We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Missing the point”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Denver Downtown
Ranked #9 of 156 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Missing the point”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Okay..
It's beautiful, if a bit stark.

I don't know why my husband booked it for this business trip, but he did. I go for the mid level properties like Holiday Inn Express, where I feel I get bang for my buck. For $200+a night I want everything to work perfectly! at the least.

Got to our room and it was cold. Turned up the thermostat and nothing happened.

Went to the bathroom and there were no toiletries. I called and was assured they would be brought up. They weren't.

Had dinner with our local contact at Pub17 in the hotel. Very pedestrian food.

Returned to room. No shampoo. Hubby went down to front desk and got some.

Bed was comfy but super light-weight comforter too little for the cold room so I spent the night trying to double the quilt over me to get warm.

Morning comes, big day ahead. Took shower (great shower)' went to blow dry. No way will the dryer plug stay anchored in the socket. Had Hubby hold plug in socket while I tried to style hair. Left hotel looking and feeling frayed.

All the time the staff is Johnny on the spot ready to help, smile, serve...but why can't they seem to manage the simple basics of hostelry? Warmth. Necessities. Appliances you can actually work.

Oh well. Next time I'll book the hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    961
    449
    106
    28
    19
See reviews for
237
321
55
771
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

I came here to support an event held in the Hyatt. Porters voluteered to move equipment for me before I thought to ask them. The Hyatt's event person (Meagan) met me in the ballroom, asked if I needed anything and answered all the questions I usually have to chase down answers to. In addition, she went above and beyond by working with a show sponsor to iron out the sponsor's oversight. Their staff have worked actively to make sure everything was perfect. Simply flawless.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Japeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

I spend several weekends a year in Denver, typically choosing the Hyatt Regency however the Grand Hyatt is my go-to hotel now! A perfect Valentine's Day weekend. Every single employee we encountered was welcoming, warm, helpful and polite.

Checkin- A short line, then was helped by a manager, Jake. He explained many of the recent renovations and we were expeditiously checked in. He recommended the burgers in Pub 17, which I overwhelming echo.

Room-I used a Diamond upgrade to receive a suite on the top floor. It was very inviting and nicely appointed including a spa-like bath. Decor was in was dark browns with golds and splashes of color. No tub in this one, but the shower was spacious with a rainshower plus regular showerhead. I almost forgot, this was the cleaned hotel room I have stayed in for a long time! I am pretty picky and all I can say is Kudos to the housekeeping staff!!

Restaurants/Bars: As stated previously, Pub 17 had great burgers which came with an upscale salad and worth-splurging-for fries. There was fancier things on the menu as well. They have an extensive beer list featuring Colorado beers. We are now hooked on Frisco, CO's pale ale, "Backcountry"; despite living in Colorado and thinking ourselves knowledgeable about the local offerings, this was an exciting new find! The bar areas is nice but I will advise that the main eating area of Pub 17 has a boring feeling not conducive to the rest of the main level. So visit, just stay near the bar!

The former, spacious main lobby is now a very inviting bar called Fireside The Bar, offering handmade specialty cocktails. We were excited to try some off the forthcoming spring menu... gin/cucumber/mint...yummy. We enjoyed live music both nights of our stay here by a talented local musician. And the fireplaces make this spacious room feel very cozy.

We also enjoyed late night in-room dining. The tortilla soup is very flavorful and the salmon salad was great. Service was prompt and food was delicious.

Parking: We were going to be using the car frequently so opted for valet. I'll say retrieving our car was very speedy every time. I noted that street parking is free on Sundays, so that is an opportunity to save a few bucks. Also there are public lots very close if you prefer.

Location: This is 1.5 short blocks north of 16th Street Mall. Considering the free Mall Ride bus, it is a very convenient location. Going to the Performing Arts Center, for example, is just about a 4 block walk once you factor in the bus along 16th street. Or just take a pedi cab, which are plentiful on the mall! One item of note is that there are many one-way streets in this area, so be sure to take that into account. You enter the one-way valet alley off of Welton (which goes northeast one-way) and exit the valet parking onto Glenarm (southwest one-way).

Nearby: I love Appaloosa Grill, corner of Welton and 16th street mall for fresh, locally sourced, tasty food. Great happy hour and also late night music. It's just 1.5 short blocks away. Maggiano's Little Italy is about 2.5 blocks away at Glenarm and 16th Street.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

I want to open my review by stating I am a huge fan of the Hyatt properties. Typically they are beautiful properties with excellent food , rooms, and facilities. That is not the case here. The public spaces ( lobby, corridors, restaurant, etc.) are trapped in the 1980's . These spaces are dark, dingy, and very dated. The service was excellent and food very good. In contrast to the public spaces, my room was beautiful and very clean. The automatic blinds did not work but I can over look that. I would not however recommend this Hyatt; nothing grand here!!!!
There are plenty of other wonderful hotels in Denver. I would recommend the Hyatt by the convention center.

Room Tip: Get a corner room. Clean and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sickofbadplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

I had a terrible experience at the Hyatt Tech Center and they arranged for me to move to the Grand Hyatt to finish my stay. I was so impressed with the new look and feel, the wonderful room and the Starbuck's practically in the building. I will definitely be back

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarloafkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

The room was nice. It has everything needed for a businees trip.. Best for a stay at going to convention center. Small bar area but staff was very helpful. Check out was a breeze as I ned to head to the airport fast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freightmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottineau, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had a great room and the location of the Grand Hyatt is awesome! The valet service is very quick and professional. The fireside bar is very nice. The only thing I was missing was access to a microwave. We ate dinner elsewhere and it would have been nice to be able to heat up my leftovers. Otherwise, everything was A+++ for the price. Very nice.

Room Tip: We had 3 rooms--the views were great from all 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 156 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 156 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 156 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Denver Downtown

Property: Grand Hyatt Denver Downtown
Address: 1750 Welton St., Denver, CO 80202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Denver
#6 Business Hotel in Denver
#7 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#15 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#17 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Denver Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 516
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Diamond AAA award winning Grand Hyatt Denver is in the heart of the Mile High City's business district. Complete with a host of comforts, each spacious accommodation, one of the region's largest, features the Hyatt Grand Bed, free 24 hour fitness facility, indoor pool, room service around the clock, well-lit work stations and high-speed internet access. Reminiscent of the Colorado Rockies, a sandstone fireplace provides a warm welcome for arriving guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Denver Downtown Hotel Denver
Hyatt Denver Downtown
Denver Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing