We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a quick meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Darcy's Irish Pub and Bistro

Darcy's Irish Pub and Bistro
Ranked #243 of 2,974 Restaurants in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: One of Denver's oldest and busiest Irish pubs, situated in the heart of the Denver Tech Center in the Ulster Terrace development on Ulster street. Darcy's is renowned for it's beautiful Victorian bar and casual but elegant decor and of course it's private library room, twin fireplaces and twin patio area's. Darcy's menu selections are varied and Irish American themed. Our large draft beer selection has European and American standard and select micro brew beers. Our back bar has a full compliment of fine Irish and Single malt scotch, our wine list is extensive and international. Darcy's is known for it's friendly staff with outgoing personalities, please try us the next time your in the tech center on business or for pleasure, we are a short jaunt from all of the area hotels.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for a quick meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have been here several times being here in the DTC area for work. Every dish I've had so far has been great. The service and food is great.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marteen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    39
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Average Bar Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I ate here on September 2, 2012 at about 8 PM. Being Sunday before Labor day, the restaurant was almost empty. After waiting at the hostess stand for about a minute, someone walked by and told us to seat ourselves. We did and then grabbed some menus off a nearby table.

Our wait person was the same one that told us to seat ourselves. It seemed that she was the only wait person for all 9 tables with people. She was neither friendly or unfriendly. She did her job with very little extra effort put into it. I contemplated getting the Adult Mac & Cheese and the Fish & Chips but decided on a bacon cheeseburger with cheddar mashed potatoes and a side salad. My friend got the French dip with mashed potatoes.

The food took longer than I'd have thought. But there was a table of 8 people that was before us and all of their food had to come out first. I did notice our food come up in the window but because there was only one wait person, it sat in the window for over 7 minutes.

The cheddar mashed potatoes were fantastic! My hamburger was dry and the brioche bun was over toasted and crumbled a bit around the edges. The tomato slices were so thin you could almost see through them. The French dip was good though.

The wait person never came by asking if we needed anything else before she brought the bill. We wanted to order dessert and it seemed to annoy her a bit. We ordered the Guinness chocolate chip ice cream sundae. Holy smoke is this dessert good! It was a good combination of beer flavor and chocolate.

Overall it was an average meal with average service. I do think the decor is great and I would return to give it another chance to be better because I think it would be a fun place to hang out on game day or with friends.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MileHighGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Decent pub fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Not a bad pub to go for some beers and typical pub food. The location in the strip mall is a little strange for an Irish pub but that should not scare you off.

Helpful?
Thank Jordan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Good pub grub, good choice, nice atmosphere no frills

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bart793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Very close the Hampton Inn & Suites, actually a 2 minute walk.
Great food, and daily specials.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank LRJR45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darcy's Irish Pub and Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Darcy's Irish Pub and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing