We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive Tasteless Chicken Nuggets”

Uncle Joe's Hong Kong Bistro
Order Online
Ranked #495 of 3,633 Restaurants in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Uncle Joe’s is a vibrant Sichuan restaurant, located in the heart of Denver’s theater and convention district. Our authentic recipes are passed down through the generations and skillfully delivered by our Executive Chef. They’re not Americanized versions of Chinese food; what you get when you come to Uncle Joe’s is the type of elevated, flavorful dishes you would enjoy if traveling in China. Sichuan cuisine, having originated in the southwestern province of the same name, and loved throughout the country, is known for its bold use of a variety of flavors, and offers you a true culinary journey each time you dine with us. Uncle Joe’s cooks with authentic seasonings and flavorful, natural ingredients.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I ordered the Jumping Chicken, other than the small amount of heat from the oil and what you want to add with the chilies the dish lacked flavor. Mickey D's nuggets have more flavor.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FinnyTheRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 97 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2019

Arrived at 5:45 pm. Was able to order appetizers and drinks which were delivered quickly. Staff was attentive and helpful. Dinner was excellent. Ordered orange chicken and their beef entree. Excellent once again. Great choice for area.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sparty1894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2019

At noon on a Saturday, there appeared to be ONE server.
The only thing that WASN't slow was the time from order to delivery.

Eventually had to go to the entrance desk as I'd given up on the waitress.

Ordered "devil cha shao". Very mild, until you added extra sauce.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ckm1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2019

We had a brief lunch break from a conference and wanted a place close by where we could get a bite. It's within a block from the conference center, so it definitely fit the bill for close. The restaurant itself seemed clean and well-lit. The staff seated our largish party (7 people) quickly.

The menu is a bit limited but there were some interesting things. I tried the Sichuan Green Beans with Pork -- normally a dish I really like. What I got was so salty that it was just unpleasant. Another person in our group actually paid up after a few minutes because he didn't like his dish, either, and opted to go find other food. Two of our party had the DanDan Noodles and they looked really good -- and both of them said it was good.

Perhaps it was a bad day...or just the dishes 2 of the 7 of us ordered, but I don't see going here again -- and I seem to end up at the Denver Convention Center at least once or twice a year.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jeremyf894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2019

We had a decent experience at Uncle Joe's and may return but there were some downsides. The service was slow; our server told us they were understaffed but from reading reviews it sounds like this is a consistent problem. The food was fine but nothing special. Decent, but not exciting. All in all- not a bad spot if you're in the area but nothing to seek out.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ms9331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Joe's Hong Kong Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Uncle Joe's Hong Kong Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing