We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Ranked #8 of 156 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
“Beautiful hotel, excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2008

Top-notch hotel. Short distance to nearby 16th street pedestrian mall, where you can get anything and everything.

  • Liked — Beautiful building throughout
  • Disliked — Cheap quality flat screen TV
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VeteranTraveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,596
    1,066
    239
    60
    37
See reviews for
449
713
174
2,340
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2008

The Hyatt is a wonderful modern hotel with an interesting design, all of the amenities you have come to expect in a great business hotel, and it is well situated in the city. The staff members are highly professional and polite. The service was flawless. The common areas are beautiful and clean. The rooms are nice and clean and have all of the work space, comfortable desk chair, outlets, and internet connection that I needed to work.

I was pleased to see that the rooms were equipped with a specially marked trash container for recyclable materials.

The elevator cabs each have a flat screen television screen mounted in the rear wall of the cab that show various country scenes. The scenes are very soothing and I couldn't help myself from watching the screens while in the elevator. The fact that the screens are on the rear wall is a little awkward, requiring you to stand sideways or with your back to the doors to watch the screens; but they were a unique treat none-the-less.

Having said all of that, I have three minor complaints. First, the cost to valet park a vehicle is $26.00 per night. I don't know the cost of parking in Denver, but $26.00 seems high. You do get unlimited in and out priviledges with the valet parking.

Secondly, the internet in the rooms, which is not wireless, cost $9.95 per day. I have been in much cheaper hotels around the country that provide wireless interent services for free (it is built into the cost of the room). Some might argue that the internet charges shouldn't be built into the room cost because not every guest will use the internet. That's fine, but $9.95 per day?

Lastly, the rooms come equipped with two bottles of water. I almost cracked the seal on one during my first night, until I saw that each bottle would cost me $6.00! Really? Six dollars for a bottle of water? I drink water constantly, but I was not about to pay $6.00 for water. I walked the two blocks to Walgreens and bought a twelve pack of water for $4.00. I have stayed in hotels with room rates that were half the amount charged for these rooms that provided two free bottles of water per day. It seems to me that a bottle of water can be given to guests.

None of these items made my stay any less enjoyable, but I can't help but wonder why the cost for parking, internet service and water needs to be so high.

  • Liked — Clean efficient facility.
  • Disliked — Ancillary charges (parking, internet service, bottled water) seem too high.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SEMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Troy, WI
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2008

Was here four nights and really loved the hotel. Very trendy and contemporary. Top notch service from the front desk, enterprise and cleaning staff. Rooms are excellent condition - sort of what you expect at the Hyatt.
However one review states they contracted the stomach flu - makes me wonder as I had it and so didn't my son. Makes me wonder what may be going around there because we were deathly ill.
Overall would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Liked — Altitude Restaurant, Atmosphere
  • Disliked — The bar right as you enter in the hotel - especially when you have young children.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank snickers76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2008

I booked this hotel through Priceline and got a great deal. It was my first Priceline booking ever and I was pleasantly surprised at what I got. I paid about 1/3 of the regular price.

The Hyatt is very conveniently located to downtown Denver. It is just one block from the popular 16th Street Mall and within walking distance of the Denver Mint, several museums, and the Denver Convention Center. A quick ride on the free 16th Street Mall shuttle will take you to places like Union Station, Six Flags Elitch Gardens, the Denver Aquarium, and all three major stadiums.

The hotel is adjacent to the light rail which can take you to more distant destinations.

I stayed at the Hyatt after a two-day train ride to Denver from California. The train was fun, but having a comfy bed, shower, and a quiet room upon arrival was a real plus.

Check-in was a breeze. The front desk has an array of self-check-in kiosks. Simply slide your credit card through and within a minute you'll get a set of room keys and receipts. Likewise, check-out was easy; I did it through the TV.

Internet access is $10 per day, whether you use wireless or wired. They do have a computer for printing out boarding passes at the concierge desk which you can use for free, however.

Everything else will cost you an arm and a leg. The in-room bottle of water is $6. A soda at the Starbucks in the lobby is $3.50. I didn't try the hotel's restaurant, opting instead for local eateries nearby.

Getting to and from the airport is just $19 via SuperShuttle.

For the business traveller willing to pay top dollar, this is a great hotel. For the budget-conscious, it's probably well out of your reach unless you can get a good price through some other means.

  • Liked — Location, quality
  • Disliked — Price of good for purchase
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank snapster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
110 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2008

My wife and I stayed at this Hyatt on a Thursday and Friday evening with our main purpose in Denver seeing an opera at the performing arts center. We've been pleased with our finds on TripAdvisor which is how we picked this hotel. It was further down on the top hotels list but was significantly cheaper than the others that were higher up.

It had been a while since I had last stayed at a Hyatt and found good and bad with this stay. The bad things were a shower faucet handle that was cranked so tight that I thought I was going to break it trying to turn it on. Also the piping for the shower head was angled towards the wall (I guess by some creative plumber) so that you never had the spray hitting your body straight on.

My biggest complaint comes from be wakened a couple times one night by other guests conversing in the hallway in the wee hours. I think adults should know better to keep their voices down in hotel hallways, but there also seemed very little structurally to block the noise between the halls and the rooms.

Finally there was the TV. Usually this would not be something I would comment on but the picture on this flat-screen Samsung was so bad you could see individual pixels across the room--very surprising for a business hotel.

The good parts of the stay included $20 in food and beverage credit with each night, self check-in in the lobby and a good location. But the big winners here are undoubtedly the architects and designers who have created a beautiful property that should work well for decades to come. It is light and airy and doesn't feel over-designed.

I have a feeling that my stay could have been nicer if I were in a different room. I would consider staying here again since it was significantly cheaper than other places I investigated but would request a room as far away from the elevators as possible to minimize late-night yackers passing by my room.

  • Liked — decor
  • Disliked — noise in hallways
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSBurdett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2008

This hotel is located in the LoDo neighborhood, very central to sightseeing. We walked to the 16th Street Mall, Larimer Square and Coors Field. The room was spotless, had a very comfortable bed and a spacious bathroom. The decor throughout the hotel was modern and funky, and definitely upscale. There was really cool art work all over the lobby and public areas. The elevators even had TV screens with some sort of "moving painting" displayed. There was a good coffee shop on the ground floor as well as a bar. The big highlight for us though was The Peaks Lounge on the 27th floor. They had great sandwiches, reasonably priced wine flights and a spectacular view of Denver! I felt that the hotel was a great bargain. We got a price of around $120 a night (weekend), it must be that they mostly handle business travelers during the week so they give deep discounts on the weekends. I don't think I've ever stayed at a hotel this nice for that cheap. The only minor complaint I have was about the parking. It's a bit of a pain to find a spot in the garage, you need to use your room key to get in and out (which sometimes didn't work), and it's a bit overpriced. Overall though, I think this hotel is a great find. It's got way more personality than many other business-class hotels!

  • Liked — location, great decor, wonderful views from the lounge
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JenC-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2008

This hotel is cross the 14th street from the convention center, has the best gym and pool I have ever seen in a hotel. The Altitude Restaurant inside the hotel is nice, there is also a cafe selling bakery and starbucks coffee. Clean nice room. it is the right place to stay except it is a littile pricy.

  • Liked — Location and facility
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Zh.Ou.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 156 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Central Business District
Hyatt Place Denver/Downtown
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 156 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center

Property: Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Address: 650 15th Street, Denver, CO 80202-4207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Denver
#3 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#3 Business Hotel in Denver
#3 Family Hotel in Denver
#4 Spa Hotel in Denver
#6 Luxury Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Hotel Denver
Denver Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Denver
Hyatt Regency Denver Colorado Convention Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing