We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rioja

Rioja
Reserve with OpenTable
Rioja is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 2,974 Restaurants in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Outstanding !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We were in Denver to visit our son. Looking for a good restaurant in downtown and I saw the reviews at Rioja. We went for lunch on Saturday morning and unfortunately they we're serving brunch only. But not disappointed at all! I had an amazing Spanish octopus farfale, my husband had the Colarado lamb burger. We had the beigne for dessert. Everything was to die for! Great service also!

Helpful?
Thank viagens2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,029
    291
    103
    31
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Home run!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Wow! Amazing meal only outdone by superb staff. Could not have asked for anything better.
Picnic, Bacon, Venison sausage, split pasta with donuts for dessert.
We will be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bullybrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

But a bit over rated when you consider all the great choices no available in Denver. For the money, one should expect it to be outstanding and on several occasions it was good but not at a level that matches the hype.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 33388Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
292 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Artists in the Kitchen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Rioja made my weekend trip to Denver even more memorable. One of the amazing restaurants on Larimer square, the cuisine and the ambiance exceeded my expectations.
I was fortunate to get a seat next to the open kitchen so that I could watch the chefs work in harmony to create consistently great dishes. It's as if I was there with them. The chefs are fast and efficient; still they reproduce the same dish with the same precision and artistry as the previous one. I cannot imagine a better run kitchen.
I ordered the mango salmon lomi lomi as a starter. Exciting plating and just delicious leaving wanting more. Next came the artichoke tortellini... Tasted so good, but felt I needed a bigger portion. And finally, on the recommendation of my waiter, I tried the flourless chocolate-ancho cake: Fantastic!
The service was at the appropriate level for this quality of food. And you get a sense that there is a nice camaraderie between the staff members.
I highly recommend Rioja to anyone visiting Denver. Hopefully I'll get the chance to experience it all over again in the future.

Helpful?
Thank Alexis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
185 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

The thing that separates one restaurant from other excellent restaurants is that special "it" factor. Rioja has "it"! It's not just about the food, which is superb, but the total experience. On December 11 we were fortunate to have one of those special evenings. From the greeting at the door to the good-bye when we left - it was all perfect. Service was spot-on. Water glasses always filled, timely service of food and plate clearing - we were never rushed or waiting. We loved the bread basket, and our starters and entrees were all remarkable. We were especially pleased with the bison sausage appetizer and the Petaluma chicken. Who knew a chicken could be prepared so flavorfully?!?! The beignets and cappuccino were the perfect ending. But the crowning glory to the evening was the visit to our table by Chef Jen Jasinski. She is a delight, and so is her restaurant!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Graciel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rioja also viewed

 

Been to Rioja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing