We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre But Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown
Ranked #73 of 158 Hotels in Denver
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Comfort Inns are Comfort Inns. If you don't expect much you won't be disappointed The best thing going is the location, one block off the 16th Street Mall and a competitive price. The rooms and bathroom are small. The "free" Internet is impossible. We needed outside tech support to get online, finally gave up and went downstairs to the lobby where we got an excellent signal. If you try working in your room, you may be disappointed. The "full" breakfast is in the "why bother" category. Coffee weak, eggs of dubious texture, etc. The yogurt and fresh fruit were fine. Checking in and out was a chore. We booked two rooms under the same name which was "challenging" to the front desk clerk. Parking fees were mixed up, checkout dates confused, room keys dated incorrectly, etc. I have done this many times before and never had these many problems. I don't know if it was the desk clerk or the Comfort Inn computer system. Overall the best things going are price and location.

Room Tip: Ask if they know of any Internet problems with specific room or floor locations.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fredband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 635 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

I'm so glad we booked in at the Comfort Inn downtown! Blocks from where our event was, got to walk the amazing streets and meet the neatest people staying at the hotel. I have to say that the staff were remarkable and went over and above to make us feel welcome. Thank you! I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Any room! But the view from the top is amazing!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLynneWrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I traveled to Denver to celebrate my 50th birthday and wanted to stay downtown. The hotel shows some wear and tear, but was very clean. We loved being 1 block off the 16th Street Mall. The parking was a bit expensive, but the valets were professional and prompt. When the front desk person found out the reason for our trip she had a fruit basket delivered to our room. What a nice touch.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel is tall, but really nice. The staff & accommodations were excellent. The room was spacious & comfortable, with a great view. The only gripe was it is located right downtown, and they have valet service only. It was hard to get to hotel on the one way street. Other than that, it was a nice stay for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doriethefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We checked into this hotel for three nights on the 25th of July, we had requested interconnecting rooms but where told by reception that the hotel does not have these and had to have two rooms next door to each other. Valet parking was quick except for one occasion. The rooms where a good size and where clean upon arrival however after returning from our first day sight seeing I was disappointed with the maid service in both rooms, the beds had not been made properly, the top sheet was still left in a crumpled heap at the bottom of the bed under the deuvet on both beds, the pillows had just been chucked on and the duvets where actually on upside down, the bathroom had also not been cleaned as the hotels toiletries were where they had been left that morning. After returning on the second day the room had clearly been cleaned and more of an effort made with the beds but still soiled sheets where not changed. Other then the maid service this was a perfectly acceptable hotel. We did not try the free breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mutleydoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenverComfortInn, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Mutleydoggy,
We are most greatful for your willingness to share your experience. Overall we are pleased you found our hotel acceptable. We are sorry for the housekeeping discrepancies you faced, and regret any negative light that that may have cast on your stay. We have extended your comments to the staff of our housekeeping team so that we may continuously be refocusing our efforts to offer a clean and valuable destination. We wish you the best in your future travels, and hope to see you again on your next trip through Denver.

Thank you,
Brandt Ellwood
Bellwood@denvercomfortinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We decided to treat ourselves to a one day stay in downtown Denver and the Comfort Inn was one of the least expensive. The location is great, the rooms were nice although the bathroom was very small. We stayed on the 18th floor, so we had a good view. Breakfast was your typical Comfort Inn selections, but there were very few tables for a hotel with 20+ stories. We ended up having to take our breakfast to our room. We were disappointed with the staff; the valets were impatient until it came to tip time and then they were amazing. The two people at the front desk didn't seem too interested in checking us in and when my husband asked about the ice machine, they told us the wrong floor. We have stayed a wide range of hotels from very elegant to Mom and Pop establishments and this is some of the worst staffing we've encountered. You can't have a 4 star hotel with a 2 star staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room. We had one on the 18th floor and the view was great.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jubillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenverComfortInn, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Ms Jubillie,

Thank you for taking my call today and for writing this review. We very much appreciate your willingness to share some of the areas we may focus our training efforts on. I apologize that you did not feel the valets were demanding for tips and that you did not feel the front desk welcomed you warmly nor offered you the correct information regarding the ice machine. We are taking your comments very seriously and readdressing how our desk operates so that everybody feels warmly welcomed and that a tip is a nice gesture but not an obligation. I sincerely hope that you will join us again and would be honored to host you again.

Thank you again

Brandt Ellwood
Front Office Manager
bellwood@denvercomfortinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed at the Comfort Inn while attending a conference. Nice hotel, clean, great service! Great workout room. No pool or hot tub unfortunately. Good breakfast has descent selection of food including boiled and scrambled eggs, sausages (pork) and bacon - also pork unfortunately so I couldn't eat any of the meat. Yogurts, a few cereals, and some assorted breads. Juice, great coffee and tea as well.

Room Tip: Staff member Charity is amazing at addressing reservation errors!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenverComfortInn, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Rosemary S,
Thank you for your raving review regarding the excellent service and product we offer to travelers in Downtown Denver. We are pleased you enjoyed the complementary hot American breakfast we offer each morning. We were excited that you recognized the fantastic efforts of Charity to make you feel welcomed and valued. We look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you,
Brandt Ellwood
Bellwood@denvercomfortinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Denver
Crowne Plaza Denver
#56 of 158 in Denver
1,572 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Residence Inn Denver City Center
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Central Business District
Hyatt Place Denver/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown

Address: 401 17th St, Denver, CO 80202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 158 Hotels in Denver
Price Range: $160 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 11 million dollar renovation inspired by Colorado's beautiful outdoors brings a modern look and feel to this unique and affordable downtown Denver hotel. The Holiday Inn Express is Denver's newest premier hotel. Connected to our historic sister-property, the Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, the Holiday Inn Express features 231 guest rooms and suites, Complimentary Breakfast, Complimentary Wi-Fi, Valet Parking, state-of-the-art Fitness Center, and located in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Denver
Comfort Inn Denver
Denver Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing