We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“JUST OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown
Ranked #55 of 151 Hotels in Denver
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
“JUST OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I booked through Kayak and got a pretty good rate $64.00 per night plus tax. Stayed 11/21 through 11/26/2012. The rooms are small and older, but overall clean. The bathroom hotwater sink faucett leaked the whole entire time. I had to call everyday and ask for my room to be cleaned. There was one day the maid came cleaned the bathroom and left. Didnt make the bed vacum or refill any cups. I think having to pay $25.00 per day for parking is ridiculous! Also, the hotel is under construction and I was on the 6th floor it was annoying. The staff is helpful and friendly! The free breakfast..well know wonder its free! the eggs taste like dried rubber and probably powdered, the tater tots for hashbrowns were never fully cooked and the sausage tasted like rubber and generally cold! AWFUL! they had cold cereal fruit and toast thank gosh! their coffee is awful as well! the hotel is 1 block from the 16th st mall and next door to the elite Brown Palace that has excellent coffee. I would "NEVER" pay the nightly rate of $100 and will "NOT" be staying at the hotel in the future!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    225
    144
    46
    24
See reviews for
63
167
50
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waynesville
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The good:
The staff is great at attending to your needs and making sure your stay is pleasurable. Each morning is filled with a full breakfast buffet that is sure to give you a good start of the day. The hotel is connected with the Brown Palace. You need to take time to walk into this lovely place. Be sure to eat at the Ship's Tavern. Best trout you will find in town! The hotel is located just a block away from the 16th street mall which has a multitude of stores and dining establishments.

The okay:
Because this is an older hotel, some of today's amenities are not available such as large, spacious rooms and large ventilated bathrooms.

Room Tip: The higher floors have better views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J-Birds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mitchell, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Comfort Inn in Downtown Denver is in a great location. It is just a block away from the central shopping and entertainment district and within walking distance of the Convention Center. I had a corner room with 2 walls of glass and an excellent view from the desk area.

Room Tip: The corner rooms, with curved glass, have a good deal of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Arkansas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

If you are looking for somewhere safe, with a good location, and somewhere to sleep for the night (no bells or whistles) this is the place for you. Downtown is a great place to visit. You can walk everywhere. Lots of fun restaurants, shops and entertainment. This hotel is across the street from the Brown Palace and they share their amenities. When I say across the street, imagine a small residential street - it’s that close. In a way you get all of the luxury of the Brown Palace at a fraction of the cost. I was at a convention for work, held at the convention center. One evening I had to order room service due to lack of time and it was delivered from the Brown Palace (quickly and very fresh).

The customer service at the Front Desk was very good. The complimentary continental breakfast was minimal (on comparison to other complimentary continental breakfasts I've had at other hotels I'd give it a grade of a "C") But again, this is a value hotel so it was good enough. The condition of the room was again a "C". When I checked in, one of the main light bulbs was out, there was a used bar of soap with hair on it under the desk (I'm hoping the housekeeper accidentally just dropped it on her/his way out) and the TV remote didn't work. It took 3 calls to get the remote replaced. I didn't bother telling them about the soap or light bulb. The room was small. But again... it was good enough. The hotel seemed older but, kept up with decor. Walls were thin - I could hear everyone in the next rooms - I think that was likely due to the style of hotels when this one was built. The fitness room had everything one would need, and the equipment seemed very new - I was impressed.

I hope this review doesn't sound cynical in anyway... I want to make sure to be as honest as possible for you so that when you are deciding on a hotel you know what you are getting. All in all I would recommend this hotel based on location and price - however, make sure you go in knowing what to expect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARTravelmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COHospitalityGuru, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear ARTravelmama,

We appreciate your candor with your comments regarding your stay with us. Thank you for describing the service opportunities we can improve on as well as the opportunities we are succeeding with. Most importantly thank you for your recommendation based on the value we strive to provide and our centralized location.

Thank you,
Brandt Ellwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Comfort Inn has a great location and a good price. I attended a conference at the nearby Sheridan, about 2 blocks away. As compared to the conference price at the Sheridan, I paid $30.00 a night less, got free wi-fi, and the hotel offered a great breakfast. The hotel is located about 2 blocks from the 16th street pedestrian mall. The front office staff is very friendly and accommodating, and the use of the business center was free. It also is easy to get in and out of the hotel, as opposed to having to wind your way past multiple stores to get out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
223 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here last year and enjoyed it.
Perfect downtown location. One block off of the 16th Street Mall.
Rooms are clean and large.
Had problems with the door keys but the staff was very helpful.
Great value for being downtown.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COHospitalityGuru, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Jack H,
We are flattered you took the time a year after staying with us to spread the news about the comfortable, clean, and valuable destination in the heart of Downtown Denver. I am pleased you recognized how our staff made the difference when handling the problem you encountered. We extend to you our upmost thanks for your continued loyalty and continued patronage.

Thank you,

Brandt Ellwood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We traveled to Denver for a meeting, went early to enjoy Denver. Got hotel room through the convention housing center. Since we had stayed in this hotel in the past and liked it we were happy to get a room there. Very convenient to the center of town, to the 16th street mall and the buses there, plenty of restaurants, shops, museums. Also had a shuttle bus to the convention center from this hotel - very convenient. The convention center is actually within walking distance. Hotel is comfortable, convenient free breakfast, Internet access is free. Fitness center available, but too busy to use on this trip. Husband came with me, but it was my meeting.

Room Tip: Two bed room was adequate, but on the small side. Since we usually use the hotel only for sleep it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keliautojai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Hotel Denver
Central Business District
Residence Inn Denver City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Place Denver/Downtown
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Denver Downtown
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown
Address: 401 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4005 (Formerly Comfort Inn Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 151 Hotels in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 11 million dollar renovation inspired by Colorado's beautiful outdoors brings a modern look and feel to this unique and affordable downtown Denver hotel. The Holiday Inn Express is Denver's newest premier hotel. Connected to our historic sister-property, the Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, the Holiday Inn Express features 231 guest rooms and suites, Complimentary Breakfast, Complimentary Wi-Fi, Valet Parking, state-of-the-art Fitness Center, and located in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Denver
Comfort Inn Denver
Denver Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing