We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Confusing property with inattentive staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel
Ranked #61 of 157 Hotels in Denver
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Confusing property with inattentive staff”
Reviewed June 18, 2009

Stayed one night at this property and was sorely disappointed. The hotel is actually two buildings that are attached via underground walkways and it was like a maze trying to figure out where everything was...the room, front desk, parking garage, etc. While they have obviously renovated a large part of the property the pool and fitness center were not open during my visit. The day I checked in they were having problems with the electronic keys to the rooms...making several guests trudge back to the front desk for another key! My room reminded me of an old dorm room with new paint, carpet and furniture. The door to the room had been chopped rather short leaving a lot of light shining in from the exterior hallway. The service was lacking. While visiting the front desk the clerks were inattentive and more willing to answer the phone than answer my questions. I booked using spg.com and since it was a Friday night the $21/night parking charge was to be waived but they tried to charge me for it anyway. Maybe when the renovations are complete they can work on training staff to be customer service oriented. Unfortunately the property will always have a confusing layout. Liked best: location Liked least: lack of customer service at the front desk

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiledoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    864
    601
    243
    109
See reviews for
253
394
152
1,233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2009

This hotel has a great location close to the 16th Street Mall area and its proximity to downtown is the main advantage of booking this hotel. Parking is $21.00 a day and free breakfast and free wi-fi is not included. However, there are many restaurants within walking distance . Overall, service was average and did not stand out as either excellent nor poor. As other reviewers have pointed out, there is no on-site laundry so plan accordingly if you have small kids like we do. I was lucky enough to find a room at a substantial discount. Otherwise, it seems overpriced for what you get in return.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

Booked this place due to its location and proximity to the event I was attending and for the great price. The location is very good, right on the Mall. The lobby was obviously just redone, and looks very nice. It included several computers and a place to hook up your laptop since FREE WIRELESS IS ONLY AVAILABLE IN THE LOBBY! How can a major hotel undergo such an extensive renovation and not even have internet in the rooms?!! Oh wait, the front desk said there is internet in the rooms and for a fee in the form of WEB TV. Ridiculous, because when I have to work on the road, I like to do it in the comfort of my own room. The rooms look nice, and actually the beds are very comfortable, but maybe due to the remodel, many things were still not functioning right. There was no standard book providing us with basic hotel info, such as check-out, amenities, etc. The TV was difficult to work. The bathroom door did not lock, the fan did not work, and the drains were VERY slow. How can this be when everything was just redone?! Anyhow, I only stayed for one night. It was cheap and in a great location, but considering the recent remodel, I expected a better stay with things that were functioning correctly.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisverg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2009

Newly renovated hotel. The rooms were very clean and the beds were quite comfortable. We were in town for a conference at the Colorado Convention Center which was in walking distance from the hotel. The hotel is located near the 16th street mall. There are quite a few restaurants on the 16th street mall for those who do not want to spend a lot in the hotel restaurant or room service which was quite pricey. There is also a bus which runs along the 16th street mall which was convenient for a ride to the mall area itself. We got a deal on the room rate through Hotwire. If I am ever in the area again, I would definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apaloosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park
Level Contributor
117 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2009

As mentioned by other reviews the hotel has undergone a 70 million dollar renovation and it shows. Everything in the rooms are new. My only issues with the hotel are the size of the rooms. I was on the club floor in a room with a king bed. There was absolutely no room to put up my luggage. I've had bigger rooms in NYC. Not sure why they used such big furnishings in a such a small room. It might be better to reserve a room with two beds even if your single. I set the A/C to 68 degrees which was the lowest it would register. I don't think it made it below 75 degrees which made sleeping uncomfortable expecially with the big bedspread. If you like your room cold I would look elsewhere. I'm sure winter would be fine. The gym now has a lot of equipment in it which is great for a hotel. Parking is $21 dollars and the hotel does take a little getting used to because of its size and two seperate towers but there are multiple signs making it easier. Food was ok but much better choices on the mall.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fdipace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2009

The hotel is large and split across two buildings. I was in the main “Plaza” building which has recently been refurbished and as a result the lobby, public spaces and bedroom all made a very positive first impression. They look clean, modern and classy.

Good points: -
Bed was very comfortable indeed. Rooms were kept very clean and with new carpets and fittings, everything still looks very smart and attractive. Housekeeping was friendly and cleaned my room by Noon each day.

Touch-screens in the lobby and meeting rooms are a nice feature – rather like a wall-mounted iPhone (see picture), giving access to Google local maps and other information.

Location is ideal for the 16th Street Mall and many central Denver attractions. (A free shuttle bus runs the length of 16th street and allows easy access to the LoDo district, about half a mile away).

I didn't eat too frequently in the hotel, but when I did the food was very good.

Bad points –
This is a very expensive hotel. Especially business services and porter charges - which take your breath away! The Breakfast buffet, at about $17, is ridiculous. The laundry service was also very steep (apparently the self-service laundry the hotel used to have has now closed). If you are able to get a good room rate, I advise you to look for chaper sources of food, laundry services, etc. nearby. The hotel in-house ones will blow the budget.

I get the feeling that despite the new décor there are a few leftover problems with the infrastructure and the standard of service. The room’s TV, for example, was pretty poor. A large widescreen LCD that looked impressive was made virtually unusable thanks to the stupid cable-TV interface system Sheraton put in. It took about a minute to persuade the TV to turn on, and even to change the channel required a lot of in-and-out with the menus. There was surprisingly little choice too, less than even basic cable gives you. (Unless you were prepared to go for the pay TV options).

A couple of curious oversights too. There was no trash basket in my room, nor the usual folder with information on hotel services. A friend of mine on another floor said he did have these in his room. This odd omission was not corrected during my stay, nor was the extractor fan which didn’t work in my bathroom – which could have been an issue if more than one person was staying in the room.

My biggest complaint about my stay was a bad experience from my first night there. After an exhausting long flight to get to Denver, I was looking forward to getting some sleep. But my rest was totally shattered by the fire alarm system going off at 11.40pm, with a recorded voice warning the whole hotel repeatedly that the alarm had been triggered, the fire service was on the way, and to await further instructions in case an evacuation was necessary. I later learned this was a system test, but there was no "all clear" announcment at the end of the test. The warning voice simply stopped after about 15 minutes. And we are meant to just try to get back to sleep after that?

Summary:
The refurbishments mean this hotel looks great inside, and it looks the part of a top class hotel. It’s location is also great. It still needs work though, to bring the service and ethos up to standard and bring the price for services down to something more reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oceanhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountains
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2009

My friends and I spent Saturday April 18, 2009 at this hotel ... We were given a double room in the tower, and although it was a little confusing finding the room, once we did we were pleasantly surprised. There were two double beds and the room was very clean and obviously newly refurbished. Our view was not the greatest, but we were only there for one night. The hotel is right on the free bus line which takes you down to the 16th Street Mall where you can easily get to many shopping stores, restaurants and bars. ~ The TV in the room did not have the greatest picture, but we weren't there to watch tv. The beds were comfy enough, but it would have been nice if they were at least queen size. However for a one night's stay, they were fine. The room could have used another mirror - there were three women in my group so you can understand this comment. ~ There is a very fun Irish Pub in the hotel called Katie Mullins and we had the best time there! We didn't even hit any other bars ... The restaurant/bar staff was wonderful and there was a DJ playing fun old school hip hop tunes that night. ~ Denver is a fun town and if you're looking to stay somewhere quiet, and downtown but in a quiet district, this is the place. It is a safe area and there's a coffee shop nearby and the free bus line is extremely convenient! The hotel is undergoing a 30million dollar refurbishing, but we didn't notice anyone working, or any noise. I booked this room via Priceline and got it for under $90 (incl tax) - underground parking is $21 and that is a pretty standard price.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewCastleGirl218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Denver
Crowne Plaza Denver
#55 of 157 in Denver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Place Denver/Downtown
Downtown
The Westin Denver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#39 of 157 in Denver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel

Property: Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel
Address: 1550 Court Pl, Denver, CO 80202-5107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Denver
#20 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#48 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel is centrally located in Denver's financial and business districts, surrounded by fantastic shopping, microbreweries, restaurants, and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Denver
Adams Mark Denver
Adamsmark Denver
Denver Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing