We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Accommodation Gem of Denver”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Denver
Ranked #36 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“The Accommodation Gem of Denver”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was my first visit to Denver and to stay in a gem of a property like this just iced the cake. I have stayed in many properties around the world and although I may have stayed in a better rooms this hotel would clearly get my top overall rating. Rooms very nice and roomy, the staff were just outstanding, could not do enough to help you. Even the bar staff were wonderful, and serve a very reasonable meal, something I did not expect with a late evening arrival. All the 'little extras' took this hotel stay to a new level (chocolate milk and cookies in the evening, just a small examle). All the things you normally pay for were complimentary. The hotel's location is great, less then a minute from 16 St Mall. This is truly a 5 Star PLUS property with 6 star service.

Room Tip: The view etc is not really available and totally unnecessary. This hotel just has so many pluses I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_edn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,599
    723
    237
    96
    68
See reviews for
332
1,121
176
753
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Good location for walking to almost anywhere downtown. The room was comfortable and well appointed- loved the bathroom style. I didn't get a chance to partake in the cocktail hour or milk/cookies hour, but both are great touches. The staff was very helpful- from front desk to the bellman. Only complaints... $23 per day for parking seems a bit steep to me. Housekeeping seemed a bit lacking. While the room was clean, I didn't get stay-over service and I stayed two nights. I also visited the bar & wasn't too impressed with the ambiance or service there. Overall & for the price, this hotel is a great place to stay in downtown Denver.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraveltoCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aztec, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The concierge (Erin) was so helpful and knowledgeable. She recommended a great restaurant: (Blue Sushi) and made a hair appointment for me at Tousled Beauty Salon on Champa.
I also appreciated the emails before our arrival to ask if we needed anything.
Great place to stay, right in the heart of downtown Denver.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was a revisit to Denver for us & having stayed at the Magnolia on our previous visit we had no hestiation in staying here again. We booked a suite for both our inbound & outbound stays as the extra space seemed to offer good value for money.
On our Inbound stay we were allocated a suite on the 11th floor which offered city views, the living area, kitchen & bathroom were all spacious but in the bedroom the kingsize bed was placed so close to the window and there was very little space to navigate around the bed, most noticeable when visiting the bathroom through the night, so much so that the curtains came with you when you tried to get around. There was also a walkway immediately outside the bedroom window which infringed on our privacy when workmen walked past.
On our outbound stay we were on the 3rd floor, the kitchen area was quite dated but well equipped ,the fridge was very noisy and could be heard throughout the rooms. As with our previous suite the layout of the bedroom again meant inadequate space to enable one of us to get in/out of bed comfortably as it was positioned right next to the window with only the minimum of walk around space.
The 3rd floor was not an ideal place to stay, we were woken at about 5:30 am with the traffic noise, trams & emergency sirens attending an incident across the street. Granted one should expect a certain level of noise in city centre, however a higher level floor would alleviate a great deal of street noise.
What makes this hotel attractive is the amenities on offer, free breakfast, complimentary bar, milk & cookies.
The staff we encoutered were all very pleasant & attentive and the central location of the hotel would certainly attract us back again, however I think I'd have to lower my expectations of the accommodation on offer or perhaps compare alternatives.

Room Tip: Ask for a room/suite on the 10th/11th floor for less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthumberlandTopCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I was in Denver for a three day conference and this was the hotel that my colleagues and I stayed at. Situated about 5-10 minutes away from the Convention Center, the location can't be beat. You're close to many good restaurants as well. Staff are extremely friendly (in particular, Erin, the Lead Concierge). The rooms are well-appointed and clean, albeit a bit dated. Wi-fi is relatively choppy in the guest rooms, but I used the Ethernet cable without any issues. The complimentary evening drinks and cookies are real bonuses!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelfanatic65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Excellent hotel with wonderful staff that are very knowledgeable and attentive. The milk and cookies every evening and breakfast every morning were greatly appreciated by our entire team. A team of 12 people stayed here and we hosted a client reception in the downstairs private bar with pool tables and it was perfect. Everyone enjoyed their stay and the party was a hit. I would highly recommend this hotel in the heart of downtown Denver and walking distance to the Colorado Convention Center and many great restaurants, shopping and sites. I don't believe there was a pool or spa.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMC777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I'm a fan of boutique-style hotels and the Magnolia is no exception. There are quite a few in the greater downtown Denver area but the Magnolia is my favorite. It's nice to enter off of the street so you are not exposed to the traffic and the elements when you check in. The entire staff is friendly and helpful. The suites are spacious and well appointed, including full kitchens. You can tell this was formerly an apartment building. Full breakfast buffet is included and a nice complimentary happy hour in the afternoon as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ietsgotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#39 of 157 in Denver
1,531 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Teatro
#21 of 157 in Denver
1,197 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 157 in Denver
1,066 reviews
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#1 of 157 in Denver
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Denver

Property: Magnolia Hotel Denver
Address: 818 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-3101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#24 Family Hotel in Denver
#27 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#28 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Denver 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This downtown Denver hotel features guestrooms and suites ideal for corporate and leisure travelers that desire a location walking distance to attractions including the Denver Convention Center, 16th Street Mall, Union Station, Coors Field, and all of downtown's restaurants, shopping and entertainment areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denver Magnolia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing