We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and great hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnolia Hotel Denver

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Denver
Ranked #33 of 154 Hotels in Denver
Basalt, Colorado
1 review
“Great location and great hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed here while attending a seminar - and booked it for it's great location and walking distance to seminar. Was impressed with customer service, ease of use and overall comfort, cleanliness and convenience. I didn't use many amenities but grabbed dinner at Harry's, which was great, with cool decor and atmosphere. Would recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Denver, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Hey Kelly,

Thank you kindly for staying with us, reviewing it, and being awesome. Next time you're here you gotta get these amenities - we love giving people stuff. Till next time -

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,574
    714
    223
    89
    63
See reviews for
327
1,101
171
729
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Loved the showers--perfect water pressure and heat made for a great start to the morning! Hotel staff was very friendly, especially the valet. Special touches like a late night cookie/milk bar, cocktail hour,and free wifi and breakfast all made for a more relaxing stay. If you're in Denver and looking for a great location and comfortable and fun stay--stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Denver, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Hey Megan,

Reviews like yours are why we do what we do here. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and next time you're in town, let's do it again.

Best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed here while working in Denver. I was really impressed with this hotel. The staff was awesome and the room was one of the best rooms I have ever stayed in. It was really clean and comfortable. The breakfast was great and had a lot of choices. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Denver, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Hey Wade,

We're so happy we got to make your first night in Denver an enjoyable one. Keep us in mind for the next trip - all that awesomeness will be here.

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

I researched the hotels in Denver for this trip. Magnolia had 4.2 stars. We were fooled by some over the top reviews, This is our experience. We arrived Friday night. The desk clerk was milling about the front desk not looking up. I waited for about 5 minutes. Then he recognized a female was standing there to the side of me. Instead of asking who was next he immediately asked what she needed. She needed another room key. He gave her another key to try and made some small talk, lingering. Then he went back to having his head down. I'm directly in front of the counter. I asked if I could check in now. He mumbled that the computers were down and it be a few minutes. He milled about some more behind the desk area and to the side door. When he returned, and without looking up or at the computer he says something like "okay, I'm ready."
This was about the rudest person I've ever witnessed in the hotel industry. I didn't get his name, but he was a rather larger fellow, rotund, with a shaven head.

During the check in I asked him about parking. He said it was 26 per night to valet. I told him this was not on the website when I reserved the room. He said that there was other parking, but he wasn't sure of the rate.. saying something like "maybe 20 dollars" "but don't quote me on that." Then he hands me the keys without explaining where anything is located. I ask him about the breakfast and he says "oh, yes I'll tell you all about the free things" and something like "we have breakfast in the morning from 7-10...okay?" I say fine and head out to park the car.
The room we find walking up and down the narrow hall. We noticed some of the numbers are not in sequential order (strange). The room is dark. We turn on the lights and the walls are painted dark brown and light blue. There is dark furniture. The whole feeling is very drab and poorly lit. The bed was not comfortable at all and I thought this was supposed to be a boutique hotel?
We look around the room and find the bottled water with $5 stickers on them. That's about all the room offers..no cookies.

My wife slept on the couch since it was more comfortable than the bed. We awake and we go shower. The water pressure is so low we take twice as long to get the soap out of our hair. My wife is checking the Internet out and could not connect. She tried several times and gave up.

In the morning we go to the "free" breakfast. It was simple. Some quick cook eggs and mostly dry things to eat and some fruit.

1) discourteous front desk
2) expensive parking (not advertised or explained on web site)
3) dark drab room -colors
4) low water pressure showers
5) breakfast was not appetizing

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank acaros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Denver, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear acaros,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your concerns with staff, decor and breakfast have all been noted. We appreciate you helping us identify ways in which we can improve and look forward to having you back soon. Till then,

Regards,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stopped in for a night with my wife and daughter. Staff was very helpful, never felt rushed, and provided me extra little tips for where things were and how to get there. We settled in with their complementary happy hour before walking out to the mall. Room was pretty quiet, we were on the inside overlooking the valet. Voices would carry up but it was quiet at night. Beds are comfortable, even the roll-away for my daughter. Nice living space for us to visit, and the room was clean. Won't comment on the kitchen as we didn't use it. No issues at all, would be on our list to return.

Room Tip: A little further from the elevator would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Explore_often
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Denver, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Hey Explore_often,

Awesome review, awesome guest. They always line up like that. Thanks for dropping us a line and we look forward to your next stay -

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean, and we had no issues at all. They had cookies and milk at night with a variety of choices, which was delightful. The breakfast buffet was phenomenal, delicious food that seemed quite fresh. Great location, right off of 16th St Mall. We would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Denver, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Hey Suzanne L,

If we could write reviews about guests, we would recommend you to every hotel. "She's nice with the reviews, realizes the benefits of location and amenities, and has great taste."
We give you 5 stars!
We hope to see you again soon - till then,

All our best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

My husband and I visited Denver recently for a combination of business and pleasure. We opted for a king suite for us and a standard king for our adult daughter. Our suite provided a nice sitting area where we could all visit and a well-lighted work table for my husband. The bed was comfortable although the pillows were too big for my comfort. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The wine reception and the milk and cookies at night were a nice treat. The hotel is in a great location.The Magnolia provides all of the amenities but not the crowds you will find in the larger hotels.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbiturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Denver, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Hey debbiturk,

The combination business/pleasure trip. Excellent! Thanks for staying with us, reviewing the affair, and helping us identify what's working at Magnolia. Your concerns with too-big-pillows has been noted. We hope to have you and your husband/business partner back soon - Till then,

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Hotel Teatro
#19 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#38 of 154 in Denver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Denver

Property: Magnolia Hotel Denver
Address: 818 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-3101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#24 Family Hotel in Denver
#27 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#28 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Denver 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This downtown Denver hotel features guestrooms and suites ideal for corporate and leisure travelers that desire a location walking distance to attractions including the Denver Convention Center, 16th Street Mall, Union Station, Coors Field, and all of downtown's restaurants, shopping and entertainment areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denver Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing