We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, bathroom stained”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr
Ranked #87 of 159 Hotels in Denver
Reviewed January 21, 2010

The hotel used to be a Holiday Inn and is now a Crowne Plaza. I booked the hotel through Priceline, and at check-in was offered the choice of a room with 2 double beds or a Queen Handicapped Accessible room. I went with the 2 double bed room, and was given a room on the first floor. The room had a Crowne Plaza bag on the bed containing a sleep mask, linen spray, and ear plugs, which I thought was a very nice touch. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom had some staining on the tiles, and there was nowhere near enough water pressure in the shower - always a pet peeve of mine. The amenities offered in the bathroom were nice. Overall, about as expected, and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fzedlach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 588 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2009

We chose Crowne Plaza because of its proximity to the airport and complimentary shuttle service. After our wedding we stayed at this hotel because our flight for the honeymoon left early the next morning. We paid a small upgrade for a "wedding package" and received champagne, delicous chocolates and a fresh flower arrangment.

The room paid for itself because of the cost of airport parking. The staff made this a memorable experience because of the treatment we received upon check in. We ordered room service and the food was quite good. We will stay at Crowne Plaza again before our next vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AirlineWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

This hotel has been appointed well with nicely decorated rooms and a peaceful lobby lounge area with waterfall and plenty of seating for visiting and relaxing. However, this is where the 3 star rating ends. This property is immediately next to the freeway (I-70) and trucks driving by all night long. We had 3 in our party so needed 2 beds. We got 2 hard full sized beds. I would have expected queen. The fitted sheets were too small, so they kept popping off all night. The toilet didn't flush,(you had to hold the handle down), the air conditioner was very old (it hadn't been replaced yet). The lighted mirror was a nice touch, but it didn't work. The restroom was large, but we only had 1 washcloth. The hotel directory was outdated stating vending machines on every floor and an onsite laundry room. They have neither. In fact, the only place you can buy pop, water and snacks was at the front desk or through room service. The water and pop was $3.00 at the front counter for a 20 oz. bottle. Room service was $2.00 for an 8 oz. bottle.
Room service was disappointing. They came to our room 3 times because they kept forgetting things. And apparrently they don't serve glasses of ice to pour your 8 oz. bottle of soda into. Either drink it warm out of the bottle or go get the ice yourself from the ice machine.
After traveling all day, we were looking for a nice hotel close to the airport where we could relax, unwind, have a nice meal and sleep. We were not able to do any of these.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seattle_WADonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

This is a hotel that seems caught in a time warp. It has a vast entrance/public space of slightly soulless, Soviet proportions which scream the 80s when people then may have wanted a space to relax, eat, drink and be seen. In the noughties however, needs are different and the place struggles to impress despite apparently being given a recent makeover. Having just spent a fantastic two weeks touring the Rockies, I can honestly say that the grilled salmon steak I had there on our last night before flying home was my worst eating experience of the trip. It was closer to Butch Cassidy's shoe leather than fish. The restaurant just seemed tired and there are other alternatives nearby. Rooms are OK but ask for one facing away from the noisy I 70. I don't think floor 6 has had its makeover yet - (burn marks on our carpet and a loose shower curtain rail). Our experience of Holiday Inn, the supposed lesser partner to Crowne Plaza was better than this. Location near the airport for a quick getaway is its saving grace.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mangamgusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

We stayed here twice , before and after a flight to/in Denver Intn'l Airport. The hotel has an airport shuttle, is clean and quiet. They even offered us free breakfast although it was not included in the price of the rooms. Nice ambiance too.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank SorinaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

This hotel is a former Holiday Inn we stayed in 4 years ago and it appears to still be in transition. The most notable change is a relocated new entrance and lobby area that offers a more roomy, sheltered area for loading/unloading. Otherwise, it is difficult to recognize changes from the original Holiday Inn. First, the good points- Our room was comfortable with an excellent heat/AC unit and the bed and linens were of high quality. The basic free internet wi-fi service worked well- higher speeds were available at an extra charge. Staff were friendly and there was plenty of free parking. The exercise room was convenient and fairly well equipped. The bar was nice and the bartender friendly. Now, the not so good. The hotel was rebuilding their elevators and one of the two units was out of service during our entire stay of about a week.. Talking with the technicians, it appeared both elevators won't be back in service until early June. Upon arrival, we found our room to be rather dirty. Poor housekeeping and repair was a chronic issue throughout our stay and each evening as we returned to our room it was fun to see what would be the problem of the day. We also found room service and the restaurant to be a loser. We tried to order room service one night and ended up with their voicemail a couple of times. They never responded to our messages and we finally went out for food. We had two meals in the hotel restaurant with mixed results. One meal was cold by the time we received it even though they did not seem busy. The second meal was not much better. They forgot an item we ordered and then charged us for items we neither ordered nor received. Our waitperson acknowledged the error but told us the hostess would have to correct the check. It turned out she could not fix the check without approval from a manager who apparently could not be found. Finally after much discussion with other staff, she offered us a discount which brought the check to an amount close to what we should have been charged and we called it good. At this time we would rather not recommend this hotel. We may travel to this area again in a few months and will plan to stay at another hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travlerArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

First of all, I am a travel agent. But second of all, I like a great deal!! We bid $35 for this hotel on Priceline, and it was accepted!! (With tax it came to about $42 I think.)

The business center with three computers with free access was handy.

Our room with one king bed and one sofabed (for me) was just fine.

The shuttle to the airport was quick, easy, and painless and the driver was very nice.

What a great value near DIA -- next time I need a hotel in Denver, this will be at the top of my list!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbuker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denver
0.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Denver International Airport
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Denver Airport at Gateway Park
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Denver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Denver International Airport
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Denver International Airport
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Denver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr

Address: 15500 E 40th Ave, Denver, CO 80239-5701 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 159 Hotels in Denver
Price Range: $109 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Center hotel has undergone a full sleeping room and public area renovation, complete September 2011. Located 15 minutes from Denver International Airport and minutes from great shopping, dining and entertainment at Northfield Stapleton, shuttle service is provided complimentary. The hotel features 84,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, including an impressive 60,000-square-foot Convention Center that accommodates as many as 4,000 guests and offers planners an 8' wide x 18' tall access door for heavy machinery and vehicle displays. Additionally, the hotel offers 1200 complimentary parking spaces and complimentary shuttle service to and from Denver International Airport. The hotel has earned a Meeting Service Excellence Ribbon from surveyed meeting planners who have held events at the Crowne Plaza Denver International Airport. With the ability to fly to Denver International Airport in 2 - 3 hours from anywhere in the country and easy access on I-70 or E - 470, this suburban Denver hotel and convention center is ideally suited for annual conferences of any kind. The hotel is centrally located between Downtown Denver, Denver International Airport and Buckley Air Force Base and is a short car or shuttle ride from the Rocky Mountains. Industries that are concentrated in the area include Aerospace, Military, Agriculture, Sustainable Energy, Medical, Pharmaceutical, and Technology. Also, Anschutz Medical Complex is just a few mile from the hotel and a shuttle is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Denver International Airport Hotel Denver
Denver Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing