We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic, Convienient, with Lovable Hosts and Great Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 11 Denver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Historic, Convienient, with Lovable Hosts and Great Service!”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We spent just one night here, but were impressed with the hospitality, friendliness and beautiful surroundings of Castle Marne.
The hotel itself is gorgeous and lovingly restored. We even got a tour complete with short history lesson from one of the staff--fascinating!
Our room was on the top floor and very quiet (though from the guestbooks inside the room and its furniture can be a bit "disturbing" to the guests below ;) ) Our room also had a roof-deck hot tub which was divine after a long day walking around!
The breakfast was excellent, and the hosts/owners were great at ensuring we all got to know eachother.
The service was wonderful; I had called about having a package sent ahead of our arrival, and even though my one turned into 5 packages, it was no trouble for the staff, and they were all waiting for me in my room upon arrival.
We'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank e-travelchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our pleasure to share our castle, it's rich history and the city of Denver with our guests. On behalf of the family and staff of the Castle Marne we look forward to having you back again soon.

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    68
    17
    0
    4
See reviews for
116
393
61
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Absolutely terrific!!

My husband and I were initially supposed to stay at the Queen Anne but after they overbooked the room we ended up, thankfully, staying at the Castle Marne.

The Peiker family has done an amazing job with the restoration of this house. Every room has these amazing details from the history of the house, including beautiful stained glass windows, original carved mahogany fireplace and gorgeous frescoes in the dinning hall where you eat breakfast in the morning! The rooms are spacious and cozy and have all the comforts of home. And if you want to meander our of your room there is a beautiful patio (with porch swing) and a great sitting room filled with books, newspapers and fresh baked snacks.

The Castle Marne has sweet tea/cookies in the afternoon for all it’s guest and leaves out complimentary tea for those wanting a quick respite after dinner. The breakfast is DELICIOUS, and all made from scratch. We had the pleasure of scratch make blueberry and poppy-seed muffins, fresh orange juice, gooseberry jam and garden quiches when we stayed…and it tasted as good as it sounds.

Great location, great owner, great room, and great breakfast…
If you are thinking about staying in Denver..hands down stay at the Castle Marne!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the corner suite on the bottom floor and it had it's own side entrance, which is es...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamPennylane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
We are so glad you were able to join while you were in town. Glad you enjoyed all the food too. We're serving orange chocolate chip muffins tomorrow morning. When you come back tell us you would like the poppy seed muffins and we'll bake them off just for you. It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to having you join us again.

Regards,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We happened upon Castle Marne by chance. It turned out to be such a pleasant surprise! After two weeks of road tripping, driving long hours, and hiking in extreme heat, the welcome we received when arriving at Castle Marne exceeded all expectations. The inn keepers are thorough, friendly, and very well-versed in the business of tourism. We enjoyed delicious breakfasts every morning, and enjoyed a last minute accommodation when an extra night's stay was needed. We highly recommend Castle Marne!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasyfrass11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review. We appreciate our guests sharing their experiences with our future guests. Glad you enjoyed the food. We always say, food should be a feast for the eyes as well as the stomach. Did you eat your flower? Pretty tasty wasn't it?

Come back soon and we'll whip up a delicious breakfast for you.

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellvue
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We'd had a hectic August. A visit to Castle Marne was just what we needed to recharge our batteries. The hosts are terrific and the setting a true step back in time. We love the eclectic meal opportunities a short walk away. Be sure to book a room where you can jacuzzi or hot tub for the complete experience. The one recommendation I would have is for the hosts to become more knowledgeable about what a true gluten free diet entails, particularly related to cross contamination.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemarne, Owner at Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Thank you for your review and thank you for mentioning about how to accommodate glutton free diets. Since you shared your thoughts with us we are being very careful about what allergies and restrictions we are set up to handle. We make every effort to meet and exceed our guests requests and needs, but we also realize that our tiny kitchen may not always be up to the task.

It has always been and will continue to be our goal to insure every guest enjoys their stay with us. Breakfast is a big part of the Castle Marne experience so we want to be sure we do it right.

Thank you again for your wonderful review and we look forward to having you back for a third visit.

Sincerely,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Majordomo was the word that came to mind upon meeting the family who runs the Castle Marne. Of course, the house is beautifully arranged with a working RCA 78RPM player complete with some vintage 78s donated by Tiny Tim himself; of course, it is close to some of Denver's attractions (like the Denver Botanical Gardens and my favorite bookstore, Tattered Cover); of course, it is surrounded by many eateries within walking distance, including one of the BEST Italian restaurants ever, as well as Taco Bell around the corner. The castle even has a turret designed especially to take advantage of the light to contemplate completing a 1000 piece puzzle in exquisite surroundings as well as a computer upstairs to print out your airline ticket and connect you to the present world. However, the feeling you get while speaking with everyone in the family is one of elegant enjoyment of a full family life filled with rich experiences. The Castle houses a multi-generation family including a very dashing gentleman who flirts with guests as he waves at them in street whilst in his MG Classic, the perky wife, a former elementary school teacher in a better age, who keeps you company during breakfast, the daughter who presents your warm breakfast and weaves the hard-earned success story of the beautiful house before you, and the son who is knowledgeable of the richness that Denver and Colorado has to offer. We did not meet their talented and multilingual children, but there are beautiful personality pictures of them on the piano. My 84-year young mother enjoyed herself in the room on the ground floor which allowed her a large reading room and a door to their front lawn. She loved her walks to Walgreens which was a block away and she enjoyed the dollar-store a few blocks past the many artisans stores. A wonderful place to stay and a gracious family to visit with.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaBee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckner, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

A beautiful historic B&B only 20 blocks east of downtown Denver. Great location, wonderful food, the best hospitality provided by a three-generation family. Great restaurants are within walking distance. When in Denver, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndepMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestertown, Md.USA
2 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Castle Marne on July 30th. We had stayed in downtown Denver several times before and this time wanted something unique. TheInn is beautiful done, complete with a lovely little garden on the side of the mansion. The three generations of family owners were a delight,and served a bountiful breakfast in the lovely formal dining room and tea in the afternoon! We wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: All rooms are attractively done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelers518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#2 of 157 in Denver
559 reviews
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#1 of 157 in Denver
806 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 157 in Denver
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#39 of 157 in Denver
1,530 reviews
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast

Property: Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1572 Race St, Denver, CO 80206-1308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Castle Marne Bed and Breakfast in Denver, CO serves breakfasts, luncheons, teas and 4 course dinners as well as offering 9 luxurious rooms each with private bath. Each room is uniquely decorated with historically significant pieces in this one-of-a-kind mansion which was lovingly restored. The building is a nationally and locally designated historic landmark made from Rhyolite (Lava Stone) from nearby Castle Rock quarries. In-house wedding planner and wedding officiant can assist in planning and celebrating the romantic elopement or small wedding of your dreams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Castle Marne Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Marne Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing