We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice respite after a long road trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr
Ranked #83 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice respite after a long road trip”
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Pleasantly surprised at the Crowne Plaza Denver. We arrived quite late at night and we were checked into our room within 15 minutes of arrival. The room smelled a bit dingy but we did receive the last room at a very good rate so I wont complain too much. Nicely appointed, clean linens and bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamabuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    175
    134
    77
    47
See reviews for
98
109
55
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

The good and the bad:

We stayed here for two nights to participate in a conference. The hotel was nice and the room was clean. The room had no fridge or microwave. The TV was a nice flat screen. The beds were comfortable.

My only complaint was that when we arrived at 7:30 p.m. our room was not ready. We were told that the room was occupied by airline personnel whose flights were delayed. The front desk manager said that the airline employees were catching an airport shuttle at 8:30 p.m. and that they would have the room cleaned and ready for us by 9:00 p.m. I understand that the airline industry is big business for this hotel, but we still paid for a room that we were not able to get in to. I am SO glad we didn't arrive at 4:00 p.m. The desk manager gave us a $50 dollar voucher to use at the hotel restaurant, although they wouldn't deduct the $50 from the hotel bill instead. When we used the voucher the waitress wasn't allowed to get cash back as part of her tip, so we still spend another $8.00 dollars we shouldn't have had to.

Another family who had reserved two rooms had the same problem we had and had driven through the night to get to the hotel. They just sat in the atrium for an hour and a half looking exhausted. They were also given the $50 dollar food voucher.

When we used the pool we found it out of towels, although they restocked them quickly after we called.

Overall, it wasn't the worst place I've ever stayed, but it certainly wasn't the best. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iowafamilyofsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
207 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Attended a seminar/trade show here - unfortunately to get to it you had to walk a quarter mile around the building corridors - the place is huge! The daytime desk staff were fabulous, helpful and treated me as a valued guest. The girls in the bar the first night was also on par. The restaurant staff however, especially in the a.m. obviously had other places they'd rather be. As a gold priority club member I was given an upgrade - inc. comfy robe & slippers which I always appreciate and 2 complimentary arrival drinks. I was feeling pretty darn special. They've put in new air conditioning units into the rooms on the floor I stayed but mine faltered and woke me up in 76 degrees around 1am ~ they moved me to another room - inconvenient but luckily same floor just two doors down. Restaurant food was ok. Not much around to eat without transportation. I have to add that the Crowne Plaza Name Hotel is consistent through out the US it seems so far for better quality affordable comfort and decent customer service.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMJetlagged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a business conferance for 12 nights. The rooms were well appointed and clean. The staff was very attentive and the service in the restuarant and bar was excellant. Over all a fine stay. The drinks were a little pricey, but Hotel bar drinks usually are a little more costly.

Room Tip: Ask for the 4th floor Atrium view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

i came over to vist the childrens hospital and the rockey mountians the staff was very helpfull place's to vist , what bus's to catch ect also frr transport and pick up from airport and hospital bus staishion , also when my buggey got in from next flight from uk as they forget it

therooms was very nice and also lett me leave suitcase while i was at rockey mountins , we had a fab stay and join the pirorty club witch is worth joing as you get free drink ,

the only problem i had but was sorted out very fast makeing my babys bottles as i had to wait for hot water to call and take it up in the lift

free internet as well

would stay again xx

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotsexymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Mississippi
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

I was at the Crowne Plaza in mid-April for a conference. They have a shuttle that will transfer you to and from the airport and will also take you to a few local shopping areas. I had forgotten a few items and they took me to a Target (at Northfield Mall...nice outdoor mall) and picked me up as well. I would suggest making these arrangements in advance as they sometimes run behind schedule. The rooms were adequate, but not as nice as other crowne plazas I've been to. They are, however, in the process of remodeling (I think it was a Holiday Inn before), so it should be much nicer when that is complete. Since I was at a conference, the hotel catered the meals and all of the food was wonderful (except the tiramisu). At other hotels I've been to, the food choices don't change that much and it gets monotonous. I would definitely suggest this hotel and would stay there again if need be.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drn76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We booked through Hotwire for 2 adults and 2 children one day prior to arrival. Yet, upon check-in, we were told that the double bed rooms were sold out. We were then given a room with one bed an a pull-out sofa with a 2 inch mattress which was impossible to get a night's rest for 2 out of 4 travelers. A blow-up mattress would have been better...
It is not acceptable that Crown Plaza communicates availability to Hotwire for room categories that are sold out. I understand that we have to share a bed with family members but that is very different from having to sleep on a 2 inch mattress. Crown Plaza could have offered another room to resolve the problem but they refused, blaming us for using Hotwire.
Besides facing the side of the building where delivery trucks arrive early in the morning, the room was ok but nothing better than three star properties around the Denver airport. Not recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awmawm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denver
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Denver International Airport
0.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Denver International Airport
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Denver Airport at Gateway Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Denver Airport
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Denver Airport
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Denver Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr

Property: Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr
Address: 15500 E 40th Ave, Denver, CO 80239-5701 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Center hotel has undergone a full sleeping room and public area renovation, complete September 2011. Located 15 minutes from Denver International Airport and minutes from great shopping, dining and entertainment at Northfield Stapleton, shuttle service is provided complimentary. The hotel features 84,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, including an impressive 60,000-square-foot Convention Center that accommodates as many as 4,000 guests and offers planners an 8' wide x 18' tall access door for heavy machinery and vehicle displays. Additionally, the hotel offers 1200 complimentary parking spaces and complimentary shuttle service to and from Denver International Airport. The hotel has earned a Meeting Service Excellence Ribbon from surveyed meeting planners who have held events at the Crowne Plaza Denver International Airport. With the ability to fly to Denver International Airport in 2 - 3 hours from anywhere in the country and easy access on I-70 or E - 470, this suburban Denver hotel and convention center is ideally suited for annual conferences of any kind. The hotel is centrally located between Downtown Denver, Denver International Airport and Buckley Air Force Base and is a short car or shuttle ride from the Rocky Mountains. Industries that are concentrated in the area include Aerospace, Military, Agriculture, Sustainable Energy, Medical, Pharmaceutical, and Technology. Also, Anschutz Medical Complex is just a few mile from the hotel and a shuttle is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Denver Airport Convention Ctr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Denver International Airport Hotel Denver
Denver Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing