We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor maid service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown
Ranked #72 of 157 Hotels in Denver
uk
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“poor maid service”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We checked into this hotel for three nights on the 25th of July, we had requested interconnecting rooms but where told by reception that the hotel does not have these and had to have two rooms next door to each other. Valet parking was quick except for one occasion. The rooms where a good size and where clean upon arrival however after returning from our first day sight seeing I was disappointed with the maid service in both rooms, the beds had not been made properly, the top sheet was still left in a crumpled heap at the bottom of the bed under the deuvet on both beds, the pillows had just been chucked on and the duvets where actually on upside down, the bathroom had also not been cleaned as the hotels toiletries were where they had been left that morning. After returning on the second day the room had clearly been cleaned and more of an effort made with the beds but still soiled sheets where not changed. Other then the maid service this was a perfectly acceptable hotel. We did not try the free breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mutleydoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenverComfortInn, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Mutleydoggy,
We are most greatful for your willingness to share your experience. Overall we are pleased you found our hotel acceptable. We are sorry for the housekeeping discrepancies you faced, and regret any negative light that that may have cast on your stay. We have extended your comments to the staff of our housekeeping team so that we may continuously be refocusing our efforts to offer a clean and valuable destination. We wish you the best in your future travels, and hope to see you again on your next trip through Denver.

Thank you,
Brandt Ellwood
Bellwood@denvercomfortinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    242
    152
    55
    29
See reviews for
68
182
53
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We decided to treat ourselves to a one day stay in downtown Denver and the Comfort Inn was one of the least expensive. The location is great, the rooms were nice although the bathroom was very small. We stayed on the 18th floor, so we had a good view. Breakfast was your typical Comfort Inn selections, but there were very few tables for a hotel with 20+ stories. We ended up having to take our breakfast to our room. We were disappointed with the staff; the valets were impatient until it came to tip time and then they were amazing. The two people at the front desk didn't seem too interested in checking us in and when my husband asked about the ice machine, they told us the wrong floor. We have stayed a wide range of hotels from very elegant to Mom and Pop establishments and this is some of the worst staffing we've encountered. You can't have a 4 star hotel with a 2 star staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room. We had one on the 18th floor and the view was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jubillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenverComfortInn, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Ms Jubillie,

Thank you for taking my call today and for writing this review. We very much appreciate your willingness to share some of the areas we may focus our training efforts on. I apologize that you did not feel the valets were demanding for tips and that you did not feel the front desk welcomed you warmly nor offered you the correct information regarding the ice machine. We are taking your comments very seriously and readdressing how our desk operates so that everybody feels warmly welcomed and that a tip is a nice gesture but not an obligation. I sincerely hope that you will join us again and would be honored to host you again.

Thank you again

Brandt Ellwood
Front Office Manager
bellwood@denvercomfortinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed at the Comfort Inn while attending a conference. Nice hotel, clean, great service! Great workout room. No pool or hot tub unfortunately. Good breakfast has descent selection of food including boiled and scrambled eggs, sausages (pork) and bacon - also pork unfortunately so I couldn't eat any of the meat. Yogurts, a few cereals, and some assorted breads. Juice, great coffee and tea as well.

Room Tip: Staff member Charity is amazing at addressing reservation errors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenverComfortInn, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Rosemary S,
Thank you for your raving review regarding the excellent service and product we offer to travelers in Downtown Denver. We are pleased you enjoyed the complementary hot American breakfast we offer each morning. We were excited that you recognized the fantastic efforts of Charity to make you feel welcomed and valued. We look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you,
Brandt Ellwood
Bellwood@denvercomfortinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Checked in on Wednesday for a duration of 5 days. Every single time we left our room and tried to go back our key didn't work. We went to the front desk and new ones every time. Long story short we were alerted by another person on the staff saying they have been having problems with their keys and it wasn't the problems this manager informed us about. The manager told us that we were given one day keys and had one of his "new" staff members take the blame when really that wasn't the problem at all. All in all this was a horrible stay. Also the free wifi didnt work at all leaving me to lose business at the time of my stay. I have left a message for the management staff to call me back which they have yet to do so. Never will I stay here again. I would still like to speak with someone in management or corporate.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank workwithashleym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenverComfortInn, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Workwithashleym,

I am truly sorry that you experienced the problems with keys. I tried my hardest to rectify the situation you were facing, and feel personally responsible for not being able to rebuild your favor. I regret that the sizable adjustment you received did not restore your feelings and prove how greatly we value your business and are committed to your satisfaction. We would be honored to host you again so we may have the chance to show you a superior stay.

Thank you
Brandt Ellwood
bellwood@denvercomfortinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very nice hotel, they are the same owners as the Brown Palace so the service was great. Could have had another person on duty for checking in but oh well. Room was very nice, noise wasn't an issue. Breakfast buffet was small but better than most free hotel breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELM303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Coming from the UK for a self drive tour of Colorado we were looking for a reasonably priced hotel for a couple of nights before picking up our hire car. We stayed 3rd and 4th June and we were very pleasantly surprised and impressed to find out how central and convenient the Comfort Inn was.

Reception staff were very friendly even though it was quite late at night when we arrived. We were even more pleasantly surprised the next morning when we realised that we were in a corner room with a very large window and a terrific view of Denver. The full breakfast was even included in the price, and whilst not gourmet, it was certainly more than adequate and much appreciated. Admittedly, we ate fairly early but we didn't have a problem finding a good window table on either morning. There was also a large seating area set up for breakfast in one of the lounge areas too, but we didn't see anyone having to use this. Waiting staff were pleasant, hard working and efficient and tables were cleared very quickly.

The Comfort Inn could not be in a better position for a short visit to the city. It is across the road (and linked by a covered footbridge) to the Brown Palace Hotel which is much more expensive, but it is open, and certain discounts there apply, to Comfort Inn residents. It is also seconds away from 16th Street which took us nearly all day to explore even though there is a free shuttle bus. Maybe it was because we stayed so long for lunch at the excellent Wynkoop Brewing Co!

We can't fault the Comfort Inn and found it an excellent stopover after a long haul flight.

Room Tip: We didn't specify a type of room and were lucky to be allocated a corner room. Couldn't faul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenverComfortInn, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Anne Chester,

Thank you for taking time out of your trip to write about the valuable product and the top notch service we aim to provide at the Comfort Inn Downtown. The heart of Denver is well worth exploring as you found out. It is wise to acclimate to the high altitude before venturing into the magnificent Rocky Mountains for hiking during the summer and skiing during the winter. You will enjoy the plentitude of shopping and dining provided by the highly acclaimed 16th street mall. We hope to see you back here on your next trip through Denver.

Thank you

Brandt Ellwood
Front Office Manager
Comfort Inn Downtown
bellwood@denvercomfortinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Fl
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night before and after a train trip to Glenwood Springs and couldn't have asked for better service or room. The first night we were given a large spacious suite and a week later we were given a great corner room on the 17th floor with a wonderful view of the city. The 16th street mall is only a block away with lots of great food and entertainment. The free breakfast wasn't fantastic, but not bad either. We would gladly stay here again in our future travels to Denver

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kharmannghia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Denver
Crowne Plaza Denver
#58 of 157 in Denver
1,542 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown
Central Business District
Residence Inn Denver City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Central Business District
Hyatt Place Denver/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown
Address: 401 17th St, Denver, CO 80202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 11 million dollar renovation inspired by Colorado's beautiful outdoors brings a modern look and feel to this unique and affordable downtown Denver hotel. The Holiday Inn Express is Denver's newest premier hotel. Connected to our historic sister-property, the Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, the Holiday Inn Express features 231 guest rooms and suites, Complimentary Breakfast, Complimentary Wi-Fi, Valet Parking, state-of-the-art Fitness Center, and located in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Denver
Comfort Inn Denver
Denver Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing