We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful restored historic mansion.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Capitol Hill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Denver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful restored historic mansion.”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Located on Molly Brown's "Pennsylvania Avenue" in the historic section of Downtown Denver. The location is an easy walk to many wonderful restaurants, bars, museums and many other attractions. The B&B has been extensively restored to it's former glory with some modern touches for comfort. We found the rooms both beautiful and comfortable, our hosts we very personable and friendly and the breakfast was first class! This B&B offers far more comfortable accommodations than any Denver hotel with far more spacious quarters. The property was very clean and well maintained.

Room Tip: Contact the host to determine what room is best for your needs, there is limited accommodation for d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vailaspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    64
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
140
420
76
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, Colorado, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Capital Hill Mansion was the perfect place for a night away from the kids. Although we live in town, we certainly felt like we were on vacation! Carl and his staff pay attantion to every detail and are very welcoming. The mansion is beautiful and very well-maintained. Breakfast was amazing! Capitol Hill is a wonderful neighborhood to explore with great dining and beautiful historic homes. I definately recommend Capital Hill Mansion for visitors and locals looking for a staycation as well!

Room Tip: The Shooting Star Room has a lovely private balcony, large bathrrom with jet tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We spent a 4 day weekend here. Stayed in the Elk Thistle Suite. It was our own little apartment. After a long day we'd come "home" to our own living room, kitchen, bath and bedroom. Couldn't ask for more! All the positive things other reviews state are true. Wouldn't dream of even looking for another place to stay in Denver! Great location. We could walk to all the places we wanted to visit. Area felt very safe at night. Breakfast was nothing short of fabulous! Very clean and super quiet. Over our 4 days saw several unoccupied rooms with doors open - all were very pretty and special. Their website's photos are all accurate. Would love to go back someday!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeekingPerfection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Maine
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed with Carl, daughter Bailey, and granddaughter Olivia for one brief night on our way to the mountains. We wish it could have been longer! The location is perfect to explore downtown Denver, the arts district, parks, and Capitol Hill. Our room was beautifully restored and decorated, the canopy bed completely comfortable, and the breakfast out of this world (who could resist warm blueberry muffins with white chocolate sauce just as a starter?). Carl had excellent dinner suggestions as well. Don't miss this gem when you visit Denver!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mainetraveler04342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee Mission, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Carl and Bailey made our visit to Denver during the Christmas holidays FANTASTIC!!!!! The Paintbrush Room was clean, and spacious with two full sets of sparkling white towels and linens. The bed was confortable and Carl is a FANTASTIC chef. The breakfast was out of sight and Bailey and Olivia are top of the heap when it comes to customer service. They made out us feel a part of the family while we were in Denver. If you don't stay at this Inn you are missing a great part of Denver and the Bed and Breakfast experience.

Room Tip: The Paintbrush Room is on the first floor and very accessible if climbing stairs is not your thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 743KarenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach,California, USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I spent 3 nights at the Capitol Hill Mansion B&B last week. It was my first time at a B&B....and if this is any indication...I'll be staying at more of them. I was by myself so I took a smaller room that had a shower-only..which was definitely fine by me. My room had a balcony and it was fun to sit out in it and watch people and traffic and gaze at other historic places. The Mansion is a fabulous way to get into the historic culture of Denver...I couldn't have asked for a better place to hang my hat while in Denver. The house was gorgeously decorated for the holidays...and sitting by the fire reading and enjoying the Christmas Tree made me feel like a kid again. I can't forget the breakfasts!! After all, this IS a B&B! AMAZING meals! Carl is a master at breakfasts. ok...I have to say, his White Chocolate Bread Pudding is heaven on a plate!
I recommend CHMB&B without hesitation and should I return to Denver (I hope to!). I would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CabaretSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anoka, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The Capitol Hill Mansion is a wonderful B & B. The home is absolutely fabulous and furnished with Victorian style furniture. Very inviting entry and living room area.

The room was very clean and furnished with period furniture. The stained glass windows in the Mansion were especially beautiful!

The breakfast was beyond phenomenal! All homemade food from an award winning chef!
The Creme' Brule was the BEST I have ever had!!!!!

The location of this B & B is so centrally located, you could stay here and see everything you would want to see in and around Denver!

The inn keepers and staff were so pleasant and accommodating. I would HIGHLY recommend this Bed and Breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PEJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#2 of 157 in Denver
580 reviews
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#1 of 157 in Denver
818 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 157 in Denver
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Warwick Denver Hotel
Warwick Denver Hotel
#40 of 157 in Denver
1,551 reviews
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Hill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Hill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Capitol Hill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 1207 N. Pennsylvania Street, Denver, CO 80203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Capitol Hill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Denver "A Journey through Architecture" "Located in the heart of the Museum district, downtown Denver. A gorgeous, romantic Denver Bed And Breakfast nestled in the quaint Capitol Hill Neighborhood in downtown Denver, this national and state historical-registered Inn is a short walk to the State Capitol, gourmet restaurants, theaters, museums, shopping and more. Eight elegantly appointed rooms and suites offer turn-of-the-century opulence with modern day flair. Some rooms feature private balconies, gas fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs. All rooms feature private baths, beautiful antique furnishings, fresh cut flowers, high speed wireless internet, cable TV, writing desks, modem ready phones, in-room refrigerators, irons and ironing boards, and air conditioning. Enjoy a full gourmet breakfast each morning prepared by Denver's Urban Culinary Creations, Chef Carl S. Schmidt II and as well as wine service each evening featuring Colorado wines. Free On-Site Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Capitol Hill Mansion Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Hill Mansion Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing