We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you get the right room, it's a great hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown
Ranked #75 of 160 Hotels in Denver
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at the Comfort Inn Downtown for a long weekend. We checked in on a Wednesday night for four nights. The check in process was smooth and we proceded to our room to freshen up before going out about town. We found the hallways to be very dated but this can be overlooked. We were given a room at the end of a hallway. Once inside the room, we were very disappointed. The bed was a queen and was almost on the floor it sat so low. Tje linen quality was poor and the pillows terrible. The bathroom was tiny, dark and outdated. Water pressure was terrible. And the overall room looked very 70's. Very outdated. Things went from bad to worse in the night. Everytime the neighbor flushed his toilet, it was so loud in our room it felt like he was flushing right next to us. The room temperature didn't seem to work. The sink drain was closed with no way to open in (sink full of dirty water by morning from washing hands, brushing teeth, etc). I called and complained that evening and was told we could get switched to a different room but I declined as it was nearly 11pm and said I would like to switch in the morning. Without the switch, we would have honestly checked out and went somewhere else.

The next morning I contacted the front desk to get a room switch. They were very speedy about it and got us a new room. What a difference! I honestly wouldn't have even guessed the hotel had rooms like our new room. We were upgraded to a suite and it was lovely. A large sitting area, a bedroom with a king size bed and a huge bathroom. The linens & pillows were comfortable. The water pressure was fantastic. It was literally night and day.

The free breakfast offered was very nice. The valet service was great. The bellmen were quick with directions if needed. The location was great, just one block walk to the free shuttle.

So, my advice, if you are going to stay there, get a suite. If no suite, go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Suites are the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slpion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (646)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

324 - 330 of 646 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I traveled to Denver for his nephew's wedding at the Brown Palace Hotel. We didn't want to spend that much money for a hotel room, so we stayed at the adjoining Comfort Inn. When we checked in, my husband told the lady at the front desk (Charity) that he had a bad knee. She immediately upgraded us to a 1 bedroom suite without us even asking for one. Charity was always friendly to us no matter what time of day we talked to her. Everyone was very friendly, including the valet guys. Which brings me to the fact that our valet parking cost $38 per day. We called beforehand to check on parking, because we have a 4 door dually (a very big pickup truck). They said that it would be parked safely in underground parking. It turns out that my husband took a walk around the block on the second day that we were there, and our truck was parked outside in the wide open and in a lot that charged $12 per day. When we asked the valet people about this, they explained that the truck was too large, and they had stopped parking them inside. They rented this parking lot for the overflow parking. The rooms were nice, but the bathrooms were pretty small. There were no refrigerators or microwaves in the rooms. My brother in-law and his family stayed in a 2 bedroom suite, and they had to request a refrigerator for their grandson's milk. The breakfast was good, and everything else was nice. The location is only 1 block from the 16th Street Mall. That was a huge plus, since we didn't have to take a taxi to eat of shop. Overall, we were extremely grateful for the upgrade, but very disappointed in the valet parking situation. Moreover, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Corner suites have an awesome mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dandm3829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here for GABF with another guy. The hotel's location is perfect - 1 block from the 16th street mall and close to most everything else. Only had to take a taxi once the whole trip. Got a good price compared to other downtown hotels for the festival. As others mentioned, the rooms are REALLY small, and the bathrooms are even smaller. Two double beds were ok, but the pillows were pretty bad. The bathroom door is sliding frosted glass, which is good because it saves space in the already cramped room/bathroom, but pretty bad when two dudes are staying together as it doesn't block light, sound or smell.

The upper floors have been renovated and are nice, but a dramatic change from the hallways, which look like right out of Mad Men. We were told the lower floors will be renovated starting in Nov. 2013, and that it'll be quite noisy.

The rest of the hotel is what I'd expect for a Comfort Inn - decent amenities, clean, friendly. Breakfast was so-so, but can't complain since it's free.

If you want luxury, this isn't it. If you want affordable and convenient with a decent place to sleep, this is right on.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel was a last resort for our stay in Denver, everything else was booked up for the annual beer festival. We were pleasantly surprised by the elegant and modern touches in the room which was however quite small. They really jacked their prices up for the festival, $213 plus $28 for parking. This is more than we have paid for the Brown Palace Hotel or Monaco in the past. Both much better hotels. The bathroom would not be suitable for someone concerned with privacy with its frosted glass door and transparent glass door for the shower.
Shower did not drain properly which to my mind is inexcusable for a hotel charging these kinds of prices.
Included breakfast was ok but nothing special, dry scrambled eggs, sausage, yoghurt, cereals and all the usual additions.
The staff were pleasant but completely inflexible when asked for a late check out which we really needed on this stay, we have never been refused a late check out in any of the hotels that we have stayed in previously.
If all you need is a comfortable bed in a downtown hotel and the cost works for you, it is fine, but worth checking out The Monaco, The Magnolia, Brown Palace or any of the hotels close to the 16th st Mall which is where the action is.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zepkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

There are some very good things (clean and location) but these "Deluxe" rooms are way too small for this traveler...I checked in and they used the word "spacious"...bad use of that word here...the main area and bathroom areas are very tight... I'm not looking for a suite but this must have been an older hotel that was renovated...oh, and the braekfast had good intentions but the sausage and potatoes were luke warm at best for 3 days.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We were in town for a wedding and aside from the proximity to the wedding, that was really the only good thing. We had a suite with mold in the bathroom, the moulding crumbling and broken appliances. We also had to make three calls for bedding for the pullout. We ate breakfast out both days because the food on the breakfast bar was cold. The valet guys were cery friendly though! Stay at the Hyatt...it's nicer

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigrrrl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

We always strive to provide a flawless hotel experience and regret that you were disappointed with the service of both the housekeeping staff and the breakfast bar. Please be assured that your comments will be shared with the management team. We value the feedback as it helps us to ensure that any future experiences with us you may have, as well as those of other guests, will be enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here for 4 night in September. We had no complaints whatsoever. Its in a perfect location and very reasonable priced. Our room was lovely. Staff were also very nice and helpful. If we ever go back to Denver we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlebuddy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Denver
Crowne Plaza Denver
#55 of 160 in Denver
1,604 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Central Business District
Residence Inn Denver City Center
Central Business District
Hyatt Place Denver/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown

Address: 401 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 160 Hotels in Denver
Price Range: $105 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 11 million dollar renovation inspired by Colorado's beautiful outdoors brings a modern look and feel to this unique and affordable downtown Denver hotel. The Holiday Inn Express is Denver's newest premier hotel. Connected to our historic sister-property, the Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, the Holiday Inn Express features 231 guest rooms and suites, Complimentary Breakfast, Complimentary Wi-Fi, Valet Parking, state-of-the-art Fitness Center, and located in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Denver
Comfort Inn Denver
Denver Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing