We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vegetarian chili for people that hate vegetarian food”
Review of Sam's No. 3

Sam's No. 3
Ranked #17 of 3,066 Restaurants in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Diner, Greek, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Sam’s No. 3™ was the third of five Coney Islands restaurants opened by Sam Armatas during the 1920′s. The original location was at 1527 Curtis Street in the heart of downtown Denver.On Sept. 28th, 1998, Sam’s son, Spero, with his grandsons Sam, Alex, and Patrick, re-established his most famous of the Coney Islands restaurants, Sam’s No. 3™. In honor of the age old tradition, they made a promise to each other to continue to provide excellent quality of food and embrace the inviting, warm atmosphere started by “Mr. Sam” more than 75 years ago!In April 2011, our little kitchen was featured on Food Networks "Diners, Drive-ins and Dives". We were selected because so many local fans had written. A must-stop on any trip to Denver.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best vegetarian chili for people that hate vegetarian food”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This chain has the best food and strong drinks so watch it . But the veggie chili is spectacular. a heavy mix of veggies, ho hot hot and plenty of it even in the small size. The chain is a roll up your shirtsleeves no pretensions place with affordable food and drinks. a home town favorite.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,125
    740
    199
    43
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“a regular for business trips”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Sams has everything! From veggie options to breakfast to great lunches. I had a po'boy sandwich which could have fed 2 people. I ate just the filling on the second half. Over the years, on numerous business trips, I have had sandwiches, breakfasts (their omelette's could feed 3 people) along with other menu options and have never been disappointed. The prices are reasonable and the service is fast. There are booths, tables, seating for large groups and counter options and I have tried all of them over the years. It's somewhat of a diner atmosphere so don't expect anything fancy. The service was always top notch no matter where I sat -- sometimes alone or sometimes with a business group. You'll feel comfortable in jeans or business attire.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The pork chili was to die for on absolutely anything. The Mexi-burger was cooked great, but was more like a burrito or quesadilla with a burger in the middle most of the toppings were on the top. The hot dog was not very good, my husband did not finish his chili dog (which never happens). Breakfast burritos were a great value. They also serve the entire menu all day. I was able to get a burger for breakfast!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searcy, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned diner with great food”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I was in Denver for a 4-day conference, and had breakfast here for two of those days. They have early bird specials on the menu that are really inexpensive for the quantity and quality of food served. Service was fast and friendly. The menu was huge and had lots of variety. Although I only had breakfast here, it appears that lunch or dinner would be just as good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YorkResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 6 Contributor
526 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“lots of food”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Iconic place in Denver. Maybe one of the best staff in the area. Service is fast and they are proud of serving and helping you. Food quality is good, but a lot. Close to the Convention Center
and you don't need reservations. Bring a doggy bag.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 27Ruben27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's No. 3 also viewed

 

Been to Sam's No. 3? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing