We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Property Amazing Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 11 Denver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Temecula, California, United States
1 review
“Beautiful Property Amazing Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Castle Marne Bed and Breakfast is a beautifully restored home in the historic district of Denver. It's close to Downtown Denver and surrounded by some beautiful turn of the century homes. There are plenty of cafes and small intimate restaurants within walking distance. The staff is extremely friendly and loves to engage with their guests. They truly pay attention to their guests' needs and add little details around the property as was customary during that era. My adult kids stopped by one night and were totally engrossed in a View Master that was in the sitting area. Food was amazing as was the hospitality. I had seen this property during several visits with my son who live a few blocks away so as a birthday gift to my husband and I he bought a gift certificate for us. We stayed in the smaller "Melissa Room" which was charming. This was our first time at a Bed & Breakfast and we would definitely return again. Thank you again to owners as you really made our couple of days at your home both interesting and welcoming.

Room Tip: Next trip I would upgrade to one of the larger rooms as the shower in the Melissa room was quite com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KZelasko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
What a lovely review, thank you! We are so glad we could be your "home-away-from-home" while you were visiting your son just down the block from us. It is very common to have parents stay with us while seeing family here in town.

About that View Master, isn't it fun? The older antique stereopticons are interesting too. Before television this is how people entertained themselves. It's like stepping back in time, sitting in our Victorian Parlour, sipping tea and nibbling on homemade shortbread looking at photos taken over a century ago thru a 3-d stereopticon.

Please thank your son for us for treating you to the gift certificate to stay with us. We look forward to having you back with us the next time you are in town.

Warmest Regards,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    68
    16
    0
    4
See reviews for
115
389
61
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I went to the Castle Marne for a quick one night stay in February and was probably one of the best parts of our trip. The place itself is an old castle that is just beautiful. The location is right by the capital building so you can get your tourist activities in. It's family owned and this family is the definition of hospitality. Greeting us with a warm smile and making sure we were comfortable. They offer tea and cookie time, and breakfast is outstanding. It was a nice night to do a puzzle and relax by the fireplace.
The room we were in was fairly small, but was very beautiful. I would recommend staying here for a nice get away from reality, it reminds you what's really important in life.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodlady_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your "Castle" memories from February with future TripAdvisor travelers. Since you were here during the winter, we invite you to come back this summer to see the rose gardens in full bloom, they are breath taking!

Describing yourself as a "foodie" in your email address, we are glad you enjoyed our tea, cookies and breakfast. Creating menus that are delicious, beautiful to the eye and appeal to all our guests can be a challenge. We are thrilled when we receive reviews about how tasty our breakfasts are.

On behalf of the whole family, thank you again for your review and we look forward to having you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Castle Marne our last few nights of our trip and were extremely pleased with everything about the B & B! Lou and Melissa, the owners, were very friendly and accommodating and they have a great staff that assists them.The breakfast experience at the Castle Marne was so enjoyable! We loved chatting with the other guests and getting to know everyone. And, not to mention, the wonderful breakfast we savored every morning!! I am an avid runner and every morning I was able to run a few blocks from the B & B to the City Park and get a nice, long run in at the Park, which is home to the Denver Zoo and the Denver Museum of Nature & Science. The B & B also has a nice courtyard area and serves snacks & teas every evening. Thanks Lou & Melissa for a terrific stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
How thoughtful of you to write this review. Thank you! The Castle is so convenient to many attractions, including our beautiful City Park. It has great running paths around the lake and park with wonderful views of the Rockies to the west of the city. As far as your kind words about my husband and me, we can't do what we do here without the whole family and our great staff. On behalf of all of us here at Castle Marne, thank you very much. We take great pride in making our guests stay a memorable one.

Please come back soon.

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I booked two nights at Castle Marne in late May this year as a break from chain hotels during a two week, five city trip, and I am so glad I took the break!

From arrival to departure the whole family offered me superb hospitality and friendly advice and conversation and I was made to feel very welcome indeed.

The room was comfortable, as well as beautifully presented and decorated like the rest of the hotel. Both my breakfasts were substantial, delicious and freshly cooked and served - a real personal touch.

More generally, the hotel is not far from transport links to downtown Denver and beyond, and only 20 minutes walk from the 16th St Mall - so a good base for getting around too.

I would definitely book again if I return to Denver- thanks for the warm welcome!

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank mose_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for joining us two nights out of your whirlwind trip across the US. We trust the rest of your trip was as pleasant as you say the Castle was. We appreciate guests from abroad sharing their thoughts with future TripAdvisor guests. It is always a pleasure to have an international crowd around the breakfast table. This morning we had two couples from Germany, a couple from Denmark, two folks from Ecuador, one from Argentina and one from Mexico. That's not counting the Americans here as well. The conversations were lively and interesting.

Having wonderful guests from around the world and just around the corner stay with is just another reason my family love what we do. Thank you for staying with us and thank you for sharing your experience with others.

Warmest Regards,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

I can't decide which I liked better: the lovingly restored beautiful old home, or the warm, welcoming, friendly family who run it. Castle Marne is a beautiful old property, restored and converted into a BnB. The rooms vary in size and amenity - I stayed in a tiny little room that might have been a bit squeezy for more than one, but it was perfect for me. Everything is clean and comfortable and has been put together beautifully. The breakfasts are delicious, and the afternoon teas are a wonderful idea; not only are there several varieties of tea, but the hosts prepare gorgeous little slivers of shortbread (which I was informed are called 'petticoat tails' when cut into thin triangles!) and petit fours. The hosts are friendly and welcoming, and encourage just enough conversation and mixing between their guests, but without being overwhelming. The neighbourhood is lovely and there are some great dining options nearby. You're not far from downtown, via bus or cab (or even a walk). This was a great place to stay in Denver!

Room Tip: It depends on how luxurious you feel - ask for a larger room if you feel you need more space, and so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EzzyOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
What a lovely review of your stay with us here at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast. Our family loves sharing our "Castle" with folks from all over the world. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned in your review, the Castle Marne is run by a family. There are 3 generations of us here, each quick to share some history of the inn or make dining recommendations. We love what we do and love our neighborhood. We are very fortunate to be so conveniently located near so many great restaurants and exciting things to do.

We are also pleased you enjoyed the shortbread petticoat tails. We make everything fresh and from scratch. Keep our cookbook in mind if you want to give someone a great gift. Let us know you want one and we'll ship it right off to you.

On behalf of the whole "fam damily", come back and see us again soon.

Warmest REgards,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

My cousin suggested the Castle Marne for our one night stay in Denver. We'd hoped to do some sight seeing, but stayed longer in Colorado Springs, so arrived just in time for check-in. The inn-keepers guided us to their home via my cell phone and gave us a tour when we arrived. The afternoon tea was delightful, and enabled us to meet other guests. Our bed was wonderfully comfortable and I enjoyed the hot tub on the deck, though next time I'd choose a larger room. (If we return to Denver, we WOULD stay at Castle Marne.) The breakfast was top notch, so healthy. Everyone, the families who own and run Castle Marne and the friends who work there were welcoming, friendly, and so helpful. The house is a treasure. We found good restaurants within walking distance. Yes, do stay at Castle Marne.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us your last night in Colorado. We are pleased you enjoyed everything. Isn't that hot tub wonderful? What a treat to sit under the stars in your private hot tub on your private balcony and let the hot water and bubbles relax you after a busy day of sightseeing.

Please remember that you are always welcome back at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our stay overall was good. the service was excellent and we were made to feel very welcome. The food at breakfast was very good and the portions were very filling. We stayed in the smallest room and the bed was squeaky and uncomfortable. The shower was tiny, but that matches the whole room. I would recommend the place overall, but not that room!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CO M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our Castle Marne. We appreciate hearing from our guests and make every effort to resolve issues. Thank you for letting us know that there is a squeaky and uncomfortable bed. Please let us know which room you stayed in so we can fix it. It would be our pleasure to send you a gift certificate towards another stay.

On behalf of the family and staff of Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, the more we know about our guests concerns the better we can guarantee a relaxing and comfortable stay. At your earliest convenience please get back with us.

Thank you again for alerting us of this issue. We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Warmest Regards,
Melissa
Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast
1572 Race St.
Denver, Colorado 80206
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 156 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 156 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 156 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#40 of 156 in Denver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast

Property: Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1572 Race St, Denver, CO 80206-1308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Castle Marne Bed and Breakfast in Denver, CO serves breakfasts, luncheons, teas and 4 course dinners as well as offering 9 luxurious rooms each with private bath. Each room is uniquely decorated with historically significant pieces in this one-of-a-kind mansion which was lovingly restored. The building is a nationally and locally designated historic landmark made from Rhyolite (Lava Stone) from nearby Castle Rock quarries. In-house wedding planner and wedding officiant can assist in planning and celebrating the romantic elopement or small wedding of your dreams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Marne Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing