We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and some really good cuisine nearby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown
Ranked #74 of 160 Hotels in Denver
Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed three nights at this hotel and had no problems. Super close (walking distance) to the 16th St Mall which is really nice and convenient. Staff at the front desk was extremeltly helpful with directions and local places to eat. The distance of this hotel to the Convention center was not bad at all. Especially since you can utilize the free bus shuttles that run constantly in the mall area. Noise outside my room was minimal so I didn't have any problems with that. One downside I will mention was the size of the room I had. I traveled alone so it wasn't a huge issue; but had I been traveling with my family it might have felt a little cramped. I stayed in a double bed room and it was definitely snug in the room; nothing that would prohibit me from using this hotel again for business trips though. The hot breakfast was just okay...nothing to write home about...but I feel its in line with most hotels in this price range. All in all I definitely would suggest this hotel as a possibility for business travel.

One side boote...if you do stay here then you should definitely try the restaurant across the street in the sister hotel (Brown Palace Hotel & Spa) called Ships Tavern. A lipttle pricey but definitely great atmosphere and food.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pandy8399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

471 - 477 of 650 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

The location is good for where I needed to be: easy walking distance to the convention center. This is the best priced hotel in this area. It's also close to the 16th street pedestrian shopping area. Front desk staff was very courteous. Free internet is helpful.

Breakfast served both cold and hot food. It's nothing special, but it's fine for me. Rooms didn't provide hair conditioner. One day housekeeping staff removed the shower mat towel and didn't replace it. Both no big deals.

The thing that bothered me was the lack of sound proofing. Every noise in the next door can be easily heard: running water, watching tv, everything. It's so noisy, it's as if there is no sound proofing at all.

I would stay here again if I needed to be in this area, and didn't have a car. It's the best valued hotel in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lowpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

If the drunk next door to you comes stumbling in at 2am, this is what you should do:
--get up out of bed and politely ask them to be quiet. They will ignore you and continue to argue in the hallway, spurting out f words every 5 words.
--pick up the phone and press 0 for operator. You will get no answer. Try this 3 times.
--turn on lights, wake up others in the room incl your 5yr old
--Read instructions on phone for calling front desk.
--tell front desk to send security (who did arrive promptly, and knew enough to stay close by to deal w another disruption)
--if you can't go back to sleep, listen to the drunks next door take their showers and argue since the noise comes through
--wait 2hrs before you drift back to sleep
--wake up irritable!

In the morning, when everyone ignores that this happened, tell the front desk clerk about it. She will politely apologize but you know it's obligatory. The mgr will not come to you to talk to your grouchy, sleepless self. Your only recourse is to write about it on TripAdvisor a week later and never return to that place.

If you are on a budget, this is a good location though others are right that it is a tiny room. If y ou can afford more, GO elsewhere.

Advice to mgr: if someone calls for security at 2am, you should try to follow up with that person before check out.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank TeacherEating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortDenverFD, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2012

Dear TeacherEating, I regret that this is the first time that I have heard of the disruption caused by your neighboring guests. I am pleased you recognized the prompt attention from our security team to deal with the disturbance. I humbly invite you to contact me personally so I may find a solution and offer you the chance to stay in one of our spacious corner king rooms or Suites.
Thank you,
Brandt Ellwood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Just returned from 4 day stay at the Comfort inn downtown adjacent to the world famous Brown Hotel. Location wise, couldn't ask for better, near great puns, The Yard, and great food, Maggiano's little Italy. Your only a sky walk away from the famous Brown Hotel, yes every President in it's 120 year history has stayed, even the Beatles. The Brown's Ship's Palace is a fun place for lunch, a bit pricey $17 for a Bison burger, but Comfort Inn guest do get a 15% break on purchases. How about an afternoon tea for $29, complete with baking fancies, musicians playing, and Mom's and daughters having a ball. Your a free ride on 16th st rail to Coors field, yes they had hot dogs for a buck and club suite seats for $35? Never at Fenway!! Great beds, ask for corner rooms for great views of the city. bathrooms are small, and it's hard to get hot water at a comfort (hmm) level. Free breakfast includes blueberry waffles, and plenty of your favorites. Skip the rental car, $$$ valet parking only, and shuttle from the airport $22 each way. Movies, shopping, and great restaurants are all walking distance. The only negative are the homeless constantly looking for dollar contributions, what happened to loose change.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nhdeejay_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Front desk personnel were most helpful -- hotel is a little dated. Overall ok for a short stay; however, the room was one of the smallest I have stayed in for over 2 years. Could barely get between the bed and desk chair to access the bathroom. Tiny, tiny

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had no idea how convenient this hotel would be. A short walk (one block) to shopping, dining, and entertainment. The staff was helpful and friendly. The price was surprisingly low for downtown. Two doors away is a great little bar/restaurant called the Trinity Grille. Sadly we didn't try it until our last night in town.
One problem we had, the hotel address is on 17th street but the parking garage is on Tremont Pl.
(which is just around the corner on a one way street) Our Garmin took us to the 17th street side.
We put in the address of 1635 Tremont Pl (which is actually a business down the street) and problem solved...you drive right to the garage.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed here for a Saturday Night in downtown Denver. The location was excellent, walking distance to everything. The price was just what i was looking for. We stayed in room 869 with one queen bed. Room was fairly small which didn't bother us. Big TV, fairly comfortable bed, good views from the room. Breakfast was hot. Plus for the blueberry waffles.

Room Tip: 869 was a smaller room, 1 queen, but had good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowsavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Denver
Crowne Plaza Denver
#52 of 160 in Denver
1,612 reviews
Central Business District
Residence Inn Denver City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Denver Downtown
Central Business District
Hyatt Place Denver/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown

Address: 401 17th St, Denver, CO 80202-4005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 160 Hotels in Denver
Price Range: $144 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 11 million dollar renovation inspired by Colorado's beautiful outdoors brings a modern look and feel to this unique and affordable downtown Denver hotel. The Holiday Inn Express is Denver's newest premier hotel. Connected to our historic sister-property, the Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, the Holiday Inn Express features 231 guest rooms and suites, Complimentary Breakfast, Complimentary Wi-Fi, Valet Parking, state-of-the-art Fitness Center, and located in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Denver
Comfort Inn Denver
Denver Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing