We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lumber Baron Inn & Gardens
Ranked #5 of 11 Denver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Food, entertainment and stay were great! The play was interactive and a new experience for us but really fun. The room was nice and the mansion so cool and we'll restored. Looking forward to the next stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerekE88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Lumber Baron Inn & Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 151 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

Walter & Julie Keller, who are the Resident Owner-Innkeepers, are wonderful! They are both involved in the WHOLE venture, from the murder/mystery and dinner, which by the way was TOP NOTCH, the gourmet food (for dinner and then for breakfast!), the room was spectacular, the renovations (which they have been a part of for over 20 years!), etc. etc. etc.
We were there 14-15 March....This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast, and it was simply delightful! We had the option of times for our gourmet breakfast (stuffed raisin French toast, lovely fresh sausage, beautiful fresh fruit, coffee and juice, prepared by Julie, who is a culinary expert! We also had the option to have the meal brought up to our room, but we chose the option of being seated in the gorgeous dining room! :)
We would highly recommend attending the murder/mystery/dinner, as well as staying at the bed and breakfast..... The entertainment incorporated music and film production, which is unlike most murder/mystery dinner options around.....
We are SO GLAD WE WENT!
We are telling everyone to go! You will have a FABULOUS experience!!

Room Tip: (accidentally clicked on 'excellent' for fitness center and since they dont have a fitness c...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is the first b&b that I have ever been to and I could not have had a better experience. From the very beginning Walter made me feel very welcome in this restored mansion. You really feel like you are sharing a historical experience by just staying here. Julie prepared us much better breakfasts then we could have got in any restaurant. I would book another stay on just the enjoyment of the mansion itself but then you also get a hilarious murder mystery to go with it. Whether you have a night or a weekend to spend in Denver this is the place.

Thank you Walter and Julie we will be back

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We were on a two week long road trip and stayed quite a few places. This was by far the best place we stayed. The innkeeper was fabulous, took us on a tour upon arriving and led us up to an amazing room. Definitely splurge for the Honeymoon Suite. The tub was the best part. The decor and antiques were right on. You must check this place out.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CristinaandGwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We had an excellent time beginning the minute we walked in the front door. We had a package with a night stay, murder mystery dinner and breakfast the next morning. Excellent price for the exceptional cast, food and the mansion. Would recommend for a night away fro the hustle and bustle life::))

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connell1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Walter and his family have restored the mansion to its former glory, and they have created a wonderful atmosphere for a fun murder mystery dinner in which almost every member of the audience becomes part of the action. My boyfriend and I spent the night after the dinner and just loved the old world touches in the Valentine Suite. My favorite part of our entire stay was the delicious breakfast the next morning and hearing Walter talk about the restoration of the mansion and the history of the area. Definitely stay the night if you can!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShannonColorado K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I have to say that this is the best dinner theater I have ever been to!! The food was outstanding and the cast was amazing! If you're coming to denver this is a most do. They even got my 75year old grandmother up on the stage.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 158 in Denver
868 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 158 in Denver
1,095 reviews
Highland
Residence Inn Denver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Highland
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver-Speer Boulevard
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 158 in Denver
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumber Baron Inn & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumber Baron Inn & Gardens

Address: 2555 W 37th Ave, Denver, CO 80211-2850
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Highland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Denver
Price Range: $170 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumber Baron Inn & Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Lumber Baron Inn & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumber Baron Inn And Gardens
Lumber Baron Inn & Gardens Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing