We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good beer sub-par food”

Bull & Bush Pub & Brewery
Ranked #147 of 3,001 Restaurants in Denver
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good beer sub-par food”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Don't miss the hops infusion and local brews but don't expect much from the food menu. The food is just average and the wine and some drinks are overpriced. It's good to support a local brewpub but it could be more welcoming and personal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 230LeighW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    73
    25
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Borden, Indiana
Level Contributor
114 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Visited with business collegues. All food and service was amazing. I had the "famous' Green Chili. I understand why it is famous. It was very, very good. I also had the Apple Steak Salad....very well done. Others had burgers, steaks, salmon and shrimp tacos....all were well satisfied. Addtionally they are a brewery and the selections tried were all very quality brews. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SAWILLIAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
200 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“What you expect in an English Pub.”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I have no idea what an English Pub looks like, but this is exactly what I would expect one to look like! Dark, warm, friendly, large tables flowing into one another, a fire in the hearth.

The Bull & Bush also brews their own beer and does a fine job of it! Full-bodied, lightly carbonated ales in an array of flavors. Personally, my taste in beer is English and Irish--this is very much like the beer that I pay top dollar for.

The food is essentially pub grub, but done right. I had a huge plate of fish & chips. The fish was light & flakey, wonderfully breaded. The chips--thin-cut fries--were unique. None of us at the table could quite place the flavor. It was light and a bit sweet, but allowed the potato flavor to shine through. Possibly a different oil for frying? But--they weren't greasy.

We did have a problem with a lack of gluten-free offerings for my spouse; sometimes a salad just won't do. She ordered the green chili cheese frys and though they were nearly too hot for her taste, thoroughly enjoyed them. I tasted a few and they did have a wonderful bite! Perfect for most of us!

We arrived mid-afternoon. The parking lot was full and there were a number of people in the main room. Don't be fooled though--this place is BIG and a full lot is not an indicator of a full pub!

All of the positive reviews seem accurate. Good food, good service, nice atmosphere, fun place. My personal thought is that the one negative review is likely incorrect. This is a great little pub.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
92 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fun place, great specials!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

What a great neighborhood place! Good nightly specials, Prime Rib and Fish & Chips are a must. Beer can be really good -lots of choices. Fun to sit on the patio in the summer with friends!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank snorkelingsearchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Food on a Snow Day!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

First time to Bull & Bush, great menu for breakfast, fireplace was roaring, tasty food, prompt service, prices were fair, atmosphere was perfect for a snowy day for brunch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bull & Bush Pub & Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Bull & Bush Pub & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing