We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building, homey stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 11 Denver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful building, homey stay”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Great locating- quiet, mature neighborhood but close to downtown, good restaurants, parks, and the museum. Service was great- staff were knowledgeable and helpful, daily breakfast and tea were fantastic. The house was beautiful with so much history. Our room was VERY small but it was a sacrifice we made for our large balcony with Jacuzzi. We'd probably pay a bit more next time for a larger room. The bathroom required some maintenance and upkeep. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cfeist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and all the tasty food. We also appreciate knowing when our maintenance duties have been neglected. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience. On behalf of the whole family, we look forward to having our neighbors to the north back again for another Nuggets game.

Warmest Regards,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    68
    17
    0
    4
See reviews for
116
393
61
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Our daughter booked this reservation for us as a gift so we were not sure what to expect when we arrived. As it turned out, we couldn't have found an accommodation we enjoyed more if we had searched reviews for a year. The ambiance of this historic mansion is a real pleasure and the host, Jim, is able and willing to supply a detailed narrative of the house and the surrounding area. There are many attractions within walking distance including the Denver Botanic Gardens and Cheeseman park and there are a number of excellent restaurants close by as well.

There is a tea service in the afternoon and fresh baked cookies and tea when you return in the evening. In addition there is a delicious breakfast, prepared by the staff and served in the dining room before you set out each day. We loved staying here and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Jim says "thanks for listening to me talk so much". He's pleased you enjoyed hearing the history of the house and the neighborhood. Did he tell you about Cheesman Park a.k.a. the City Cemetery?
The next time you're with us ask him to tell you the story of the most haunted park in Denver.

We appreciate your comments about afternoon tea, late night cookies and full breakfast. We like to eat, so we like feeding our guests. Can't have a b&b full of hungry people.

Thank you again for sharing your Castle Marne experience with future TripAdvisor guests. Come back again soon.

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I booked my stay at the Castle Marne B&B in the last minute on a whim. I didn't know that I was in for a very special treat. My cab brought me to a residential neighborhood and suddenly we were in front of this beautifully restored building. Turned out that is where I would be staying. The interior is gorgeous and full with antiques, interesting photographs and a flair of history. The accommodations were very nice and the breakfast was delicious. However, what really sets this place apart are the wonderful people running it as they are the embodiment of hospitality. The senior Innkeeper, Jim, has a deep and broad knowledge about the history of the place, of Denver and its people and he is willing to share it with you in the most friendly and entertaining matter. If you re looking for in-room entertainment and a mini-bar this is not your place. It is designed and ran to give you a sense of quite ,peace and calm. It feels very special. I absolutely loved it here and would definitely come back again for this very authentic experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBF_MBF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. It is a pleasure welcoming guests like you into our home. We work hard to make your stay quiet, relaxing and rejuvenating. Jim sends his regards and says you're welcome back anytime. He's got more history to share.

Until then...
Warmest Regards,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Jim was great and provided excellent customer service and wonderful history of the city of denver. They set out an afternoon and a bed time tea which was great. The breakfast was also great and they were very accommodating of my gluten allergy.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Castle Marne. We are so pleased you enjoyed afternoon tea and the late night cookies in addition to your breakfast. Jim (Dad or Poppa depending on who you are talking to) has issues with dairy, so we are very sensitive to our guests special dietary requests. It is our pleasure to have you join us and look forward to having you back again very soon.

Warmest Regards,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD, USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Found this B&B on Trip Advisor and Castle Marne so deserves the high ratings. It is located in a beautiful, safe area of Denver and is a short walking distance to some FABULOUS restaurants. There is some off street parking and it was very quiet. The breakfasts/brunches were phenomenal all three mornings. The staff was VERY helpful and friendly. I highly recommend Castle Marne and plan to stay there every time I visit Denver. It is only a mile and half from the Rose Medical Center which was very beneficial to us this stay. I so appreciated how immaculate and how well decorated the entire place was. I really did love staying here!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank celebr8life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for mentioning how close we are to Rose Medical Center. The Castle is conveniently located to several of the nations top hospitals, museums and fabulous restaurants. It is our pleasure to have had you with us while you were in town and on behalf of the family and staff, we look forward to having you back with us again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Let's face it, people choose to stay at B&B's for a reason; they are a little slice of home you can get while traveling. Castle Marne is exactly what I think most people want out of a bed and breakfast; the rooms are clean, cozy, and each uniquely decorated, the breakfast is delicious, and the staff that runs it is passionate about making your stay relaxing and enjoyable. Jim, Melissa, and her husband (some of the owners) are some of the friendly faces that will greet you during your stay. They'll share the history of Castle Marne and Denver with you, and help you with anything you need. If you want to stay somewhere with character that will leave an impression on you for years to come, this place is it.

Room Tip: Choose the Presidential Suite or the room with the hot tub on the balcony! Both excellent rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmunnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
"Fit for Royalty", thank you very much. It is guests like you that remind us of why we do what we do. Seeing the Castle through our guests' eyes renews our commitment to why we live this life, the life of an innkeeper; being on call 24 hours a day, 365 days a week. It is not the life for the weak of heart, it is the life for people who are passionate about what we do everyday of our lives. Thank you.

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Castle Marne is a beautiful Richardsonian Romanesque style home built in the late 1880's. When you first pull up to the amazingly quiet corner lot, you are greeted with a breathtaking view when approaching from either side. When you walk in someone will be there to greet you, no matter who it is, you can be sure they are polite, cheerful, and very happy to see you! As a bit of an architecture fan, it was very nice to discuss the history of the home, and similar homes built by the same architect (William Lang). I was able to learn some interesting bits of information about the house and similar houses in general. A very fascinating thing about the stay is the fact that there are black and white photos in each room, showing how it was when it was originally built. The room itself was great, a comfy bed, claw-foot tub and quiet, as we were on the 3rd floor in the corner. Breakfast was very good, and was able to cater to our restricted diet with gluten-free and egg/cheese substitutes.

It was a wonderful overnight stay, and with the wealth of knowledge, and people more than willing to share, my stay there was delightful!

Room Tip: Go for the Presidential Suite, it'll be worth it, although there is no bad room in the place, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
What a wonderful review, thank you. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, the architecture, history and breakfast. Long ago we realized we were mere caretakers of this historical treasure. Our commitment to gracious hospitality and for preserving a piece of Denver's rich history is our passion. Thank you for helping us protect this National and Local Historic Landmark. By staying in bed and breakfasts like us, you are saving our past for our children's future. Thank you!

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#2 of 157 in Denver
559 reviews
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#1 of 157 in Denver
805 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 157 in Denver
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#39 of 157 in Denver
1,530 reviews
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast

Property: Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1572 Race St, Denver, CO 80206-1308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Castle Marne Bed and Breakfast in Denver, CO serves breakfasts, luncheons, teas and 4 course dinners as well as offering 9 luxurious rooms each with private bath. Each room is uniquely decorated with historically significant pieces in this one-of-a-kind mansion which was lovingly restored. The building is a nationally and locally designated historic landmark made from Rhyolite (Lava Stone) from nearby Castle Rock quarries. In-house wedding planner and wedding officiant can assist in planning and celebrating the romantic elopement or small wedding of your dreams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Marne Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing