We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience!”
Review of Buckhorn Exchange

Buckhorn Exchange
Ranked #48 of 3,002 Restaurants in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Greenwell Springs, Louisiana
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Bull balls for appetizer, quail, buffalo, elk, ostrich for entree and enjoyed in that order. The place is just fun and cool with great food. I'm so glad I got to experience it on my trip to Denver!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Getgogonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    301
    136
    62
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
477 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“A must visit!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for dinner after reading the reviews and let me say the reviews were correct! I ordered a bison steak and it was cooked to perfection. My waiter was prompt and professional and was always checking in to see if I needed anything. The decor screamed the old west and really made you feel like you stepped back in time. It is a tad pricey but worth it. If you are in Denver you need to eat here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EpicGuy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
141 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Just did dessert - but OMG!!!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Folks - if you're fans of apple pie - THIS is where you want to go when you're in Denver!! They serve a Dutch Apple Pie (either a-la-mode or with a warm cinnamon rum sauce - or I assume both). My preference is to just have it with the cinnamon rum sauce! If this stuff isn't available in heaven - I'm just never going to die!!! If you've never been to the Buckhorn - the atmosphere is unlike anyplace you'll ever see and their lunch & dinner menus are amazing!! Trust me - try it once, and you'll be a regular!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peachtree287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
247 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Right Out of the Old West”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Buckhorn Exchange has been serving food and drinks since 1893. This restaurant has survived armed robbers, tough hombres, celebrities and urban renewal. Today, the two-story establisher offers hearty meals of meats, fowl and fish. The upstairs bar and lounge could be a western movie set. Once your eyes have adjusted t the dim lighting, you see the walls are packed with taxidermied animal heads and birds, historic photographs and vintage firearms, making this a museum as well as a restaurant. As a young man, restaurant founder Henry “Shorty Scout” Zietz worked with Buffalo Bill Cody. The big game hunting atmosphere is evident as buffalo, elk, moose and deer look over your shoulder as you eat. Our group of 18 had pre-paid for a choice of three entrees. Grandma Fanny’s Pot Roast Sandwich - described as the Buckhorn specialty since 1893 – sounded too good to pass up for 5 of 7 at our table. The thick, slow cooked beef brisket on pumpernickel was served with beans and chips. This basic meal was so good that it’s easy to see why it has been on the menu fir 120 years. The full menu offers many intriguing sounding choices that should suit most any diner. The wait staff was excellent, contributing to our special lunch experience. The Denver light rail has a convenient stop across the street from the Buckhorn,

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“An Authentic Taste Of Colorado”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

If you want to get a taste of what Colorado was like in the 1800's, then travel to the Buckhorn Exchange. Here you try a juicy elk steak or a tasty southwest dip with pieces of rattlesnake in it. Shot, you can even try that Denver delicacy of Rocky Mountain Oysters, all the while, being surrounded by over 200 trophy heads on the wall. My only complaint is the price. The average entre is over $35 a piece, but for a special occasion, this place is a wonderful option!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThriftyAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buckhorn Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing