We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The coolest place in Denver - A Wonderful Work in Progress”
Review of The Crawford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Crawford Hotel
Ranked #2 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The coolest place in Denver - A Wonderful Work in Progress”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Union Station was rebuilt in July 1914 and it re-opened in July 2014 on its 100th anniversary. Hats off to the city planners and architect in Denver for this gorgeous historic restoration. The Crawford Hotel opened July 12 and some of the bars and restaurants just opened in late July. I found out about the Crawford scanning Hotels.com and it was listed as "New". I read the reviews on Trip Advisor and stopped looking. I wanted to stay in this brand new hotel and brand new Union Station. It was worth it! The check in was rough, our suite wasn't ready at 3pm - which was the guaranteed check-in time. But it was a one of a kind suite so its not like they could have put us in another room. Look at the pictures of the Lo-Do suite. Book it if you can. It's amazing but so was the normal room they gave us untll the suite was cleaned and ready. One bonus treat - the House Car is a spanking new Tessla and they will take you anywhere within 2 miles for free. This covers downtown and HiLo/LoHi - and LODO of course! Fun place to stay and try SNOOZE for breakfast - one of the most fun breakfast places I've seen in years. Obscenely deluxe French Toast and spicy Thai Bloody Maries.. Stay here if you can!

Room Tip: LoDo Suite is ridiculously nice and romantic, but a little pricey. Call them to see if its availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick K, General Manager at The Crawford Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Gregg L,

Thank you for the raving review of The Crawford Hotel. So glad you stayed in the LoDo suite and had an amazing breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back - keep in touch for new upcoming amenities!

Sincerely,

Frederick J. Kleisner II
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    103
    47
    13
    8
See reviews for
127
404
35
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Visited Marcel's new digs at the Cooper Lounge last evening with friends and family. An exceptional venue, great food, a wine list that only a pro like Marcel can pull together.

We have not tried the rooms yet but will. If you want a view along with the best service in Denver, don't stop, just get there. White Burgundy ruled the evening, suggested by the man himself.

Congrats to you guys on your new venture.

Room Tip: This place will rule Lodo
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DFrydenlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick K, General Manager at The Crawford Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear DFrydenlund,

We cannot agree with you more that Marcel is amazing! We are lucky to have him at The Cooper Lounge. We look forward to welcoming you to The Crawford Hotel - soon.

Sincerely,

Frederick J. Kleisner II
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2014

One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. Union Station is gorgeous with tons of restaurants, a book store and great bars. It is in a great location in the city where you can walk to the park or downtown. There is a free bus on 16h street. You can take Amtrak, get off the train and go right up to your room. They have a complimentary Tesla with a driver who will take you anywhere within a 2 mile radius. Taxi or town car fare to the hotel is about $60. Lots if Uber cars nearby as well. While your there, eat at Stoic and Genuine if you love seafood. I will be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick K, General Manager at The Crawford Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear JeanCal,

We love the way you started your review! And we are grateful for your sentiments. Thank you so much and we can't wait to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Frederick J Kleisner II
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

I surprised my girlfriend with a room here for her birthday, which the staff was more than helpful with getting things set up, so I hugely appreciated that, they really went above and beyond. The rooms themselves were incredible, very fancy, modern, and clean. We stayed in a 4th floor loft style room with original exposed beams that gave it a very authentic touch next to all the new elements. The bed was an extremely comfortable king. The bathroom was really amazing, huge tub and two shower heads in the super spacious shower. The fact that the hotel is inside the Union Station building gives it a very unique and awesome feel, there really isn't any hotel anywhere like this. There are 2 bars, a coffee shop (amazing), a few nice restaurants and a breakfast place (Snooze) all right inside the building. We really were blown away and will definitely stay again despite living in Denver already.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adammatthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick K, General Manager at The Crawford Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Adammatthe,

Thank you for your kind words regarding The Crawford Hotel. We hope the two of you had an awesome birthday celebration. Looking forward to welcoming you back for your next special event!

Sincerely,

Frederick J. Kleisner II
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I was able to book a reservation at this hotel a few short weeks after it opened. One word describes it – wow. Large bathroom, huge shower, big screen TV, mini-fridge, VERY comfortable bed, robes and slippers provided, valet parking, and a great location. Wish I had the time to stay longer.

My only complaint upon checkout was that for us out of towners a listing of the TV stations would have been helpful. It was explained that this was on the iPAD we had in the room. But not being iPAD saavy we did not know how to utilize it.

The hotel bar overlooks the station waiting room and our bartender (Bryce) was friendly, knowledgeable,, makes a mean drink, and was eager to experiment and put together drinks based on personal tastes. He introduced us to a local bourbon (Breckenridge) – we were lucky enough to visit a liquor store and purchase a bottle before we departed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick K, General Manager at The Crawford Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Ken G,

Thank you for your kind words about our Crawford Hotel. We will make sure all information is available within reach with or without iPads. Look forward to your return to our hotel and the Terminal Bar and Cooper Lounge!

Sincerely,

Frederick J. KLeisner II
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2014

First of all, let me start out by saying this hotel has done everything right. They were still in the midst of a restoration/grand opening and somehow managed to think of every accomodation to make their guests feel like they were being cared for exclusively. From the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out; our needs were thought of before we even knew we needed something! Each night we had a turn down service that included not only the sheets turned down but bottled water was presented on each night stand with our slippers laid out for our arrival. Soft music was gently playing in the background, the room had been straightened and this was done AFTER the morning room service! The room was beautifully decorated which seemed to take in account the history from which the hotel came from ( Denver's Iconic Union Station) to the perfectly blended modern era in which is currently serves.

The staff was incredible from Andrew the general manager (mixing in with the guests to oversee our needs and wants) to the helpful and friendly desk staff, bellmen and the incredible bar staff in the Cooper's Lounge. I know this all sounds too good to be true or a bit over the top but all I can say is this was our experience for five days and the level of competence an service did not change with the changing of staff members. We even were treated to rides in the Tesla to the car rental facility, a play and they even came to pick us up to be able to return to the hotel.

I have stayed in other upscale hotels in Chicago, Florida, New York, Nashville and more but the Crawford has them all beat as the seemed to have themselves together and deliver the whole package!

Room Tip: We stayed in the gallary room and found them conveniently located to the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharD358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick K, General Manager at The Crawford Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear CharD358

Thank you for your kind words in your review of our Crawford Hotel. Glad Andrew and his staff were able to meet your needs and helped you enjoy your stay in Denver! Denver Union Station is quite spectacular and we are proud to be a part of this new destination. We look forward to your return.

Frederick J. Kleisner II
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Crawford for one night, excited to check out the new Union Station and hotel. The hotel, and room itself were really pretty cool. It was fun to stay in such a historic and unique location, right inside Union Station. Aside from that, these guys really need to get their stuff together. The hotel is advertised as having room service (they even advertise it in their in-room iPad system). We were really excited to make use of the room service from The Kitchen and Snooze, but once we got there, we were told that it isn't available. The bathroom was also a little dirty when we got there, and the furniture was pretty banged up for being a new hotel. The walls are also pretty thin, so expect to hear noise from the hallways and surrounding rooms.

We booked our trip through an online travel site, and pre-paid for our room. When we were checking out, we made sure to let the clerk know that we had already paid, and he assured us that there were no charges. However, he would not let us see the receipt for our stay, as they were using a new iPad checkout system that they had just set up. I came home to check my bank account, and sure enough, I was charged again. We called the hotel and will have to wait until Monday to get the charges refunded.

This hotel has a lot of great potential to be a truly unique experience, but until the kinks are worked out, it will continue to be a flawed destination.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick K, General Manager at The Crawford Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Greg J,

Thank you for your comments and review of The Crawford Hotel. Please let us know if the charges still stayed on your bank account and we will make sure to take care of the credit. At times authorization charges stay on as a charge and takes a few business days to drop off. We would love for you and your wife to return to stay with us after all of our amenities are in place. Please give me a call at (303)628-5401 prior to your return.

Frederick J. Kleisner II
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 157 in Denver
1,082 reviews
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 157 in Denver
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Hotel Teatro
#20 of 157 in Denver
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crawford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crawford Hotel

Property: The Crawford Hotel
Address: 1701 Wynkoop St, Denver, CO 80202-1047
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown , LoDo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Crawford Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crawford is an independent Colorado hotel - located in the historic Denver Union Station. Offering a unique guest experience that integrates a profound respect of our halcyon heritage with striking, modern luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TravelUp, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crawford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing