We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 11 Denver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were in town for a workshop and had the pleasure of staying at the lovely Castle Marne. The history of this B&B is fascinating--a lot of hard work and love clearly went into creating what feels like a home away from home. The environment is conducive to both socializing and privacy, with the comfortable living area for visiting with other guests, or the option of retiring to the guest rooms which are private and quiet. The hosts were kind, interested, and attentive, and clearly dedicated to the comfort of their guests. Breakfast was delicious and the afternoon tea, snacks, and cookies were an added bonus!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
What a gracious review. Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our Castle. We are perfect for romantic get-aways, individual business travelers and groups who rent the whole house. Our family is dedicated to excellent guest service, so we are pleased when guests share their stories with future TripAdvisor travelers. You and your group are welcome anytime. We look forward to having you back again someday soon.

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    68
    16
    0
    4
See reviews for
115
392
61
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Whether it is a romantic get away, or a wish to unwind and escape for a night or two, or being in town for a business trip....the Castle Marne B&B is THE place to stay! The hosts are welcoming and it truly feels like you become part of the family. The rooms are all beautiful, the food scrumptious and the atmosphere is a far cry from the cold, impersonal hotels we are all used to. Sitting in the parlor enjoying cookies and tea before bed time soothes any of the stressors you may have brought into the home. We had a group of folks in town for a Digital Story workshop held at the Lighthouse just a few houses up so had the B&B to ourselves. It made for a strong bonding experience and the hosts allowed us the space to get to know each other creating a safe emotional zone to optimize the experience.
There are lots of great restaurants in walking distance and any of the family members can make recommendations (especially little Liz!).
Thank you for a memorable 3 night stay and plan on returning with my husband some day too.

Room Tip: Best to review the web site as each room as a distinct personality. There is one room (I can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovinlife57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
It was such a pleasure having your group join us for three days. The Castle Marne is a safe and healing place, perfect for finding your muse. Over the last 2 years of hosting Digital Story Workshop participants, it quickly became clear that the personal and deep inner work necessary to finish the process requires a quiet and supportive environment like the Castle Marne Bed and Breakfast. We are pleased and proud to have become the perfect place for you and your colleagues to bond and finish your work.

As far as great restaurants in the neighborhood, I'll let Liz know that you enjoyed her recommendations. She's our in-house "foodie".

On behalf of the whole family, we look forward to having you back again soon.

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washingtonville, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

While the reason for my trip was for a funeral, the gracious hosts made us feel so happy. Decor is Victorian, yet comfortable. Great care and attention goes into the details of the decor and the hospitality. The other guests were very friendly and relaxed and I attribute that to the kindness and comfortable atmosphere provided by the hosts. The beds were very comfortable too! Location is excellent- quiet street yet walking distance to nice selection of restaurants. Owners were great help with suggestions. Can even walk to downtown Denver if you are a good walker. I hope to come back again one day!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We are sorry for the reason you were staying with us. Please accept our sympathies for your loss. There are many reasons travelers find us. For each and every reason we are always eager to meet and exceed expectations. We trust that the next time you are coming through Denver you will stay with us again.

Warmest Regards,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Thank you Castle Marne for a lovely one night stay. My husband and I had a last minute trip to Denver and wanted a cozy place to stay with little fuss. The B&B felt like home. we loved hearing CPR Classical music in the living room, and seeing other guests putting puzzles together while sipping Celestial Seasonings tea in the evening. We are in our mid-30's and appreciated a little home a way from home in lieu of a sterile hotel room. The room we stayed in was small but for 2 people and a full itinerary in town it didn't matter. Castle Marne is walking distance to lots of fun places including Vine Street Pub, Tattered Cover and Twist and Shout record store. The complimentary breakfast adds value to your stay, and you get to visit with the family. We'll stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
What a great review! Thanks for sharing your thoughts with future TripAdvisor guests. We have had 24 years to perfect the feeling of "home". Afternoon tea, late night cookies and the full breakfast are family recipes, prepared with care and love. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the whole ambience. Castle Marne is where you step through our doors and step back in time. A time where working the puzzle is not rushed, where sipping a cup of tea is a pleasure and where you savor every bite.

On behalf of the Peiker and Feher-Peiker families, we look forward to having you back again soon.

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette, Wyoming
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

After 2 days of keeping up with my 20-something daughter and her friend at Winter Park, my husband and I needed some serious pampering. Thanks to friends who spent their honeymoon at Castle Marne 23 years ago, we spent a most lovely evening at this amazing Victorian B & B. From afternoon tea to a soothing night's sleep and hearty breakfast of quiche and rosemary bread, we were pampered royally. What a delightful experience! We plan to come back in the summer or fall to enjoy some relaxation on the beautiful verandas.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your gracious review of the Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast. It is our pleasure to "pamper" our guests while they are with us. Please send our thanks to your friends who stayed with us 23 years ago. Word of mouth is the best advertising! Give us a call when you are ready to book your next visit to Denver. Jim's stunning rose gardens are the perfect place to enjoy your afternoon tea.

On behalf of the family and staff of Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, it is guests like you that make what we do so gratifying. Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Imagine waking up in a beautiful castle built in the 1800s and starting a day with warm almond muffins and mushroom and spinach quiche, not to even mention the fresh plum and cherry jam...

Castle Marne made my dream come true, with a big smile.

My mom and I stayed in the Lang Room for 3 nights about 2 weeks ago, at the beginning of our around-the-country trip. We didn't plan for much in Denver, but our experience at the Castle made us fall in love with the city. Besides the convenient location and delicate decoration of the Castle, one thing that we enjoyed the most was talking with Jim and Diane, the owners who picture happy and heartful grandparents for me.

We were introduced to Castle Marne by friends who had stayed there before, and will recommend the place to all friends visiting Denver, wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shifei H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
So glad you enjoyed our Castle and our city. Denver is an exciting and fun place to visit and live. We look forward to the next time you are back in town. JIm and Diane send their regards and are thrilled you loved the almond muffins; they are Diane's favorite! Thank you for sharing your Castle Marne experience with future TripAdvisor travelers. Warmest regards from the whole Peiker, Feher-Peiker family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband and I have been to Castle Marne in the summer time for a two night stay. What a beautiful way to spend a weekend for an anniversary. We had the room with the indoor tub and a great balcony overlooking the front of the castle. We were close enough to walk to Il Posto for dinner. After dinner, we shared wine on the balcony where the fragance of the flowers enveloped the light breeze, the sky was clear, and oddly enough, it was fairly quiet although close to busy intersections. The breakfast served the following morning was by far the best breakfast we have ever tasted. The company was good. It really is a splendid place and an excellent B&B!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
WOW! What a great way to paint pictures of what you were able to experience. It seems like you really had your senses heightened by just getting to relax. Thank you for staying with us and saying such beautiful words. We sometimes forget what a great oasis we are right in the middle of the city. We look forward to seeing you as the flowers are back in bloom. I will make sure to get some more pictures of flowers up also. I wish I had SMELL-A-Vision . ;)
Louie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#40 of 157 in Denver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast

Property: Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1572 Race St, Denver, CO 80206-1308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Castle Marne Bed and Breakfast in Denver, CO serves breakfasts, luncheons, teas and 4 course dinners as well as offering 9 luxurious rooms each with private bath. Each room is uniquely decorated with historically significant pieces in this one-of-a-kind mansion which was lovingly restored. The building is a nationally and locally designated historic landmark made from Rhyolite (Lava Stone) from nearby Castle Rock quarries. In-house wedding planner and wedding officiant can assist in planning and celebrating the romantic elopement or small wedding of your dreams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Marne Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing