We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 11 Denver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 26, 2010

This bed and breakfast has become our special "hideaway" to celebrate big events. The latest being our 10th anniversary. The owners are wonderful, helpful, and make us feel like family. The rooms are beautiful and we always select one with a hot tub! There are great restaurants within walking distance. The neighborhood is lovely to walk in. Breakfast is always tasty and we highly recommend this to everyone. We don't even live very far away, but still feel as if we are on vacation when we come here. We have done so four times!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louiefp, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2011

Dear neetal, Hi neighbor! Thanks for sharing your most recent experience with us here at Castle Marne B&B with Trip Advisor. Thank you for mentioning that you live close by but feel like you've left town when you stay here. You really understand the concept of a "stay-cation".

Until the next time we see you have a prosperous and wonderful 2011.

Warmest Regards,
Melissa
Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (759)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

674 - 680 of 759 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2010

We are long-time friends of the Castle Marne family, enjoy seeing them, but it had been many years since we stayed at their Marne. What better way to celebrate our wedding anniversary than to spend a night there?! Our room was comfortable, feeling not like a hotel or lodge, but like home. A late afternoon glass of wine, sitting outside with the staff--that was relaxing. And where to go for dinner? We know Denver, but not always the recommended places. We took their suggestion and had a wonderful dinner at a restaurant less than a mile away.
Breakfast the following morning was excellent--not just the food, but the service, the personal conversation with staff. How often do you have the chance at home to linger over breakfast, then leave without making the bed! It makes it all so worthwhile. Thanks to the Peiker and Feher-Peiker families for what they put into the Castle Marne. They rightfully treasure it and pass on that care to customers. Thank You!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dixpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louiefp, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2011

Dear dixpinion, Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Castle Marne. We are very pleased you enjoyed your 11th anniversary and chose to share this occasion with us.

Being in our lives all these years you know what pleasure we receive by being the owners and caretakers of this historical treasure and sharing it with our guests. Thank you for being in our lives and for writing of your experience to your fellow Trip Advisor travelers.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon,

MIssy
P.S. Let's do dinner soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

What a wonderful restful experience. The Castle Marne was relaxing and left us with a great historical perspective on the buildings architecture and the history of Denver. The staff was awesome--very friendly. It was as advertised. Great people operate this place and we are making plans to attend again when we travel to or near the Denver area.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cshorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louiefp, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2011

Dear cshorty, Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our Castle Marne for your fellow Trip Advisor travelers. We are pleased you liked your stay and enjoyed the history and Victorian architecture of Denver's Capitol Hill and our Castle Marne. We are blessed to have found this beautiful stone landmark, restore it and be able to share it with history lovers such as yourselves.

Have a wonderful 2011 and come back again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Melissa
Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

My cousin and I did a girl's weekend and stayed a night at Castle Marne. The family was welcoming and made us feel at home. It was so pleasant to sit and work on a puzzle in the parlor with classical music floating through the air.

We were given excellent recommendations for dinner and they even called ahead and made a reservation for us.

Breakfast was both beautiful and delectable. The conversation around the table was diverse with guests spanning three countries and four states.

If you would like to step back in time while enjoying some wonderful western hospitality stay at Castle Marne.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seaikman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louiefp, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2011

Dear sealkman1, Thank you very much for your kind review of your stay at the Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast. We are pleased you enjoyed our dinner recommendation as well. We are very fortunate to have such wonderful dining within walking distance of our inn. The fact that you enjoyed the puzzle is great too. How many people have room in their homes for a permanent puzzle table? Guests from all over the world sit for hours working that puzzle, listening to the music and enjoying the ambience of our Victorian castle.

On behalf of the family and staff of Castle Marne, thank you so much and come back soon.

Warmest Regards,
Melissa
Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We flew into Denver from London, arriving late at the Castle Marne and was greated by the owner and iced tea and cookies..very thoughtful... Our room was one of the less expensive and although small had everything and more (sweets but no T.V) available in it... The bed (comfortable) was so high steps were provided to climb on...I was assured that no one had ever rolled off in the night !! Breakfast was a bit strange and consisted of fruit, lovely muffins and then a baked creation, pancakes, quiche which had broccoli in ? there was also juice, tea and edible flowers...I think it may have just been me because others said they enjoyed the breakfast but all I wanted was a boiled egg ?!! I should of asked ... The house and the rooms are full of antiques and interesting things to look at, also it has a porch swing which I sat in and swung in the morning heat while watching a squirrel.. The family running the B and B were all really helpful and friendly, overall a great stay..

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louiefp, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2011

Dear Jackdon, Thank you for staying with us while in the US on holiday and sharing your experiences with Trip Advisor. We know there are many lodging options in Denver, so we are pleased you stayed with us.

I am glad you mentioned the breakfast. We strive to accommodate as many diet restrictions and special requests as possible. The next time you are back with us, we'll make you the best boiled egg in town!

Thank you again for choosing Castle Marne and for telling the world about our bed and breakfast. On behalf of the family and staff of Castle Marne we wish you and happy and prosperous 2011.

Warmest Regards,
Melissa
Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

My sister and I stayed at Castle Marne for one night when we flew to Denver to see the Tut/Pharoahs exhibit. What a wonderful escape just blocks from Downtown and Capitol Hill.

When we showed up, we were given the grand tour (to include the amazing peacock stained glass window), the keys to our room, and permission to peek into any room that had an open door. The entire place was charming and cozy. Iced tea and snacks were available just outside the dining room, to be replaced later with cookies and coffee.

We stayed in the Tower Room, which was quite large and extremely comfortable. I spent the evening reading the entries left behind by previous occupants who raved about the breakfasts and the comfortable beds. By the next morning I was sold.

The bed was as comfortable as everyone raved. Breakfast was homemade mini muffins with the best jelly/jam I ever tasted, Artichoke/Broccoli/Swiss quiche, fruit and edible flowers. My sister said the coffee was incredible.

Given the opportunity, I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

(Really?? I can only give 5 stars for service, sleep quality and cleanliness?? This place deserves a much higher rating than that!)

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shel3364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louiefp, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2011

Dear Shel3364, Thank you for joining us this summer with your sister while you were in town for the King Tut Exhibit. It was a pleasure having the two of you join us and thank you for writing the wonderful review on Trip Advisor. You added some lovely photos of the Castle as well and I want to ask permission to use the one of the Garden with the wicker couch. Please let me know if that is OK with you.

Again it was a pleasure to read your lovely review and to know that you think 5 stars are not enough for us. On behalf of the family and staff of Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, have a prosperous 2011 and come back soon.

Warmest Regards,
Melissa
Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

My husband & I recently took a road trip to Colorado from Arizona. During our two day visit to Denver we stayed in a beautiful, grand old house called Castle Marne located in the heart of the city. We both LOVED the ambiance, antique furnishings, classical music softly playing in the background and the chime of the grandfather clock. We both had the feeling that we'd stepped back in time to a more peaceful era in our history. This amazing 120 year old home, that really DOES look like a castle, has everything one should expect from a fine B&B: charm, elegance, delightful, helpful hosts, a scrumptious breakfast served in the gracious dining room each morning and sleeping the night away in our very clean and comfortably furnished bedroom.

We hated to leave and would definitely recommend it to others. When we return to Denver again, we will be staying at Castle Marne again!

Sylvia

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeverlyPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louiefp, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2011

Dear BeverlyPhoenix, What a delightful review you wrote about your stay at Castle Marne B&B, Thank you for sharing your kind words with your fellow Trip Advisor travelers. We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience. From all of us here at Castle Marne, have a wonderful New Year and please come back again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Melissa
Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 159 in Denver
638 reviews
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 159 in Denver
884 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#5 of 159 in Denver
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1572 Race St, Denver, CO 80206-1308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Denver
Price Range: $212 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Castle Marne Bed and Breakfast in Denver, CO serves breakfasts, luncheons, teas and 4 course dinners as well as offering 9 luxurious rooms each with private bath. Each room is uniquely decorated with historically significant pieces in this one-of-a-kind mansion which was lovingly restored. The building is a nationally and locally designated historic landmark made from Rhyolite (Lava Stone) from nearby Castle Rock quarries. In-house wedding planner and wedding officiant can assist in planning and celebrating the romantic elopement or small wedding of your dreams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Marne Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing