We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Energetic Dining Experience”
Review of Elway's

Elway's
Reserve with OpenTable
Elway's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #99 of 3,001 Restaurants in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Cherry Creek
Cross street: 1st & University
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
114 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Energetic Dining Experience”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I go to Elway's often and enjoy the food. Portions are large but quite pricey. The last time I went for a business dinner, the young waitresses must have asked us 10 to 15 times if we needed another drink. Which made my associates joke that they must be getting a prize for the most drinks sold. Other than these constant interuptions; the food was excellent.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    130
    70
    40
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head Island
Level Contributor
88 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very Nice but Rare”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I hosted a party of six family and in-laws and we celebrated a graduation. Reservations are recommended. They serve number of great wines in a 6/9 oz carafe which is great. The service was very good. The main problem was 4 out of 6 ordered beef and it was served undercooked. The good news is the meat is such high quality that it was still enjoyable rare (vs. medium).

The servings are al a cart so we got some delicious potatoes and vegetables to share. The deserts were all great. Overall it is fine place with valet parking and very helpful staff. Just need to slow down and get the meat prepared right the first time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
193 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of the better Denver steak houses”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

You can always count on them to be consistant with great food and service. It is a nice location in the Cherry Creek shopping area with good parking which in itself is unusal for that area. The restuarant is deigned and decorated tastefully although can come across cold if the weather is bad.

Steaks are fantastic and always cooked perfectly. Sides are sides with nothing standing out different from any other high end steak house. Overpriced and big enough to share with one or two others.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RussL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This is much more than a retired athlete's signature establishment. An excellent menu with a variety of entrees. The steak was perfect, the service and attention matched! The entire meal was one of the best ever and certainly lived up to Elway's Super Bowl performance! A great place for a special event as was the case in our visit for the first time. We have made reservations for an upcoming special night out.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Good, but it should be for the price”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The food was good, the service was good. But frankly, for the price, it should be. Dollar for dollar, I would choose Brooks, Flemings, etc. This wasn't the best steak I've ever had, but it was one of the most expensive.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeTownsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elway's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing