We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bed & Breakfast in Denver”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 11 Denver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 2, 2013

2/1/2013- had a great stay at Castle Marne, beautiful setting in capitol Hill, wonderful service, friendly atmosphere, incredible woodwork and architecture. Lovely private hot tub on private balcony, great breakfast!!!!

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful, any one is a great choice
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda N Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with everyone. It helps others to know when you stay that you were able to see the house, enjoy its history and relax all at the same time. THe family looks forward to seeing you again soon. Don't forget August 1st!
Always the best,
Louie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (753)
There are newer reviews for Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

513 - 519 of 753 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed in the Van Cise room and had a wonderful time, close to great restaurants and night life as well. The private hot tub on our balcony was amazing, very quiet and peacful. The following morings breakfast was terrifc. The carrot and pineapple muffins were absolutely extremely delicious, definitley recommend them. I highly recommend staying at the Castle Marne if you are looking for a friendly, professional and the best of the best bed and breakfast out there. The whole family is wonderful and they make you feel as if you are their family.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawrence0111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Did you realize that the carrot and pineapple muffin is Jim's favorite recipe too? He created the recipe and he makes it all the time. A few years back another TripAdviser guest reviewed the muffin like you did. He'll get a big head if guests keep raving about them. No, I'm just kidding.

Let us know if you'd like the recipe. We're re-printing our cookbook and are adding it for this next printing.

Did anyone mention that your room, the Van Cise room was originally the Ladies Upstairs Parlour? Today it is one of our most popular rooms. Even if it didn't have the fabulous private hot tub on the private balcony, it's a beautiful room.

Thank you again for sharing your review. We are pleased and proud to share our Castle with guests like you. Please come back again soon.

Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Had the pleasure of staying at the Castle Marne for two nights with my girlfriend, and we are looking forward to a return visit in the near future hopefully! Everyone was very friendly and accommodating, including helping with dinner reservations to a packed nearby restaurant. It is such a relaxing spot in the middle of a city, I very highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay at Castle Marne. We are pleased that we were able to get you a table in a crowded restaurant nearby too. Over the 25 years we've been here, we've established very good relationships with our area restaurants. They are always very good to our guests.

Please let us know when you are ready to come back and see us again. We'll be happy to help you pick the perfect room. Give our regards to your girlfriend as well.

On behalf of the family and staff of Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, thank you for sharing your review with future TripAdvisor guests.

Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed 3 nights at the Castle Marne in the Melissa room. The location is perfect-I was able to walk to downtown and Capitol Hill . Great nearby restaurants recommend by the owners include Vine Street Brewery and Il Posto. I really enjoyed how friendly the owners are. The whole family takes the time to get to know you and make your stay as pleasant as possible. I enjoyed the evening cookies and afternoon tea. The breakfast each morning was awesome! Homemade muffins, quiche and fresh fruit.

I would highly recommend Castle Marne if you want proximity to the city but more personalized attention.

Room Tip: The Melissa room faces Race street. There is some street noise but it's a bargain pricewise with...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sumank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your three days with us in the Melissa room,. I'm Melissa, the room is named after me. I'm the daughter in this 3 generation family business. My folks, Jim and Diane saved everything from my childhood.
When we were furnishing and naming the rooms, we were sure to name a room after every owner who once lived here. The smallest room in the house ended up with my antique dresser, framed prints, my antique clock and other things, making the naming of the room very easy.

I'll pass along your wonderful comments about the Vine Street Pub and Il Posto to those owners as well. We are fortunate to be located so conveniently to great dining, museums and downtown.

Please let us know when you'll be passing through Denver again. We'll be sure to have afternoon tea out and ready for you.

Warmest Regards,
Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

the inside is just as impressive as the outside. the staff was wonderful and afternoon tea was a delight. next time however, I will ask what is for breakfast. we were dining with vegetarians and their request applied to the whole meal. made me sad because I love my meat. it is fine if they don't, but I would have liked the option.

Room Tip: get one with a hot tub on the deck. there are three! one of them is a two seater.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie19_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Thank you so much for joining us and sharing your thoughts regarding the Castle Marne B&B. We appreciate your comments about breakfast.

Years ago when we were putting in our commercial kitchen, we bumped up against so many health code and historic landmark restrictions that it was determined we could not fry any breakfast meat. Not having a grease trap or fire suppression hood, we opted to make the most delicious vegetarian breakfast in town. Most guests request a vegetarian breakfast anyway. We strive to offer so many other tasty items that most guests don't even realize there was no bacon.

Once in a while someone notices. We apologize and are glad that you enjoyed everything else about the Castle Marne. We trust you will be back again someday soon.

Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

A wonderful urban oasis, a lovely and quite filling breakfast, hosts who are attentive without being overbearing, and a beautiful renovated "castle" in a vibrant walkable community near City Park and downtown. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidStrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

We love business travelers who go out of their way to find a special bed and breakfast instead of a typical cookie cutter hotel room while on the road. We enjoy getting to know you, recommending restaurants and offering a stress free lodging experience while you are in town for work. On behalf of B&B owners everywhere, thank you!

We look forward to having you back again soon.

Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The Marne owners and staff are so warm, knowledgeable and friendly. It feels like home, only with superior service and good conversation among guests and personnel--only if you so choose. We stay there as often as we can when in Denver, and we look forward to those stays every time. The delicious breakfasts are a highlight of the day,with no need for lunch! Tea in the afternoon is a welcome respite. We never are disappointed with our time there and no matter how many ties we go, we find it hard to leave when it is time to go home. We know that your stay at the Castle will be as special as ours always is--Come and Enjoy!

Room Tip: The rooms a lovely. The Presidential Suite has a special inside tub.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank and Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

What high praise for Afternoon tea!! Thank you for the lovely comparison to the Brown Palace High Tea. We are truly thrilled.

You are giving your grand daughters a great gift, the gift of appreciating the art of tea. I found a special quote from Henry James on the subject. Hope you enjoy it as much as we do.

"There are few hours in life more agreeable than the hour dedicated to the ceremony known as afternoon tea". Henry James

Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 158 in Denver
620 reviews
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 158 in Denver
867 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 158 in Denver
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1572 Race St, Denver, CO 80206-1308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Denver
Price Range: $213 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Castle Marne Bed and Breakfast in Denver, CO serves breakfasts, luncheons, teas and 4 course dinners as well as offering 9 luxurious rooms each with private bath. Each room is uniquely decorated with historically significant pieces in this one-of-a-kind mansion which was lovingly restored. The building is a nationally and locally designated historic landmark made from Rhyolite (Lava Stone) from nearby Castle Rock quarries. In-house wedding planner and wedding officiant can assist in planning and celebrating the romantic elopement or small wedding of your dreams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Marne Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing