We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Downtown Denver hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Denver
Ranked #35 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Fresno
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect Downtown Denver hotel”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The Magnolia Hotel Denver has all the bells and whistles. The room and bed were amazing. I had the best nights' sleep in a hotel ever while staying at the Magnolia. I had a room on the 11th floor on the atrium - which means no view but quiet at night! The location of the Magnolia is perfect to wander around downtown with all the shops and restaurants. I didn't make it to the reception and I didn't wany any cookies but I did have breakfast in the lounge each morning. The free breakfast is fantastic and the lounge itself is beautiful. I highly recommend the Magnolia Hotel Denver to travelers and will definitely stay again should I be in Denver.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seekbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,592
    721
    233
    90
    65
See reviews for
331
1,111
176
744
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

When my boyfriend came to Denver for the first time, we stayed in the Magnolia and it has become our favorite spot. The room rates are affordable enough that if we're going to be downtown for a special event, we just book a room there. The rooms are beautiful and the service is fantastic. The shuttle will take you just about anywhere downtown for free and the valet service is superb.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, CT
Level Contributor
326 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The experience at Magnolia was way above expectations until I checked out. They had only one person at the desk in the hour before their official check-out at 11AM. The line was six parties long and the wait a half hour - so I can pay them! Management, please take notice.

Room Tip: The suites are a great deal and very nice with a working fireplace. Check out early or by telephone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The hotel rooms are very clean and the hotel staff were very nice .The cookie bar was a nice touch. Wished it stayed open longer. Breakfast had a good variety of food and coffee . We also parked at the hotel and they even let us stay Parking there after we checked out. I i would stay there again :))

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1owlbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

A wonderful experience. Clean room, clean and public places. Suites are big with many amenities.Very helpful staff who were willing to change the noisy refrigerator in the room,print out my boarding pass, and tell me where to buy my granddaughter a cowgirl shirt with pearl buttons (she was very specific) . Great experience.

Room Tip: Higher floors have more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stellaander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Magnolia Hotel was the best place I've stayed in Denver. Not only was it clean, comfortable and spacious, I was completely pampered. The entire staff from the front desk to the valet to the cleaning staff to the concierge treated me as though I was their most important customer. I loved the evening receptions and cookies and milk at night. I will definitely stay here again and again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We won a one night stay at the Magnolia during a promotion of the James Bond movie Skyfall. My wife and I had decided to spend this on the night of our wedding anniversary, during what was an otherwise nondescript weekend in Denver. The Magnolia has the feel of a chic, trendy, high-end hotel for the price of a room at the Sheraton.

Overall our experience was very good. The hotel itself and the ambiance was most excellent. We stayed in a fireplace suite, complete with kitchen, living and dining area. The appliances were dated and there was the lingering odor of cooking grease, but otherwise all was very good. The fireplace did emit a strong smell of natural gas when in use, so we discontinued its use for the remainder of our stay. By all appearance our room was very clean, outside street noise seemed to blend into the background. The night we were there, we took full advantage of the free happy hour, which is a real treat for guests. My critique of this event is that it begins rather unceremoniously without announcement and takes place in what's an already cramped lobby. This would be better served taking place downstairs in the dining/lounge area.

The included breakfast was fantastic. The staff working the area was friendly and accommodating, making sure guests were notified in advanced when buffet items were refreshed.

While the hotel has a personality of it's own, the staff doesn't do much to make the stay feel special. This isn't to say they were rude or not helpful, they in fact were cheerful and for the most part helpful. What the hotel itself held in character, something seemed lacking in the collective personality of the staff. This commentary extends to Harry's Bar and the attached Starbucks. Everyone's doing their job, and that's it. To be fair, many hotel chains have no personality at all whatsoever, expectations are elevated with the Magnolia.

In summary, the Magnolia is a fine hotel, and I would recommend it. While the lobby is a bit cramped during the happy hour, it is very welcoming and provides that intimate feel you should get when staying at a hotel of this caliber.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_J_Ames_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Hotel Teatro
#19 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#39 of 157 in Denver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Denver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Denver

Property: Magnolia Hotel Denver
Address: 818 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-3101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#24 Family Hotel in Denver
#27 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#28 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Denver 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This downtown Denver hotel features guestrooms and suites ideal for corporate and leisure travelers that desire a location walking distance to attractions including the Denver Convention Center, 16th Street Mall, Union Station, Coors Field, and all of downtown's restaurants, shopping and entertainment areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denver Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing