We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative food”
Review of Rioja

Rioja
Reserve with OpenTable
Rioja is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 3,021 Restaurants in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Crestone, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Creative food”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The desert cheese was truly creative; Spanish blue cheese soaked in sauterne with elderflower salad, grapes and wildflower honey. Every other course was excellent and the bill was very reasonable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crestonepeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,067
    296
    109
    31
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Amazing Cuisine”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

After having moved here from NY a few months ago I researched great restaurants in Denver. I found Rioja to be highly rated in various magazines/online ratings and made a reservation shortly after. What a wonderful experience I shared with my boy friend. Great service and fantastic food. Neither of us even wanted to share, it was to good to be true. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone. Although pricey, it was worth every penny! And fantastic bartenders too!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Abbey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“amazing in all ways”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Rioja is consistently excellent. I have been there 4 times and each time am amazed at the quality of food, ambiance and service. Whether it be brunch or dinner, the meal is exceptional and the service impeccable. It is 5 star service without any pretentiousness. If you are in Denver this is a sure bet!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travellover3673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous Dinner!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

After attending a performance of "The Nutcracker", we took a Pedi cab to Rioja's for dinner. The restaurant was packed but we had a reservation and we only had a 5-10 minute wait for our table. The wait staff was attentive and very helpful. The food was delicious and our waiter suggested a nice bottle of white wine, which we enjoyed as well. I had the vegetarian four squares and everything was tasty and filling. Companions enjoyed the pansoti, which was a potato and cheese stuffed pasta and the seared tuna. Everyone was quite happy with their meals and someone commented that she felt like she was on the "Food Network" so I do not think you will be disappointed with your meal!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thelma110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rioja News Year Eve Dinner”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Had a fabulous dinner and experience at Rioja on New Years eve. Service staff was friendly and informative, uniforms done nicely and everyone had a smile on. Waiter recommended a version of a Whiskey Sour (Leopold's) that i'd never had and it was excellent. We ordered mosty appetizers ( 4 plates) and finally decided on two entree's as well. All were excellent. The menu descriptions are noteworthy and i used my iphone to look up a thing or two! This was not our first time here, but it confirmed that this is our favorite spot in the city.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DancingBear5311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rioja also viewed

 

Been to Rioja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing