We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent enough”
Review of Sam's No. 3

Sam's No. 3
Ranked #21 of 3,005 Restaurants in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sam’s No. 3™ was the third of five Coney Islands restaurants opened by Sam Armatas during the 1920′s. The original location was at 1527 Curtis Street in the heart of downtown Denver.On Sept. 28th, 1998, Sam’s son, Spero, with his grandsons Sam, Alex, and Patrick, re-established his most famous of the Coney Islands restaurants, Sam’s No. 3™. In honor of the age old tradition, they made a promise to each other to continue to provide excellent quality of food and embrace the inviting, warm atmosphere started by “Mr. Sam” more than 75 years ago!In April 2011, our little kitchen was featured on Food Networks "Diners, Drive-ins and Dives". We were selected because so many local fans had written. A must-stop on any trip to Denver.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
119 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Decent enough”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We frequent Sam's #3 in Denver downtown for 3 reasons: (1) it is very close to the Denver Performing Art Center; (2) its fast service is handy for the 6:30 curtain time; (3) it has a varied menu that offers something for everyone in our party. They serve breakfast all day long. The food is fair and price is reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HobbitBrandybuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,012
    710
    187
    43
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Sam's is fine. The menu is lengthy, with large sections devoted to an all-day breakfast menu, some standard diner fare, plus some Greek and Mexican items. None of the food is amazing (repeated visits, I work across the street), so this isn't the place to go for something special, but the service is professional, breakfast is reliable, and while I find the green chile a bit weak, nothing is awful. Go here if you can't think of any place else to go. You won't be disappointed, but you won't fall in love.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank unimportant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breakfast with a Bloody”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

A New Years Day tradition for our household. When your breakfast menu is larger than the rest of your day's cravings, you know you will fin something for everyone. Breakfast Burritos or skillets are the norm with a Bloody Mary. No need to order it spicy if the right bartender is on duty. Corn Beef Hash is out of the can or tastes like it, so I stay away.

I'm just OK with the rest of the day's menu, they serve a good burger but breakfast is what they know. Be prepared to wait however. Large place but still fills up early on the weekends.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Green Chile”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Sams has some of the best green chile around. I love chile rellenos, and I am hard pressed not to order them when I go there. The only reason I didnt give a higher rating is because a couple of times the service hasnt been up to par. Otherwise its my go to place for good diner food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindadon54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not just your basic diner”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Think great American diner food with a Greek flair and interesting drinks. Would Definitely go there again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StephRobertCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's No. 3 also viewed

 

Been to Sam's No. 3? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing