We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfu Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 11 Denver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 18, 2013

First I want to say that the pictures of this beautiful home do not do it justice. The place is gorgeous! Furnished with period furniture it was comfortably and restful. The inn keepers made us feel right at home and enjoyed telling stories about their home and the surrounding area. I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay so much. I must however apologize for not responding to you sooner. I am quite embarrassed. I fell down on the job last July. I'm working at doing a better job this year.

On behalf of the family and staff of Castle Marne, we look forward to having you back again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (753)
There are newer reviews for Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

468 - 474 of 753 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Louie, Missy and the staff (family) at the Castle Marne made possible a two-night romantic getaway for my wife and I. Four star dining, service and lodging... we thoroughly enjoyed our experience and look forward to returning again soon. The historic aspect of this property is worth the trip alone. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: The presidential suite has a balcony that is wonderful.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank troyyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

It was a pleasure to have you join us for your romantic getaway. We are thrilled you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, from the history of the home and friendly service to the elegant candlelight dinner for two in the private dining room. Thank you for sharing your experience with our future TripAdvisor guests. We appreciate how busy folks are so when guests like you spend a few moments to write a review, it means a lot.

We look forward to having you back again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We spent 2 nights in July 2013, and very much enjoyed the experience. Everyone was helpful and enthusiastic about their property--they really showed great interest in caring for the visitors. The owners & staff had endless stories about Denver history--even though I spent the first 18 years of my life in the area, I learned quite a bit new.

Our initial attempt at reservation was through the United AL web site (which turns out to be one of the "big names" rebranded). It failed, and created some problems trying to untangle, so the moral of the story is to go directly to Castle Marne's web site to book. Melissa at Marne was diligent to help sort things out.

There is good parking availability on the local streets, and the neighborhood is charming and relatively quiet. The house itself is absolutely beautiful and impeccably cared for.

Breakfasts were delicious, with home-made pastries and breads. Guests were pleasant and engaging over our morning meal.

I spend over 100 nights a year in hotels, and would put Castle Marne at the top of the list as a great choice.

Room Tip: We stayed in Tower room; large, nice antiques, comfortable. Drawback, bathroom is down the hall, an...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Varel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

What a lovely review, thank you very much! It is guests like you that remind us of why we do what we do here at Castle Marne. Learning that you spend over 100 nights a year in hotel rooms and that you rank us up at the top of your favorites is very humbling. We love our life and are thrilled to share the Castle with thousands of guests a year. We appreciate knowing that you think so highly of us.

I mentioned this in a previous response to another TripAdvisor review, but it applies to you as well. Thank you for arriving as guests and leaving as friends. We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are traveling through Denver.

Sincerely,

Melissa and the whole "fam damily"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had the most incredible stay at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast. The history,accommodations ,
staff, service, tea, breakfast--all Wonderful. We can't wait to go back. We live in Colorado Springs and even tho' it's close, it's well worth finding an excuse to go back. The building, itself is beautiful and very well kept. Enjoyed getting a tour of the grounds and the historical buildings on the same block.

Room Tip: Since our daughter was with us, we enjoyed the Holland room (a suite) and we like being on 1st floor...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margecards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Spike and Marge, Thank you for sharing your thoughts with future TripAdvisor guests. Checking into Castle Marne can be like stepping back into another time no matter how far away you've traveled to get here. Enjoying Afternoon Tea in the Victorian Parlour, meeting new guests over breakfast, talking with the family about the best dining in the city or working the puzzle, Castle Marne envelops you in warmth and timeless hospitality. Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to having you back again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Melisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights in the Raymond Room at Castle Marne. They are honest on their website that the Raymond room is small, but this is made up for by the ample private deck with hot tub, table, and chairs. Despite its small size, the room itself is comfortably decorated and includes a private bath and a small closet.

Breakfast each morning was delicious. Guests are given the choice of two seating times and everyone dines together in the dining room. We had a wonderful time meeting other guests of the inn. The breakfasts themselves were very good and had a nice variety. In the afternoon, there was iced tea and a variety of sweet treats for tea. My husband and I took advantage of this every afternoon as well as completing a puzzle in their front parlor. It was nice down time each day.

The owners and other workers in the inn were very kind and informative. They were able to give us suggestions on places to go as well as directions to the places we already intended on visiting. The inn was conveniently located to major highways as well as to downtown Denver attractions. We would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebonasakvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast. We are so pleased you enjoyed your three days with us. Thank you for mentioning the size of the Raymond room. It is indeed small, but the large balcony with the private hot tub makes up for the small room and double bed.

They next time you are with us, consider choosing the Van Cise Room. It also has a private balcony with the hot tub, but the bedroom is larger and the bed is a queen.

On behalf of the family and staff of Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, thank you for staying with us. We have a saying here, folks arrive as guests and leave as friends. Come back and see us again soon, friends.

Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Castle Marne for 3 nights last March and, although we're just getting around to praising them now, it's never too late to describe what a wonderful experience it was. The house itself is beautiful and interesting, with antiques, as well as reading material, that evoke Denver's past and make for fascinating browsing. The owners are friendly, knowledgable, and entertaining. They know the city well and will gladly help direct you to the places and events that most meet your interests. The breakfasts were excellent and the family will help direct you to great eating experiences at nearby restaurants. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

How wonderful to hear from you, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. It is our pleasure to share our Castle and the great things to do in Denver with our guests. There are so many things to see and do here that there is never enough time for it all. The family loves to recommend our favorite restaurants, museums and special attractions. We are thrilled when our guests enjoy them too.

The next time you are in Denver we'll find other great places to share with you.

Until the next time you are with us...

Warmest Regards,
Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Castle Marne Bed and Breakfast is a beautifully restored home in the historic district of Denver. It's close to Downtown Denver and surrounded by some beautiful turn of the century homes. There are plenty of cafes and small intimate restaurants within walking distance. The staff is extremely friendly and loves to engage with their guests. They truly pay attention to their guests' needs and add little details around the property as was customary during that era. My adult kids stopped by one night and were totally engrossed in a View Master that was in the sitting area. Food was amazing as was the hospitality. I had seen this property during several visits with my son who live a few blocks away so as a birthday gift to my husband and I he bought a gift certificate for us. We stayed in the smaller "Melissa Room" which was charming. This was our first time at a Bed & Breakfast and we would definitely return again. Thank you again to owners as you really made our couple of days at your home both interesting and welcoming.

Room Tip: Next trip I would upgrade to one of the larger rooms as the shower in the Melissa room was quite com...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KZelasko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

What a lovely review, thank you! We are so glad we could be your "home-away-from-home" while you were visiting your son just down the block from us. It is very common to have parents stay with us while seeing family here in town.

About that View Master, isn't it fun? The older antique stereopticons are interesting too. Before television this is how people entertained themselves. It's like stepping back in time, sitting in our Victorian Parlour, sipping tea and nibbling on homemade shortbread looking at photos taken over a century ago thru a 3-d stereopticon.

Please thank your son for us for treating you to the gift certificate to stay with us. We look forward to having you back with us the next time you are in town.

Warmest Regards,
Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 158 in Denver
620 reviews
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 158 in Denver
867 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 158 in Denver
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1572 Race St, Denver, CO 80206-1308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Denver
Price Range: $213 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Castle Marne Bed and Breakfast in Denver, CO serves breakfasts, luncheons, teas and 4 course dinners as well as offering 9 luxurious rooms each with private bath. Each room is uniquely decorated with historically significant pieces in this one-of-a-kind mansion which was lovingly restored. The building is a nationally and locally designated historic landmark made from Rhyolite (Lava Stone) from nearby Castle Rock quarries. In-house wedding planner and wedding officiant can assist in planning and celebrating the romantic elopement or small wedding of your dreams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Marne Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing