We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much healthier choice.”

Cook's Fresh Market
Ranked #504 of 3,039 Restaurants in Denver
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: Downtown
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Much healthier choice.”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We went there for lunch as my son was looking for a healthier meal. We got a variety of salads. The beets were too salty, but the carrot cranberry salad was great, as was the chicken fajita salad.We also had a stuffed mushroom which was good. It is a deli style restaurant with a few tables and a microwave to heat up your own food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greerzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    25
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“COOK'S FRESH MARKET -- Excellent Place for To Go Food”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

COOK'S FRESH MARKET is a great find. Right on 16th Street Mall, Cook's is the place you drop into for a freshly made sandwich or already prepared salad, or salads out of the window case. They also have some sumptious looking sweets (if you've done your cardio already). I have had the fresh turkey sandwich, the roast beef sandwich and the chinese chicken salad. All to go and taken back to my hotel room. This is a very affordable meal and everything is freshly prepared and delicious. There are other items offered throughout the place....some specialty cheeses, some great meat...and beverages. I highly recommend COOK's as a place to grab a meal to go. VERY VERY GOOD FOOD!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gregb511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Great if you want it bad enough”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Really clean. Very nice. The meats are about the best you'll ever find, though you may need to take out a small loan in order to get some. Out of control overpriced, but I guess that works for others. I only buy when I need to.The service there is always great once you get it.

Every single time I go to the meat counter I wait and wait and wait and wait while people walk by and either don't see me or don't want to see me. Every time. Once I get help, it's always genuine and friendly. But I wait every single time. Yesterday I waited for about five minutes and there was a woman cleaning the floor in front of the meat counter and I STILL didn't get help without waiting. It's almost comical at this point.

The vegetables are awful. They're never fresh and they sit there. I realize it's difficult to sell a lot of vegetables fast, but I honestly get better potatoes at Walgreens.

8 bucks is a lot of money for bag of mediocre chopped lettuce.

All of these things being said, I'm glad they're doing well and I like having them downtown. One time I bought a $117 prime rib and I'd have to say I was treated like royalty.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesRep S, Manager at Cook's Fresh Market, responded to this review, February 16, 2016
Thank you Joseph for your comments as they are truly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great Deli!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I stop by here every time I'm in Denver for their excellent soup, sandwiches and cookies, and occasionally dinner to take back to my hotel room. I am also partial to their "Sticks and Stones" trail mix. I discovered this place when I didn't want to buy an overpriced dessert at the Hard Rock Cafe across the street. The food here is much healthier than most restaurants on the 16th Street Mall.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrequentGuest444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A "soupcon" of a wide variety of fish”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

When you get the urge for fresh fish to bring home to your apartment, house, etc., stop by Cook's for all your "maritime" needs. I prefer their fish to anything the local markets sell with perhaps the exception of Whole Foods, which tends to be expensive. However, you can never go wrong with the fish selection, price and cordiality employed by the store's employees (as well as advice).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank basquel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cook's Fresh Market also viewed

 

Been to Cook's Fresh Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing