We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great music, great location, good system for service”
Review of Illegal Pete's

Illegal Pete's
Ranked #148 of 3,066 Restaurants in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: We celebrate humanity. We celebrate individuality. We celebrate relationships and connections. And most importantly we celebrate every human's need for tasty food, stiff drinks and good times. Well, maybe it's not a need, but it's certainly a want. Either way, it's our desire to make each illegal pete's location the kind of place where you can go to celebrate more with other humans.
colorado
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great music, great location, good system for service”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This restaurant has a laid-back, comfortable environment. It is clear that there are many regulars who feel at home here. The food is plentiful and affordable, and there is usually live music. Great location, friendly service.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank beulah621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    73
    20
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Huge and Tasty Burritos!”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Denver certainly isn't lacking in burrito locations, but this one stands out as my favorite. They are huge!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank RyanneRiche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Joint”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Illegal Pete's is very similar to Chipotle, with the feeling of a hidden gem known only by the locals, instead of a chain atmosphere. "Grungy" probably best describes the atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gl0bal_R0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great get away from the tech center”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I was in the tech center for a week long business trip, and was getting tired of the same scene at the chains there. I did a quick search, and Illegal Pete's stood out. I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of food, the cheerful and helpful attitudes of all the staff on site. This was the lowest cost dinner of my entire trip, and I believe the best meal, value wise. I saw several groups meeting for dinner and drinks, as well as couples looking for a decent meal out, with an easy atmosphere.

For a simple, no frills, no gimmick place to relax and enjoy good food.

Only suggestion would be to serve your Fireball shots in chilled, and in frozen glasses.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ford1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“WAY better than Chipotle or Qudoba!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Illegal petes has great burritos, WAAAYYY better than the contemporary "burrito chains", why? They have better ingredients AND they mix up the filling, so, no huge bite of just rice or just lettuce. Its even! Also they have local beers. Also they are locally owned and therefore way better in general! Oh and try the breakfast quesadilla! Aaamaazzing!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank TetraThePirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Illegal Pete's also viewed

 

Been to Illegal Pete's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing