We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, but rough around the edges”
Review of Sushi Train

Sushi Train
Ranked #1,439 of 3,002 Restaurants in Denver
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sayulita, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value, but rough around the edges”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

When you drive up to the restaurant the outside is a little worse for wear. Your restaurant dollar certainly does not go towards maintaining the premises... The inside has seen better days too, but somehow it has some charm (could it be the electric train that delivers sushi plates to patrons around the bar?) if you want something a little different. The night I was there, there was a lively crowd at the sushi bar and even dining alone I had a nice time. I had the all you can eat deal for $25.99. It was really pretty good and I was surprised. The quality was better than I expected and I thought it was a good deal. Don't go here for a fine dining experience, but if you are hungry for sushi at a venue a little left of center, this could be the spot!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed ”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

I was hoping for a great experience after the reviews I read on trip advisor, but was disappointed. Went with friends for a birthday celebration. All of the food had a slightly strange taste to it, and one couple's food showed up after everyone else had finished eating. The restroom had holes in the drywall covered with hanging pieces of fabric or paper. Will not return.

Helpful?
Thank LCocos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
175 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Delicious fresh sushi!”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Don't let this little unassuming restaurant fool you. It can compete with the best of the big fancy places in town. Sushi Train offers an "all you can eat" lunch for $15 from a full menu with over 50 choices. The procedure is simple in that the diner can select over and over from the "menu" so that the food is always freshly delivered to their table and hot if appropriate. It is not a buffet where the food is prepared ahead or exposed to the public. The restaurant is clean, the food fresh and beautifully presented, service is excellent and you can't beat the price!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dolores P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
179 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Gorge on Delicious Sushi!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

My father in law took us to his local favorite sushi joint, and it was delicious. We went for lunch, all you can eat from a huge assortment on their menu at about $15 a person. The sushi is of excellent quality, and they don't get stingy on the cuts of fish just because it's all you can eat. Fantastic way to sample a multitude of items. Spicy tuna roll, white fish sushi, eel, and the snapper were my favorites. Order only what you can eat though, because you will rightfully be charged extra if you waste anything. Fantastic place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xAngelaMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, Wyoming
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“All you can eat sushi experience”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Awesome night with my best friend! We loved the all you can eat sushi night and sat at the bar to watch the train go by! We were passing notes on a post-it with others at the train bar, which made it all the more of an experience! The sushi was excellent and the seaweed salad was under-par, it just didn't seem fresh. But it was still a great night!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikki r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sushi Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing