We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & some nice amenities!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Denver Marriott City Center
Ranked #41 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location & some nice amenities!”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I stayed at the City Center this past weekend for a girls night out. The hotel is in a great location, just a few blocks from the 16th Street Mall... close enough to walk to, but far enough to be out of the noise and crowds.

The hotel lobby has lots of seating available, as well as a large flat screen tv that has weather, news, and local events available. There is also a very handy water cooler/dispenser around the corner from the check in counter. They offer hot or cold water, which is great if you want to fill up a water bottle and avoid hitting the vending machines. They also have a convenience store, Starbucks coffee shop and a Concierge available on the main floor.

The exercise facilities are very nice. They have a cardio room with steppers, bikes, and treadmills- all have their own personal tv's (and there is a basket of sealed ear buds for you to use). They have regular towels, as well as a little fridge filled with chilled towels (a nice way to end a work-out!). They also have a water dispenser (complete with cups or bring your own water bottle along). There is also a weights area next to the pool with free weights and a variety of machines to use.

Our room was very nice and the beds were comfortable. Lots of pillows, windows that you could open for fresh air, and a little coffee maker. Our first room had a funky smell to it, so we requested to be moved to another room. It took quite a while for them to get us moved, but the second room was fresh-smelling! The only complaint I had was that we were right near the elevator and it was very noisy at night- lots of dinging as the elevator opened up on our floor, as well as lots of loud voices.

Overall, it was a great hotel in a good location! I would definitely stay here again if I was coming to downtown Denver.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    377
    186
    56
    30
See reviews for
107
119
46
565
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This Marriott was what you expect from the brand. The room was a good size, well appointed and nice. The hotel location was great, very accessible to the downtown Denver area. I found the staff to be very hospitable and the hotel was great about giving us a late check-in (2 pm!). Use the parking structure directly across from the hotel to save on hotel parking fees.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adougla2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

PROS:
Quick check in
Plenty of parking options - and a variance in prices if you are interested in looking around
Cold, filtered water in the lobby
Free snacks in the lounge during happy hour

CONS:
About two blocks from "the action"

Room Tip: All the rooms seem eually good to me here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny1stAv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

This Marriott is in a great location - so I was able to stay here for business and also enjoy sime of Denver's downtown area. While not in terrible shape, the hotel has suffered from some deferred maintainence. Alot could be added from updating the place and making it feel a bit more modern. Also, the hotel does not have Air Conditioning that works unless the entire building system has been switched over for the summer, so the only way to get the room to a decent temperature was to sleep with the windows open to get some cool evening air.

Overall- I would have to say.....average.....

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Loved the proximity to 16th Street Mall! Super comfy beds!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDCBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

From what I understand, this Marriott was updated recently - it is fairly modern with a nice lobby and decently appointed rooms. Everything was clean and well maintained - the only issue I would cite is that the room was a little on the smaller side. If you are traveling with a larger group, you might be on top of each other. Other than that, nice facility, nice bedding, nice location, etc.

Room Tip: Be a Marriott Rewards member...some lady checking in next to me was grousing for a King Sized bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecseps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel as many mentioned has a great location in Denver. It is 2 blocks from the 16th street mall ( a long mall with restaurants, shopping, etc) 5 blocks from the convention center, about a 10 minute walk to Coors field and the lodo district, and about a 5-10 minute walk to the capital area. so really a wonderful location. The hotel is what you expect from Marriotts. I like Marriotts as they are always friendly, uniformal, comfortable and reasonably priced. This Hotel is almost indistinguishable from 100's of other Marriotts world wide. that is not a bad thing. So why the three stars and not 4, well, housekeeping wasn't that great. IT was ok, but not great. By the end of my stay (I was there for 9 nights) I had about 8 used shampoo and conditioners in my shower. (I know I should throw them away myself, but I forgot, then I didn't to see if they would) I just felt like when I checked in it hadn't been cleaned really well. Especially the bathroom. the staff was friendly, leaning toward average, not exceptional but pleasant. Overall the stay was nice, and normally a Marriott would get 4 stars, but this one gets three. Not bad, but has room to improve.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clyde_Betts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Denver Downtown
Courtyard Denver Downtown
#58 of 157 in Denver
758 reviews
Central Business District
Residence Inn Denver City Center
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Denver
Magnolia Hotel Denver
#38 of 157 in Denver
2,755 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Denver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denver Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denver Marriott City Center

Property: Denver Marriott City Center
Address: 1701 California St., Denver, CO 80202-3402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#39 Business Hotel in Denver
#48 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Denver Marriott City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 613
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our AAA 4-Diamond downtown Denver hotel, committed to providing the best in hospitality and service. Towering above the Mile High City, the Denver Marriott City Center offers guests a unique downtown location, featuring panoramic views of Colorado's Rocky Mountains and the gorgeous Denver skyline, plus convenience to the city's most vibrant business, shopping and entertainment districts, including LoDo, Larimer Square and the 16th Street Mall, as well as top attractions including Elitch Gardens, Coors Field, Sports Authority Field at Mile High, Pepsi Center, and the Colorado Convention Center. With 24 conference rooms and 27,000 sq ft of meeting space, our downtown Denver hotel offers an ideal setting for any business or social event. For business travelers, we offer high-speed Internet access in all our Denver hotel rooms and an array of convenient business-friendly amenities. When you travel to Denver, stay at the Denver Marriott City Center hotel and tap into the energy of downtown Denver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Denver Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denver Marriott City Hotel Denver
Marriott Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing