We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable and noisy.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lumber Baron Inn & Gardens
Ranked #5 of 11 Denver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Waco, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable and noisy.”
Reviewed March 2, 2011

We had a very uncomfortable visit at the Lumber Baron. The room was tiny and not especially clean. The toilet is built into an old closet and is cramped and uncomfortable. The shower is so small as to allow virtually no movement. The noise from the murder mystery event downstairs kept us from sleeping well past a reasonable hour. The innkeepers were too busy with their production to give other guests any care or help. And the lovely Victorian house - which looks beautiful from the street - is tacky and crowded inside. It's a jumble of casino equipment and props for their shows. It was a lousy visit, and one we'll never make again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gordon113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    16
    12
    2
    10
See reviews for
12
97
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

First off I got a good rate, 75 dollars US. The Inn is in a decent nieghborhood and it´s easy to access downtown Denver. The owners were very hospitable and the continental breakfast was fresh and good quality fruits and muffins. The building itself had nice and interesting character. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYhitchhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2010

First, it was a beautiful home, or would be if every room and hallway didn't have casino tables, cards, and poker chips sitting out. When the owner was not too busy with preparing for casino night, he was easy to talk to and had good tips for the local area. We were the first B&B guests to arrive so we got to tour the home and look at the other rooms. Unfotunately, we were in the smallest of the rooms, and I do mean SMALL. Either of the other rooms would have been much more comfortable. Check their web-site carefully for their show schedule. We didn't know they were having a casino night the first night we were there. It was VERY noisy, luckily the party and loud clean-up were over by 10:30. The bed was comfortable, sheets soft, very quiet when there was no party. We had to ask for ice and then when we wanted more the next evening, we couldn't locate anyone to get it for us. No fancy bath amenities here. Food was OK but nothing special. My husband ate it but it wasn't to my liking. Been to lots of B and Bs and probably would not go back to this one.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
2 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Beautiful old home with lots of history, very hospitable, room was perfect with a large tv, movies, lavish bath and atmosphere. Came back later for a Murder Mystery and had the time of our lives. Breakfast was wonderfull and service was excelent. Thank you Walt.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationerIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, CO
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this beautiful mansion for our 4 year wedding anniversary. We found it on the internet, booked the room and drove from Fort Collins not knowing what to expect. As we approached the beautiful building, we were greeted by Julie, the very hospitable owner. She directed us out back, where the murder mystery event was just getting started. The acting was hilarious and it was fun and something totally different than anything we have done before. The dinner was good, and the room we stayed in was gorgeous and clean. We loved the jetted jacuzzi in the room, the flat screen tv with dvds, and the really comfortable bed. In the morning, we had a fabulous breakfast and talked to Julie about the history and events that take place. It was a great little getaway that we will be sure to do again!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ST970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumberBaron, Owner at Lumber Baron Inn & Gardens, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thanks ST970,

These are the kind of reviews we live for at the Lumber Baron! We're up very early in the morning, and up late at night making sure we can provide the kind of quality experience that reflects our workload. We're a mom and pop business- the kind that build America. Industry studies reveal the average burn-out rate for new innkeepers is somewhere around four years and I can't believe I'm already approaching 20 years of hosting guests from all over the world. The secret could in fact be the reviews. No, not the reviews on the internet- there's so much anonymity and questionable sources. I'm talking about the reviews that guests write, by hand, in our room journals each night. It reminds me that our world still has gracious, wonderful people and that we're so lucky to have them visit us at the Lumber Baron- guests just like our Fort Collins friends: ST970!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2009

This Inn is a painstakingly restored, historic mansion from the 1800s. The interior public rooms and the bedrooms are lovely. There are currently 3 bedrooms to book. We have stayed here once in the past and enjoyed it enough to return. HOWEVER, be FOREWARNED that the owners also book big events on the same nights that they have guests in the rooms. All 3 guestrooms are on the 2nd floor. The event space, the Ballroom, is on the 3rd floor, directly above all of the guestrooms. As this is a very old home, all of the floors are hardwood and there is no soundproofing. The only way for the crowd to get to the event is to climb a grand wooden staircase and then walk (or run) down the wood-floored hallway, right past all of the doors to the guestrooms and up a second wooden stairway to the Ballroom above. On the night that we checked in, Tuesday, April 28, 2009, into the Valentine Suite, the owners had booked a high school Prom-type dance for the night. The dance was from 7:00 until 11:00 pm with a DJ and loud Disco music. You can imagine the noise level with dozens, if not over a hundred, teenagers directly overhead on a wooden floor dancing and stomping and singing and yelling! There was also a welcome-type desk for the event immediately outside our bedroom door. The attendees to the event were also allowed to be in the hallways and in the public rooms downstairs on the ground floor and outside on the veranda for the entire evening. The din was unbearable and our bedroom was actually shaking. The owner was sitting on the ground floor and fully aware of the magnitude of the situation. We tried to watch a DVD to drown out the commotion, but even with the volume turned up to 72 (!), it didn't help. Finally, at 9:00 pm, we had to leave the Inn and drive several miles to find a McDonald's that was open where we could sit for two hours until we could return to the Inn at 11:00 pm. When we got back to the Inn, the noises of the clean-up crew disassembling the event overhead and carrying everything back outside, down the wooden stairs, continued until 11:32 pm. We can understand, in this economy, why the owners would be eager to book events. I am sure that big events generate much more income than booking the 3 bedrooms. HOWEVER, if the owners book an event on a night where they have already accepted room reservations (ours was required to be prepaid and nonrefundable), then the owners should have a policy where they notify the guests - in advance - and offer the guests the opportunity to choose to cancel the reservation and refund their money in full. It is a shame that the owners do not handle this situation in a responsible and professional manner. We are sad that we will not return to the Lumber Baron Inn as long as this is the way they run their business - knowing that this could happen again at any time.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bkriehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumberBaron, Owner at Lumber Baron Inn & Gardens, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thanks so much bkriehl,

I checked on that date and you're totally right. Something for sure went wrong with this night in terms of us not properly warning you of the event, or something. I'm terribly sorry this happened during your trip to Denver and the Lumber Baron Inn. It's true, our specialty is hosting events-and they're not always the quiet variety. This particular event was scheduled to be outdoors on the large flagstone patio- way away from your room and any problems. Questionable weather brought it inside to the ballroom and your night was ruined. You mentioned the policies about canceling, etc, and I'm really sorry we didn't connect. From everything you wrote it seemed like the perfect situation to give a full refund for sure. I'd invite you to visit us again in the future- reference this review, and I'll be sure to make things right for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idiot Out Wandering Around, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2009

Waste of time and money. Mediocre food. Sophomoric humor. Boring, poorly paced, Go elsewhere if you're looking for a good time.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MiataGroupie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumberBaron, Owner at Lumber Baron Inn & Gardens, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thanks MiataGroupie43,

I myself have owned two miatas and on that level am surprised we didn't gel a little better with you. Casino Night Heist is one of our most popular casino murder mystery dinner choices- but it's not for everyone. Yes, it's comedy driven and we've got an experienced cast of actors that love what they do. Many nights the shows get standing ovations from the audience and based on the increased number of shows we've held year to year since you came back in 2009, we must be doing something right. You mentioned the food and I'm pleased to report that we've upgraded our offering since you attended. We now have chef Julie Keller (my dear wife) cheffing- she's got a culinary degree from the Western Culinary Institute in Portland and the crowds have loved her monthly menu choices- check them out at our website lumberbaron.com. I know this response may be a bit longer than your initial thoughts, but I couldn't help but take the opportunity to invite you back to maybe one of our other "after-dinnertainment" choices, like our regular magic shows, improv nights, or paranormal ghost hunts! Or just come to stay the night on a quiet weeknight- mention this review, and your miata, and I promise to make your stay special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#1 of 157 in Denver
823 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 157 in Denver
1,077 reviews
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#2 of 157 in Denver
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#42 of 157 in Denver
1,554 reviews
Highland
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver-Speer Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumber Baron Inn & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumber Baron Inn & Gardens

Property: Lumber Baron Inn & Gardens
Address: 2555 W 37th Ave, Denver, CO 80211-2850
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Highland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumber Baron Inn & Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lumber Baron Inn & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumber Baron Inn And Gardens
Lumber Baron Inn & Gardens Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing