We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for pets”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #30 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, United States
1 review
“Great for pets”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The Curtis has an outstanding pet policy and showed genuine care and compassion during our stay. They made it easy for us to travel with our small dog, which made the whole experience of traveling with a pet much more pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate T, Director of Sales at The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Bill L;
So glad that you and your four-legged-friend enjoyed the Curtis! We always love to meet and welcome pets so we hope to see you all again soon!

Stay Happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    537
    174
    69
    37
See reviews for
226
414
75
748
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The location is amazing: very short walking distance to shopping, shows, bars and restaurants, as well as a B-cycle station if you want to go any further. The decor is fun and surprising. But the real star of the Curtis is the customer service. Hotel staff members chased cabs down the street for us; they offered us warm cookies every time we walked near the front desk; they arranged a town car to take us to the airport at the end of our stay (at a great rate, I might add). I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jssplsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate T, Director of Sales at The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hello jssplsn!
Thank you so much for the glowing review! We definitely know that the Curtis associates are the best out there, but we really love reading reviews like these and knowing that our colleagues made such a big difference. Please come see us again soon!

Stay Happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at the Curtis about 10 times over the past 3-4 years ... and 3 times in the last 12 months. I really used to enjoy staying here, but I think the quality of the hotel is slipping. Bathrooms don't seem as clean anymore. My toilet was not functioning properly. Live Sports on the TV were unwatchable because the screen kept freezing ... not sure if was the TV or the Direct TV signal ... regardless, it was annoying. And the elevator has duct tape holding the carpet down ... very tacky. On the plus side, the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff is better. Can't you have both .... well maintained physical property and good people? My company has a decent rate at this hotel, but it is time to start looking at some of the other options in the area.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris0329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate T, Director of Sales at The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hi Chris0329;
Thank you for the recent review; although we are so sorry to hear that you feel the quality of the property has gone down. Please know that we are nearly done with our renovations and upgrades and we will essentially be a new hotel in a matter of weeks. The carpeting/duct tape that you saw is a temporary solution so that new furniture can be easily moved into the rooms and not damage the existing floors.
We so appreciate your loyalty to the Curtis thus-far and want you to know that the physical upgrades are nearly complete and will very soon match the quality of our associates.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2014

If you are looking for something in central downtown Denver that is classy, fun, GREAT for kids and affordable considering the location...look no further! Located right next to the Denver Preforming Arts Center on Curtis Street is The Curtis! This 'fun and easygoing' themed hotel is probably one of the neatest I have ever stayed in...I enjoyed it more than the Grosvenor House in London to be quite honest. Right when you walk in, the lobby is broken up in to three spaces with contemporary but vintage styled furniture and a warming orange glow illuminates the foyer. To the right, magazines and tables; to the left is an attractively designed lounge area. The staff, every single one of them including the valet staff and Concierge, are somewhat trained to be in a delightful mood all the time right down to the desk attendants answering the phones with how they are having fun at that very moment! The elevators have funny little muses for each floor and each floor is themed. My floor just so happened to be the Game Floor complete with a a Barrel of Monkeys cutout as you walk out of the elevator and pictures of board games that have been made into works of art! I took the time to go up and down the floors to explore their names and my favorite was the Laugh Out Loud floor and it's pictures of Wayne and Garth. The 'Do Not Disturb' signs were that of a tactfully placed song as well and the floor patterns were varied and interesting. The elevator ride is a treat as well! It calls out the names of the floors as you stop at them and when you get to the ground floor, it plays Bobby McFerrin's "Don't Worry Be Happy." The entire ambiance just makes you feel good!

To sum it up, I had broken plans and was in town for the weekend coming in from being stranded at the airport with no ride to Denver (the airport is a half hour, $70 cab ride) and suddenly no place to stay. Not getting in to details...but I was not having a good start to my weekend! I asked a friend a hotel that was in the downtown in the $100-$150 price range (there was a large event in the area that weekend) and within blocks of the festivities. What was even better is that she let me in on the Super Shuttle service that took me to my hotel for only $22!! Flat rate!

When I got to the hotel, the entire experience and the way the staff, especially the manager Marie, was able to work with my budget considering the circumstances. I stay in lots of hotels and good experiences are expected but every so often you get one that resonates with a desire to come back...this was one of those experiences! I have stayed in many hotels around the country and the world and I will definitely never forget this hotel and will always recommend it and stay here whenever I am in Denver!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoAdrianStL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate T, Director of Sales at The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hi YoAdrianStL;
First - we absolutely LOVE your name!! Fits in with our Floor of Champions theme perfectly!

Thank you, thank you for all of the wonderful comments in your recent review. We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we so appreciate the shout-out to our staff - they truly are the best.

Stay Happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The downtown Denver location was great! Being able to park in the garage was nice even tho' it wasn't cheap ($25/day.) The room itself was very nice and very clean. The style of furnishings etc was not our taste. Each floor had a different theme, which was an ok idea, but the themes were odd (our floor was Pedal to the Metal.) The halls had a strong sewer smell, but fortunately our room smelled fine. The common areas/elevators were worn and dirty.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank LisaLynn61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate T, Director of Sales at The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hello LisaLynn61;
Thanks so much for your recent review - we're so glad to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and that you were able to take advantage of all of the fun things that downtown Denver has to offer. We're sorry to read that your hotel stay wasn't great. As we've renovated our guest rooms and moved various furniture pieces to various floors, some of the elevators and floors were damaged. The process is nearly complete and we will soon be able to repair those areas as well. Our engineering team has been notified of your review and they are looking into the smell that you've mentioned.
We definitely hope to be able to welcome you back once all of the renovations are complete!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Spent four nights at The Curtis recently while in town for the Craft Brewers Conference. What a fantastic hotel! I was very impressed by the level of detail in the themes on each floor and in the rooms. The Curtis really strives to take you into a different place and immerse you in another atmosphere during your stay. Service at the front desk was fine and friendly, we were greeted each time we returned. DoubleTree trappings appear in a few places, like the cookie at check-in and the toiletries, but this isn't your standard DoubleTree. I had a great experience here and would look forward to returning here in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaggyMEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate T, Director of Sales at The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hey ShaggyMEB!
We think you're pretty fantastic too! Thanks for the killer review and please be sure to come see us again soon!

Stay Happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This hotel was not advertised as being "pop culture" themed. It made the entire experience strange from the elevator to the decorations in the room. Also the lobby had a strong perfume smell that everyone in my party complained about.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Eric Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate T, Director of Sales at The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hello Eric Z;
We're sorry to hear that you didn't care for the theme and light-hearted culture of the Curtis and can definitely understand that you would be surprised, not being fully aware of what you were walking into.
We absolutely work to ensure that the feel of the hotel is communicated through all reservations methods. I would greatly appreciate it if you could please email me at kate.thompson@thecurtis.com to let me know how you made your reservation. I would like to go through the source and ensure that everything is being advertised as it should be.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Denver
Magnolia Hotel Denver
#37 of 157 in Denver
2,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Residence Inn Denver City Center
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Hotel Teatro
#20 of 157 in Denver
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: 1405 Curtis St, Denver, CO 80202-2349 (Formerly Executive Tower Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Denver
#26 Family Hotel in Denver
#30 Romantic Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to downtown Denver's refreshing new hotel experience. The Curtis Hotel, remodeled and reopened in January of 2007, features chic, contemporary guest rooms and all of the ameneties that one would expect from a world-class hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Curtis Hotel Denver
Curtis Denver
Curtis Hotel Denver Co

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing