We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor design & pool a disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel
Ranked #64 of 158 Hotels in Denver
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Overall a nice hotel, but the two things we were disappointed by were how far we had to walk to our room from the elevators and the lack of heat in the pool. The layout design of the hotel seemed to be not well planned. We walked so far once we got off the elevator to our room and had to do that every time we were in and out. Our kids were excited for the advertised "outdoor heated pool", however we were greatly disappointed. First it was impossible to find since it was across the skywalk to go to the building across the street then find it besides. Once there, it looked a mess as no one had been through and picked up dirty towels and the pool was freezing cold so my kids never went in.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck S, Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear siderits,
Thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback so we can improve. I am sorry that your pool experience was not a more positive one. Many of our guests do enjoy the pool facilities but it appears that yours was not to your expectation. I have asked our maintenance team to review our procedures to ensure that the pool meets the guidelines for temperature. I am also sorry that it posed a challenge for you and your family to find the pool. We will work on additional signage to make it easier for you in the future.
Please let me know if you would like to discuss this further with me, I would welcome an opportunity to apologize further on the phone. Chuck.schuringa@sheraton.com
Chuck Schuringa
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,454)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,418 - 1,424 of 2,454 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel has everything you could want, whether traveling for business or pleasure. It is located in the heart of downtown and is within walking distance of dozens of restaurants, coffee shops, bars, shopping choices, etc.

We stayed in an Executive Suite and it was nice, but not the best. The size was impressive, except for the bathroom, which was smaller than plenty of NYC hotels I've stayed in. Other than that, the only issue we had was the thermostat, as the air conditioner was quite noisy and we couldn't figure out how to shut it off.

The hotel has a full size fitness center (nicer than some actual gyms), and plenty of other amenities. We found the staff to be helpful and nice.

I'll definitely consider staying there again for our next trip to Denver.

Room Tip: Stay higher up, as this is in a downtown area with noise at times
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicagohoosier07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDenver, Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Chicagohoosier07,
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your most recent stay with us as well as the Sheraton Fitness powered by Core Performance. We believe that a great workout paired with a great night’s sleep will allow any guest to face the day in Denver. Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We hope to see you again in the future.
Chuck Schuringa, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I was here for a multi day meeting. The hotel was very welcoming, but very large and bustling. The location couldn't be better, with the downtown mall right outside. The meeting facilities were spacious and well serviced, food service, snacks etc. all good.

No complaints, nothing stellar. It works!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhapsodyinblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDenver, Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Rhapsodyinblue,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We are very pleased to hear that during your conference our staff was able to meet your expectations. We hope to welcome you back on a future visit.
Chuck Schuringa, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Couldn't ask for a better location! The free shuttle stops right outside the door to take you up and down the 16th st mall. It's a large, busy hotel but the check in was quick and efficient. We had an issue with the TV not working properly. We called and it was corrected in less than 15 minutes. Would recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDenver, Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear DesertDweller,
Thank you for your wonderful compliments on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our positioning on the World Famous 16th Street Mall. We enjoy being in the hustle and bustle of the busy city and find that our guests thoroughly enjoy how convenient everything is to them. We hope to welcome you back in the future and we truly appreciate your loyalty.
Chuck Schuringa, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located in the heart of Denver. The Yard House bar/restaurant is very good -- if you can get a table. Rooms are typical of a business hotel but a bit worn. Staff were not helpful when I tried to get the points for my reward program, but were better helping me get transportation to the airport. The rates seemed very high. There is no complimentary breakfast unless you are on the concierge floor, and wireless internet was $15/day unless you used the intermittent service in the lobby. I'm very glad I do not have to return to this hotel any time soon.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the concierge floor.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveltradealum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stay at this property at least twice a week. I always feel welcome. Especially by Yassine
and Shelby. I would definitely recommend this property! Great staff and very comfortable beds as well!!Swiming is outdoors , several restaurants on site (yard house,katie Mullins ....and zoup)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skytime99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDenver, Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Skytime99,
Thank you for your loyalty to the Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel! We truly appreciate your business and your compliments our outstanding staff. We are very fortunate to have Yassine and Shelby on our team. Thank you for your feedback. We can’t wait to see you during your next stay!
Chuck Schuringa, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed here for a conference in August 2013, for a total of 4 days. Like all hotels out there, this one has significant good and bad points.

First off, the location is excellent. Everything in downtown is within walking distance. There's also a free tram ride for those that wish to take it easy. The attached restaurants and bars are great and don't charge as much as you would think.

The bed was very comfortable and I had a great sleep. I was a little worried as sound seemed to transmit very easily to my room, but things quieted down (outdoor band) relatively early, so this never became an issue. The rooms were reasonably clean, although there were not spotless. Some of the decor in my wing (I stayed in the Tower side) showed signs of wear and the lighting was a bit dim, but this was not a huge issue. The fitness center was pretty and maintained with lots of cardio and weight machines, but there was a ton of simple equipment (free standing bosu balls, additional floor mats, etc.) which were nowhere to be found.

As for the bad, as many reviewers have already pointed out, there is a charge for wi-fi. It's not cheap either. There is free wi-fi down in the lobby but it's not that fast and can be annoying to walk with laptops and other devices back and forth. Also, there are no refrigerators available in the rooms, so if you want your own breakfast items or to take any food items to go, forget it. Speaking of breakfast, it is horridly awful continental presentation without any good choices (just pastries, fruit slices, waterry oatmeal, and OK Starbucks coffee), so you're better off walking 5-10 minutes down the strip and going to an Einstein's or similar place. Lastly, it's just a little too expensive for the package that's offered and does not have that luxury hotel feel.

All in all, an average experience that seems to be balance by both the good and bad qualities. Again, the location cannot be beat, although there are other hotels around the downtown area that may be nicer and more cost effective. If you're staying here for business or convenience, then go for it. Otherwise, just make sure to thoroughly explore other options and prices before committing to here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daredevil3181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck S, Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Daredevil3181,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our location and excellent staff. I agree, we have one of the best locations in Denver located directly on the famous 16th St. Mall located near many of Denver’s finest restaurants and other attractions. I am sorry that you did not receive accurate information; we do provide refrigerators on a complimentary basis upon request. I am also concerned about your comments regarding our restaurant’s breakfast buffet; we do offer many hot items in addition to the continental breakfast including pancakes/waffles, breakfast meats, scrambled eggs and eggs to order. If you would like to speak with me further regarding your experience, please contact me at chuck.schuringa@sheraton.com.
Chuck Schuringa
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Denver
Crowne Plaza Denver
#56 of 158 in Denver
1,572 reviews
Downtown
The Westin Denver Downtown
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#41 of 158 in Denver
1,577 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Place Denver/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel

Address: 1550 Court Pl, Denver, CO 80202-5107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Denver
#23 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#48 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range: $159 - $537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel invites you to experience the best of The Mile High City. Located on a mile-long pedestrian promenade filled with outdoor bistros, shopping and entertainment and situated in the heart of Denver's financial and business district, we're superb choice for both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Denver
Adams Mark Denver
Adamsmark Denver
Denver Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing