 per day/valet. If you want your car out daily, or several times a day, it can take a while and the tipping can get a bit cumbersome.
The staff however were wonderful, promptly wheeled in a mini-fridge to our room free of charge, and were pleasant at all times. You an also print out boarding passes free of charge at the Starbucks in the lobby.
We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank al_maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2007

I agree with the previous writer. We had a room on the 17th floor and were given access to the concierge lounge. Had a HAZY view of the Rockies. I thought it was very well located. Bar (food/drink) was very nice, illuminated by the large windows in the lobby above. The room was clean and the staff great. We would stay again.

Thank JandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Central Business District
Residence Inn Denver City Center
Downtown
Courtyard Denver Downtown
Courtyard Denver Downtown
#58 of 158 in Denver
762 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Denver
Magnolia Hotel Denver
#42 of 158 in Denver
2,771 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Denver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denver Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denver Marriott City Center

Address: 1701 California St., Denver, CO 80202-3402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#39 Business Hotel in Denver
#48 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range: $174 - $561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Denver Marriott City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 613
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our AAA 4-Diamond downtown Denver hotel, committed to providing the best in hospitality and service. Towering above the Mile High City, the Denver Marriott City Center offers guests a unique downtown location, featuring panoramic views of Colorado's Rocky Mountains and the gorgeous Denver skyline, plus convenience to the city's most vibrant business, shopping and entertainment districts, including LoDo, Larimer Square and the 16th Street Mall, as well as top attractions including Elitch Gardens, Coors Field, Sports Authority Field at Mile High, Pepsi Center, and the Colorado Convention Center. With 24 conference rooms and 27,000 sq ft of meeting space, our downtown Denver hotel offers an ideal setting for any business or social event. For business travelers, we offer high-speed Internet access in all our Denver hotel rooms and an array of convenient business-friendly amenities. When you travel to Denver, stay at the Denver Marriott City Center hotel and tap into the energy of downtown Denver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Denver Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denver Marriott City Hotel Denver
Marriott Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing