We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, over priced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Keg Steakhouse and Bar - CLOSED

The Keg Steakhouse and Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 19th
Transit: Union Station & 16th Street Mall
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food, over priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We went on a Sunday evening and we had been at a Keg in Portland years ago. The on in Portland was much better. Here the food was good and the service was average. The prices for what was received seemed to be much higher than I would have expected.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    55
    15
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
217 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great service, great steak and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

The atmosphere is very nice as well. Our waitress (Bailey) was excellent, warm, welcoming and knowledable. My husband and I went here to celebrate .. didn't have to wait for a table and food was excellent. We both had steaks (his prime and mine fillet), wine and dessert was wonderful. Their mocha pie was one of the best I've ever had! We'll be going back for a nice dinner out again. Was on the more expensive side.. but worth it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler8Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of best steaks ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

The service was exceptional and the food delicious. The steak was really good. Recommend the Creme Brulee for dessert

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 73Cristal73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Prime Rib Sandwich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Right beside Coors Field this location can be busy on game day.
Keg is part of a chain and appears to have many restaurants in Canada. We have eaten at the Keg in Denver and Scottsdae.
They have the best Prime Rib Sandwich this side of Lawry's. Combined with a Caesar Salad it is a great lighter meal. Also have a full menu with both a good selection of Steaks and Seafood.
Staff friendly. Ambience good. Good sized drinks.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bsmvca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Keen Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Despite the $20+ cab ride from our hotel we had heard of Keg and we were not disappointed.
One fillet and one prime rib with a couple of glasses of wine went way north of $100 but the beef was perfect and the service good.
Recommended - I guess that's about as much as you need to know - oh and the location is right in the heart of busy Denver so atmospherically grade 1

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David82605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Keg Steakhouse and Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing