We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice place to stay near east end on 16th St. Mall :-)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel
Ranked #57 of 150 Hotels in Denver
GreenLeadersSilver level
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice place to stay near east end on 16th St. Mall :-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Friday-Parade of Lights and visiting family Sat-Park Meadows shopping Sunday-White Christmas at Buell Theater

Stayed three nights on Starpoints. Only hotel charges were for self-parking ($25/day). As a Gold member the desk offered us points or free internet.

First ever visit and found the underground parking garage before we found the lobby drive. Don't worry, turns out the desk will exchange your paper garage ticket for your room/parking keycard. In our experience, don't stress at the crowded parking on B3 (blue) level. Head further down to B4 (red) which was half empty when B3 was a jammed up mess.

We were placed in the tower on the 16th floor facing east (towards Capital building?). Engineering turned off the AC hot water as the AC blew heated air regardless of the thermostat setting (unusually warm WX for that time of year). Otherwise, we thought the hotel property appeared to be kept up very clean and nicely maintained. I did not see anything tore up. The room was cozy for two people and the bathroom was one-at-a-time. My wife did apprieciate the wide and deep vanity.

The some aspects of the furniture reminded me of a W style (French Quarter-New Orleans and the now-owned-by-someone-else Diamond Head-Honolulu). The bed was great though my wife did not care for the pillows. Even though there was a noticable gap under the room door, we almost thought we had the floor to ourselves because it was so quiet. And we were practically next door to the elevator and across from the vending/ice. We brought our own wheeled cooler - no fridge. Since it was so quiet, the convenience turned out to be a plus. Free-standing flat panel TV.

By day three I had the elevator shuffle figured out. From the tower elevator ride down to the 2nd floor. Walk across enclosed skybridge to main building. Ride another elevator (this one is very dimly lit inside - can barely read signage) down to lobby. Walk across the lobby bypassing the lobby driveway doors to another door that exits near the Yardhouse. IMHO the best way to get to the 16th Street Mall.

If you are in the tower, find the seperate elevators in the tower (not the ones that take you to tower guest rooms) that take you to the underground parking garage. Move your vehicle closer to these on the least crowded parking level (go deep).

There is a nice soup and sandwich shop that can be accessed directly from the tower lobby. The Yardhouse is a nice experience too. We also had lunch at Johnny Rockets down the street one block. We pretty much walked the 16th Street Mall from Sheraton to the Westin and back at least once to explore. Rode the free mall shuttle several times. There is a movie theater just a couple of blocks down the mall we visited twice.

We were very pleased with our stay and accomidations. Did not have time to try any other of the Sheraton's amenities. We may try the Westin sometime in the future (just because) but we would return to the Sheraton in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDenver, General Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear David S: We are pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and had the opportunity to experience the Holiday season in our community. We hope you and your family will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    780
    546
    212
    99
See reviews for
227
357
145
1,096
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We could not believe how understaffed the front desk was on a Saturday. We arrived around noon and waited 20 min to check in. There was no concierge at the desk and the bell hop was overwhelmed. We also had to seek out someone to valet our car. 20 min wait was ok with us. We were early and they gave us our room. The problems started around 1pm and lasted through dinner. The line to check in wrapped orotund the corner and all the way down the hall past the shops. The front desk was clearly understaffed and it just got worse as the day progressed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jocomitchells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDenver, General Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear jocomitchells: We are disappointed to hear about the challenges you experienced at check in. We can assure that that typically the process is much more efficient and welcoming. We invite you to return so we can prove that what you experienced is not the norm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keystone, Colorado
Level Contributor
337 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed here with a date and we did the Van Gogh package. Overall this was a very good value and we had a nice time. The hotel has very stifling and dry air and you could not open a window. Woke up feeling like I had slept in a sauna.

Room Tip: Bring a humidifier!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SiriusSkier23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDenver, General Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear breckbmcq: We are excited to hear that you were able to experience the Van Gogh exhibit at the Denver Art Museum. During your next stay, feel free to let a member of our guest services team know if the air conditioner is not working properly and we will address your concern so you will be more comfortable. We hope to welcome you back to our community soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Sheraton as a package deal to see the Denver Art Museum's Van Gogh exhibit. This may have been a unique situation. The value was great because the package included tickets to the museum, the room, and parking. Still, the service was great. The room was a nice king room. We were on the 5th floor so road noise was not a problem. One thing to consider is that the part we stayed in is shaped like a 'U' with the elevators in the middle. Our room was on the ends of the 'U' so a long walk every time we went in or out. The hotel is right on the 16th Street Mall and the free tram stopsright in front of the hotel. Great location, great service and, at least this time, a great value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Escarcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDenver, General Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Esarcha: We hope you enjoyed the exhibit at the Art Museum. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed being able to conveniently take advantage of the local attractions. During your next stay, please feel free to let us know that you would like to be closer to the elevator and we will do our best to accommodate your request. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back the next time you take a getaway to the Mile High City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The lobby was clean, check in was quick, room was fine other than finding an empty water bottle under edge of bedspread (not mine), and the fact that it was literally 155 steps from the elevator to my door and my lovely view was three other walls of the hotel. I was there on business and had hoped to at least see the mountains from my room, what little time was spent there. Bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows.

Several restaurants and shopping (if that's your pleasure) are easily within walking distance.
Our company used the conference room, the staff that fed us and took care of the room did a great job, and the food was very good.

Room Tip: Request a room closer to the elevator if you don't want to do a lot of walking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LovemyGSDBoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDenver, General Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Kathy H: Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your meeting and stay with us. During your next stay we invite you to request a room on a higher floor which may have a better view. We can also do our best to get you in a room with more suitable relation to the elevators. Please feel free to let us know how we can make you the most comfortable. We hope you will choose to stay with us again the next time you are in our community for business or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed during in October. The hotel is well appointed and very clean. Suprisingly little noise given it is in the middle of the city. Love the location, its at the edge of the city mall and there are plenty of restaraunts and fast food outlets in easy walking distance. I was lucky enough to see the parade of the zombies, which for an Australian was a real treat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayeseh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDenver, General Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Kayeseh: We are delighted to hear your stay with us in October was pleasant. We are pleased you enjoyed our local attractions and had the opportunity to experience a special Halloween event. The next time you are in our community we hope you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed at the Sheraton recently for a conference and was very pleased with my stay. The hotel has two buildings, the Plaza building and the Tower building, but unlike some previous reviewers, I didn't find this confusing. I was upgraded to a suite, so I can't comment on the typical rooms, but the room was clean, if a bit worn in the bathroom (which was tiny). There were nice views to Denver and the mountains from the room. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The gym was very large and clean and the machines were fairly new, and it was never crowded. It was too cold to try the pool, but it looked pretty nice.
The hotel is located right on the 16th Street pedestrian mall, so there are lots of restaurants and stores within easy walking distance. There are also a couple of decent restaurants right in the hotel. The Colorado Conference Center is a short walk away. You can also easily walk to the US Mint, the Capitol building, and the Denver Art Museum.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chestnut683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonDenver, General Manager at Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear chestnut683: We are pleased you found the hotel comfortable and easy to navigate. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the views from your room as well as many of our local attractions. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to our community again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Denver Downtown
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Hotel Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin Denver Downtown
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Downtown
Hyatt Place Denver/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel

Property: Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel
Address: 1550 Court Place, Denver, CO 80202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Denver
#18 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#48 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel is centrally located in Denver's financial and business districts, surrounded by fantastic shopping, microbreweries, restaurants, and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Denver
Adams Mark Denver
Adamsmark Denver
Denver Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing