We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A two night stay at the Crowne Plaza DIA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr
Ranked #83 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A two night stay at the Crowne Plaza DIA”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

My lovely wife and I stayed two nights here as we flew into Denver International Airport on Thursday and couldn't check into our condo in Avon, CO until 5:00 pm Saturday. We're Intercontinental Hotel Group (IHG) Platinum Ambassadors/Priority Club Rewards (PCR) Platinum level members and utilize IHG hotels through the majority of our travels both national and international. We found a rate online through www.priorityclubrewards.com that included a club level room, 5000 bonus points, two complimentary breakfasts per person/per day and two complimentary drinks at the bar per person/per day. We utilized the free hotel shuttle from the airport to the hotel. The entire staff at this hotel did their utmost to meet our needs; being courteous, friendly and accommodating without exception, however, the hotel itself was below IHG standards. The room was adequate but not comparable to any other club level room we've stayed in the past. They have a club level but not a club level lounge. The hotel could stand a major upgrade as the carpets were in need of a desperate replacement as they are worn, stained and certain places being held down with tape. The colors and décor were very outdated throughout the hotel. The breakfast buffet had a very good selection and our server Tania was wonderful. The bar was very well stocked and those free Guinness stouts hit the spot. There are numerous places to eat within walking distance of the hotel and we’d like to recommend the Kung Fu Asian Grill which is directly across the street and specializes in Thai food. I believe the shuttle vans will take you the Outback Steakhouse if you don’t feel like walking. In closing, the hotel has a lot of potential but at the present time it’s not up to the IHG standards my wife and I have come to expect.

Room Tip: Make sure you sign up for the FREE Priority Club Rewards program before booking your room. Book an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Big_White_Baer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Hello and thank you for your very thorough review of our hotel and your stay with us.

We have recently gone through a large renovation, in which we updated flooring, bathrooms, bedding, furniture, and many other improvements in the rooms, lobby and restaurant, to hopefully improve the look and feel of our hotel, which was opened in the early 1980s.

As we're sure you know, complete renovations take time, and we actually are planning on re-carpeting our entire hotel within the next 30 days, which will take care of the worn and stained look that you experienced. We are continuously striving to update our hotel and keep it up to the IHG Standards that you are used to!

We hope that you will come back and see us on your next trip to the Denver area so that you can see our continuous improvements to our hotel and amenities.

Safe travels!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    175
    134
    77
    47
See reviews for
98
109
55
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed here on the way to an early flight out of DIA in the morning as we got a really good rate on Priceline. The hotel is conveniently located a short drive from the airport and it is safe and clean.

Check in was very easy later in the evening and there is an abundance of parking. Asked what sort of room we wanted, which is not always the case with Priceline booked rooms. Lobby was large and seemed a bit over the top with a rock waterfall structure thing...kind of interesting. Room was nice. Flat screen Tv, desk, king size bed, and also had a microwave, refrigerator and a couch with coffee table. I believe this is was standard room so the extras were nice. The bathrooms was also very nice, however the toilet had some issues flushing.

Only complaints were that the bed was not comfortable. I am not someone who is picky about beds, and it got to me. Also the room did not have a window to the outside. It looked out over the lobby, which was a bit odd with some off putting lighting at night, and made it feel dark and dreary in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coloradical13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don W, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Hello and thank you for your review,

We appreciate any and all guest feedback, as it is our goal to provide a comfortable and relaxing experience. We are glad to hear that most of your visit was convenient and that you were pleased with most of our amenities.

I am very sorry to hear that you did not find the bed comfortable in your room. We are consistently updating our amenities to make sure that they are in good quality and contribute to a positive guest experience. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future, and we encourage our guests to notify the front desk of any amenities that do not meet your standards so that we can see to it that they are replaced.

Sincerely,
Don Woodin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

This was a great stop close to the airport and very affordable. The restaurant was impressive and reasonable. The shuttles are free to the airport and the bar seemed busy. Great staff too.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thank you for your review! We truly appreciate all feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Approximately 60 participants spent a very pleasant and productive week meeting a the Crown Plaza Denver International AIrport.

Having spent considerable time over the year at conferences and meetings, I can say that this property is the total package. From the reservatons, shuttle check-in to daily service on property every aspect of service was terrrific. Gen. Mgr Wooden, front desk staff, Ray West, banquet Captain and his Team along with chef Daniel made this an extremely pleasant experience. Kudos to all.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thank you for your review! We love staff shout outs and this information will be passed to each individual that you mentioned. We appreciate your stay and hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
131 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Wasn't bad, decent rooms, decent food, quick and reliable airport shuttle. Enough Said...
You can park here for free for upto 14 days if catching a flight out of DEN

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmordski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thank you for your review!

We try our hardest to make sure that our guests have everything that they need whether they are staying for business or leisure, and our goal is to make your stay convenient and comfortable.

We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Twice as far from airport as many hotels, laughably bad renovation of what must have been a bad Holidat Inn. The rock wall fountain in the nearly windowless atrium is a bad imitation of a cheap hotel in Las Vegas. Lobby, elevator, and halls all dirty and in disarray.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your review and we apologize if your stay was anything less than perfect. We are continuously working to better our hotel for our guests and it is our goal to provide a comfortable and aesthetically pleasing atmosphere. We rely on our guest feedback to help us make changes that will improve the quality of our hotel.

We have recently gone through a large renovation, in which we updated flooring, bathrooms, bedding, furniture, and many other improvements in the rooms, lobby and restaurant, to hopefully improve the look and feel of our hotel.

We are working very hard to make this hotel updated and up to high standards; that being said, we apologize for any dissatisfaction you may have had. We hope that you will try us again in the future as we continue to better our hotel.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london , england
Level Contributor
191 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Decided to stay here for 1 night on our way back to the UK after our flight was cancelled. We needed somewhere with a free DIA shuttle and this hotel is also only approx 10miles from downtown Denver and seemed about the best choice for what we were looking for.
Check in was ok but uninformative, room was clean, bed and pillows very soft. There was 1 sleep pack in the room (for 2 people!)
We had a drink in the bar and free nibbles, which was ok (Super Bowl was on the tv).
Breakfast was better than expected, small but nice choice of buffet or a la carte if you preferred.
We decided to give the pool a miss as it smelt very chlorinated (shame). The hotel itself seemed very quiet. Probably our only negative was being charged for breakfast when we were on a B&B package, luckily we asked for a copy of the bill before we left and was rectified after we queried it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMC_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. On behalf of Crowne Plaza DIA, I would like to apologize for the aspects of your stay that were less than perfect. I have notified the pool maintenance staff about the "chlorinated" smell that deterred you from enjoying our amenities and I apologize that you were initially charged for your breakfast that should have been included.

In the future, you may call down to the concierge for another sleep pack if needed.

Thank you for visiting and we hope to see you the next time you travel to Colorado.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denver
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Denver International Airport
0.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Denver International Airport
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Denver Airport at Gateway Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Denver Airport
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Denver Airport
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Denver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr

Property: Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr
Address: 15500 E 40th Ave, Denver, CO 80239-5701 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Center hotel has undergone a full sleeping room and public area renovation, complete September 2011. Located 15 minutes from Denver International Airport and minutes from great shopping, dining and entertainment at Northfield Stapleton, shuttle service is provided complimentary. The hotel features 84,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, including an impressive 60,000-square-foot Convention Center that accommodates as many as 4,000 guests and offers planners an 8' wide x 18' tall access door for heavy machinery and vehicle displays. Additionally, the hotel offers 1200 complimentary parking spaces and complimentary shuttle service to and from Denver International Airport. The hotel has earned a Meeting Service Excellence Ribbon from surveyed meeting planners who have held events at the Crowne Plaza Denver International Airport. With the ability to fly to Denver International Airport in 2 - 3 hours from anywhere in the country and easy access on I-70 or E - 470, this suburban Denver hotel and convention center is ideally suited for annual conferences of any kind. The hotel is centrally located between Downtown Denver, Denver International Airport and Buckley Air Force Base and is a short car or shuttle ride from the Rocky Mountains. Industries that are concentrated in the area include Aerospace, Military, Agriculture, Sustainable Energy, Medical, Pharmaceutical, and Technology. Also, Anschutz Medical Complex is just a few mile from the hotel and a shuttle is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Denver International Airport Hotel Denver
Denver Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing